Customer Reviews


338 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (102)
3 star:
 (52)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very human movie
Billed as an action film - and it certainly has that element - it's at its core a touchy-feely romance comedy, with a very sweet, pro-human attitude. If you can, watch the first two minutes; if you like them, you'll like the movie as a whole. I'm in line for whatever Dax Shepard writes next.
Published on November 11, 2012 by Nat Gertler

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uneven Comedy with Great Soundtrack Music and Nice-Looking Cars
Dax Shepard writes, stars and co-directs (with David Palmer) in "Hit and Run," a comedy about "Charles Bronson" living in a small town in California, with his girlfriend Annie Bean (Kristen Bell). "Charles Bronson" is shocked to hear that Annie, specializing in nonviolent conflict resolution, has a job interview for a department chair position in Los Angeles. But "Charles...
Published 18 months ago by Tsuyoshi


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very human movie, November 11, 2012
By 
Nat Gertler (Camarillo, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hit & Run (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet) (Blu-ray)
Billed as an action film - and it certainly has that element - it's at its core a touchy-feely romance comedy, with a very sweet, pro-human attitude. If you can, watch the first two minutes; if you like them, you'll like the movie as a whole. I'm in line for whatever Dax Shepard writes next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "HILARIOUS AND GREAT ACTING PERFORMANCE!", August 29, 2012
Charlie is in a Witness Protection program, after he ratted out his gang members, who are all bank-robbers. His location is in California as he tries to keep a low profile. But then, he meets Annie, who is a professor and on the verge of losing her job. Charlie falls in love with Annie, and he follows her to L.A., where she seeks a new job. The drama begins as Charlie steps out of his Protective boundary,and all hell breaks loose as the chase begins. A former friend, also a marshal, and a member of his bank-robber gang go after Charlie at full-speed. Most of the scenes are very funny, and some laugh-out-loud entertainment, combined with romance. Superb acting performance, and just enough action. A great summer movie to enjoy. Highly recommended to all comedy lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uneven Comedy with Great Soundtrack Music and Nice-Looking Cars, June 6, 2013
By 
Tsuyoshi (Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hit & Run (DVD)
Dax Shepard writes, stars and co-directs (with David Palmer) in "Hit and Run," a comedy about "Charles Bronson" living in a small town in California, with his girlfriend Annie Bean (Kristen Bell). "Charles Bronson" is shocked to hear that Annie, specializing in nonviolent conflict resolution, has a job interview for a department chair position in Los Angeles. But "Charles Bronson" - of course, this is not his real name - cannot go to Los Angeles, where he left his troubled past four years ago.

Well, in fact the film is nothing serious. Filled with quirky dialogue and eccentric characters, "Hit and Run" is an action comedy that leans towards comedy, or comedy of off-the-wall humor. Made on a budget of $2 million (half of which was reportedly spent to secure music rights), the action scenes of "Hit and Run" are modest at best.

As a comedy, however, this is really a mixed bag. The leading characters are likable, with charming Kristen Bell, but their storyline is predictable and forgettable. The antics are unpredictable and often funny, but random and repetitions. Cars are so cool, and so is the soundtrack music. Oh, and I almost forgot Bradley Cooper. He plays a role that is not very interesting.

"Hit and Run" is a comedy, uneven in tone, with more creative ideas than its generic title suggests, but really in need of a better script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IT'S NOT JUST DOG FOOD, September 29, 2012
This review is from: Hit & Run (DVD)
Charles (Dax Shepard), not his real name, is in the Witness Protection Program (WPP) in the sleepy little town of Milton. Randy (Tom Arnold) who is a fallen from grace, inept federal marshal is assigned to watch over him. Annie (Kristen Bell) is Charles' girlfriend. She knows he is in the Program, but not the details. Gil (Michael Rosenbaum) is Annie's ex-bf who is still in love with her.

When Annie gets offered a job in LA, Charles insists she go take it, and he opts to drive her himself in his 700 HP "suicide doors" Lincoln. They are chased by Gil, Randy, Gil's brother Terry (Jess Rowland) who is a gay policeman, and bad guy Alex (Bradley Cooper), the reason why Charles is in the WPP to begin with.

The film turns into "Smokey and the Bandit" with gun fire. The unorthodox relationship of the two stars is the heart of the film. Annie is an expert in solving non-violent conflict solutions and Charles is...well let's say he is trying.

The second half of the film digresses. I won't say it falls off a cliff, but it could have been done better in this romantic action/comedy.

Parental Guide: F-bombs, some really ugly nudity, male nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hit & Run: A surprisingly decent underdog film, October 17, 2014
I don't usually do movie reviews, but I had a few extra seconds and thought I'd give this one a shot. I remember seeing previews for this, and debated going to see it in theaters, but didn't. I was sorting through Netflix today and saw it on there, remembered it, and thought "Hey, why not". It was actually a decent film. It had a 2 million dollar budget, half of which was spent on music rights, so really the film had a 1 million dollar budget. And for 1 million, the cameras looked great, the cast was much more well known than I was expecting, and overall it was pretty good. Acting obviously didn't win any Oscars, but it was fairly decent. Shepard and Bell, being married in real life, had great chemistry and worked extremely well together. Bradley Cooper, while I love him to death, his character didn't have any real depth and almost seemed like a last minute add on that they decided to write into the story. The car stunts were pretty awesome, and I actually learned that because it was such a low budget film that Dax Shepard did most of his stunt work himself, so props to him for being a great driver.

The only real complaints I have was that the story felt pretty disjointed at times, and didn't feel like the people were making choices that they really would. Maybe they had to trim down some of footage or something? Either way it felt like it was missing a little something.. Like there were lots of random genres that were loosely tied together and while it worked, it felt like they could have done better with it.

Parents: I figure I'll start adding a parents section to those who care or are wondering. One of the things that it's rated R for is "pervasive language", and I didn't really think there was all that much. F bombs were dropped throughout the movie, but only in bursts. Ex: A character at one point runs his car into someone's lawn and onto some of their decorative pieces, and starts cursing and dropping the F word because he's mad. So stuff like that. The only real thing that grossed me out, but also made me laugh, was there are two points where the main characters walk into a motel room with a bunch of old people engaged in... activities. Full frontal male and female nudity it seen, but it is played for comedic effect, so you be the judge there. Really not much violence, probably the worst is a character gets hit in the face and gets a bloody nose, with blood running down his face. Overall not too bad, as the nudity is quick, maybe a 10 second scene each time.

All in all, it's definitely worth a watch once. Would I buy it? If it were in the $5 movie bin, or half off at $7.50. If it gets right down to it, it's got Kristen Bell in it. That in of itself deserves a watch ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incoming!!! Incoming!!!!, May 27, 2013
By 
Eric Sanberg (Villa Park, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hit & Run (DVD)
Not too many movies around that have this kind of exuberance. This moves like a freight train but you might not want to get out of the way.

Here's the scoop. Yul Perkins (writer/director Dax Shepard) is in the witness protection program with Tom Arnold as his protector. His girlfriend Annie Bean (Kristen Bell) has received a once in a lifetime job offer in Los Angeles. Does Yul break cover for the girl he loves, and if he does, what are the consequences?

I found this entirely engaging. The set up is pretty basic, but, as in any good plot, the details are doled out slowly so the picture becomes more subtle and involved as things progress. Yul is a cool character. He is truly trying to turn his life around and his girl Annie is a big part of that. They have some very witty, Tarantino-esque conversations. They feel good together. The other characters are written well also. Brad Cooper, as Alex Dimitri, is a real card. Too many movies write their villains as shallow, and/or stupid tough guys. He's anything but. His dog food scene alone is worth the price of admission. About the weakest link here is Tom Arnold. I like Tom Arnold. He plays a good second banana, but he is simply too inept to be a Federal Marshall. This is a crazy bunch of people with their own back stories, but the way all the factions come together is really cool and unexpected. Yes there's tension but these folks aren't just shooting at each other and threatening each other. They're having these really great conversations. The car chase scenes are directed really well. Car chases are such old news, it's always good to see some that rise above the fray.

This is a way fun movie. It's tense, funny, clever, well acted and well directed. Is it great art? No. But it delivers, in spades, what it sets out to deliver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Movie Review! - (...) - @tss5078, August 3, 2014
By 
Todd Smith (East Rockaway, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Hit & Run is a wild ride that never should have worked, but surprisingly it does. The story doesn't appear to be deep or complicated, and just when you think they've come to the end, a whole other angle begins. The film is further helped by a large cast and a whole bunch of interesting cameos, that help take it to another level. Charlie Bronson (Dax Shepard) is happy living in a small town with his girlfriend, Annie (Kristen Bell), but things are about to change. When Annie gets offered a job in L.A., Bronson must decide whether or not to go with her, which also means leaving the safety of the witness protection program. When a jealous ex learns of the plan, he finds out who Charlie really is, and thanks to Facebook, connects with the men he's hiding from, making the trip to L.A. a dash for safety, across California. Dax Shepard is not an actor I find to be very funny, but this was the first time I've seen him play a character as deep as Charlie Bronson, and he was terrific. He is being perused by Bradley Cooper of all people, who I did not see as someone who could play the bad guy. His good looks and charming personality, don't exactly lead one to believe he'd be believable as a bad guy, and while he wasn't the toughest bad guy I've ever seen, he does more than an adequate job. Hit & Run isn't an award winning film, it may not even be all that memorable, but it is extremely entertaining and an edge of your seat thriller ride. The perfect film for those who want to just sit back, relax, and enjoy the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Action and comedy that doesnt do either well, March 6, 2013
Hit and Run is a comedy about a young couple (Kristen Bell and Dax Shepard) that risks it all when they leave their small town life and embark on a road trip that may lead them towards the opportunity of a lifetime.

The problem with this movie is that it cant make up its mind what it wants to be..is it a comedy, is it an action movie? And normally a mix of the two would be fine, but in this case, it cant do either well. The action is stupid and like the car chases goes in circles too many times. The comedy is not funny and filled with boring monotonous lines that make you wish it was over and not wasting your time.

Not worth a purchase or rent unless you want a B quality movie that is totally pointless in its plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Car chase movie with laughs and guest stars, May 16, 2013
This review is from: Hit & Run (DVD)
Anyone who gave this movie less than 3 stars could not have had their eyes open. This isn't Citizen Kane or The Color Purple, but it isn't trying to be. This is an honest, entertaining comedy car chase movie. Dax and Kristen are great and it's nice to see their real-life feelings for each other mirrored in the movie. Tom Arnold is great, as are all the other co-stars. The cars are great too. The additional behind the scenes footage contained in the bonus extras give a real appreciation of what went into making the movie, which I enjoyed. The fact that Dax is actually as much of a car nut in real life as he plays in the movie is a plus for me and the fact that his favourite movie is Smokey and the Bandit puts him even higher in my estimation. For everyone who watches a movie to be entertained, and who likes cars, you will not be disappointed by this movie. Beware of the rating; if you don't like cursing or violence, do not watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I Guess I Just Don't Get It, March 29, 2013
By 
P. Kahn "PK" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I basically like 3 types of movies: Action, Comedy and Action-Comedy.

Amazon lists this as Action-Comedy (or possibly Comedy-Action). It is neither.

It is NOT funny (except for Tom Arnold launching a bowling ball through a mini-van and Beau Bridges punching a guy for and extended period but together that amounts to 1 minute of screen time. In fact there is a cameo by David Koechner...in a semi-serious role, ie not funny).

It has 4-5 car chases, each one about 5 minutes long. No serious car crashes, no big explosion. Near the end there is a car jump that is shown from like 10 different angles in slow-motion. None of it very exciting or compelling.

This movie is mostly a lot of dialogue. Not action or comedy, just boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hit & Run (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet)
$34.98 $13.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.