Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lethal And Jolting - One Of The Year's Top Horror Movies
An improved version of the already high-caliber 1986 "Hitcher" starring Rutger Hauer, this new incarnation casts Sean Bean ("Lord Of The Rings", "The Dark", "Silent Hill") as an even deadlier and more twisted title villain, and Sophia Bush ("Stay Alive") and Zachary Knighton ("The Prince And Me") as young lovers Grace and Jim, who on a road trip encounter the hitcher in...
Published on July 12, 2007 by Stephen B. O'Blenis

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Road-Killer
"The Hitcher" is a so-so film that desperately wants to be a killer music video. Starring Sophia Bush (that One Tree Hill girl who is so pretty it makes my eyes water) and Zachary Knighton (I'd never heard of him before, but he looks like the type who'd date Sophia Bush), the film wastes no time with pleasantries. The two lovers hit the road, and then the road hits...
Published on May 26, 2007 by Mark Eremite


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lethal And Jolting - One Of The Year's Top Horror Movies, July 12, 2007
By 
Stephen B. O'Blenis (Nova Scotia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hitcher (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
An improved version of the already high-caliber 1986 "Hitcher" starring Rutger Hauer, this new incarnation casts Sean Bean ("Lord Of The Rings", "The Dark", "Silent Hill") as an even deadlier and more twisted title villain, and Sophia Bush ("Stay Alive") and Zachary Knighton ("The Prince And Me") as young lovers Grace and Jim, who on a road trip encounter the hitcher in the middle of a rainstorm, and become the prime targets of his obsession.

The Hitcher has been upped to where he's about as dangerous as a human being can be without raising the question of the supernatural. No remorse, apparantly no fear of death or pain, disturbingly with no apparant motivation, indisputably evil, and yet retaining an undeniable charismatic edge, as well as a huge air of mystery (his background, and even his real name, are never revealed) the character slashes and shotgun-blasts his way into the upper tier as one of the most instantly memorable killers to rampage across the screen in recent years. Zachary Knighton and the smolderingly gorgeous and cute-as-a-button Sophia Bush are likable and believable as the main couple of the film. Strong performances are turned in by the rest of the cast as well, and the tight flow of the movie encompasses psychological terror and suspense, up-close visceral carnage, and some of the most intense and high-octane highway chase/battle action ever seen, way above that seen in many higher profile action blockbusters with five times the budget. It attains a highly active tension and tightness the likes of which have not quite been reached by many of its more famous horror-thriller hybrid peers.

"The Hitcher" delivers on all counts it takes on, and is highly recommended for fans of such movies as the '86 original, "Highwaymen" (by original "Hitcher" director Robert Harmon), the "Hills Have Eyes" movies, and "The Vanishing".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Road-Killer, May 26, 2007
This review is from: The Hitcher (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
"The Hitcher" is a so-so film that desperately wants to be a killer music video. Starring Sophia Bush (that One Tree Hill girl who is so pretty it makes my eyes water) and Zachary Knighton (I'd never heard of him before, but he looks like the type who'd date Sophia Bush), the film wastes no time with pleasantries. The two lovers hit the road, and then the road hits back.

The road in my oh-so-clever analogy turns out to be John Ryder, the hitcher, a man with a grudge against life. Literally. In one of his first lines of the film, Ryder admits that the reason he tortures, maims, and kills people is because he wants someone to stop him. This sort of Swiftean take on nihilism is often used by scriptwriters to give a character license to indulge in flat-eyed melodrama (emotive beef jerky, I call it), but Sean Bean -- as the unflagging madman -- lets his desperation and his senseless rage simmer without boiling over into false theatrics. Bean is really the reason to watch this film.

It's too bad he's not in it more than he is. Most of the time we are forced to watch Bush and Knighton wander around making typically bad decisions and then griping or whining about it to each other when there's a break in the action.

I don't blame the actors. These sorts of brash bonanzas of violence and destruction don't really need much in the way of plotting to do their job, but they do need some kind of decent writing. I mean, take a look at Spielberg's Duel. For a movie with such a minimal plot and perhaps two pages of dialogue, this film works macabre magic. "The Hitcher," in lieu of compelling characters and a solid build-up of tension has, instead, the rat-a-tat-tat subtlety (and pace) of a semi-automatic. Short bursts of loud chaos, interspersed with brief moments of silence. You don't want that barrel to melt.

I give the film a thumbs up for its dervishes, for the car chases (set to blaring Nine Inch Nails), the near-misses, and the bold direct hits (I'll admit that I was shocked and surprised by the scene with the semi-truck and the chains). But, just like the (lack of) beliefs of the title character, the movie doesn't seem to care about much of anything, making it easy for the viewer to feel likewise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underated ReMake, May 22, 2007
This review is from: The Hitcher (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
It is simply stupid to hate a movie simply because it is a remake. That is the reason for the majority of bad reviews coming in on this movie.

The Hitcher is a clever sculpted movie with great style and great screen prescence. The acting was somewhat lopsided I'll admit. Zachary Knighton pulled off his character well enough and Sophia Bush didn't do badly either but both of them were brushed aside by the mere presence of Sean Bean. He was brilliant! There really aren't too many more words to describe his work.

His role as John Ryder was played perfectly, so deep and so real. He made a chilling villian, one that you can seriously hate and root for at the same time. He pulled off an American accent quite convincingly, and even better was his costume and hair. They were very well done. The entire set and scenery was well placed and very well shot.

The horror was as horror should be, suspensful and gory but the blood was tastefully placed and not needlessly splattered all over the screen. The killings were done with such simplistic reality it was almost frightening.

Overall the movie was a great one and definately deserves a spot in your movie collection. Sean Bean's acting is enough to merit that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I thought it would be, June 18, 2007
This review is from: The Hitcher (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
THE HITCHER is actually a pretty good remake, and a pretty good thriller. I think we all know the premise: a young couple meets a hitchiker who ends up being a murderer. It's more than that though.. you get to care about the characeters, and you get to know them.
The two stand outs are clearly SEAN BEAN and SOPHIA BUSH. They both do a wonderful job. Sean Bean is just creepy as hell in this.. he will really scare the hell outta you. Sophia Bush shows that she can do more than One Tree Hill and teen drama's.. she is a good actress in this.
Have fun with the movie. Don't expect a masterpiece, but it certainly is good. Don't write it off because you don't like remakes.

-Kelly <3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For Just a Penny Less..., October 17, 2007
This review is from: The Hitcher (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
...you could get the original HITCHER and watch a much better movie. I have to confess: I'm a big fan of the original HITCHER, it was scary, breathlessly suspenseful, and even made you think. This pointless remake has none of those attributes. For one thing, changing the lone driver in the original to a cloyingly cute young couple in the remake is a disastrous decision. The original, with its lone protagonist driving cross-country across dark and rainy wide open spaces, was very likable and more to the point, terribly vulnerable. By changing the story to a couple going somewhere for spring break, you automatically undercut the tension greatly because you have TWO people who can turn to each other. This is the first in a series of bad choices made by the filmmakers. Please buy the original...it's just that: ORIGINAL. And it's a good movie, unlike this derivative ripoff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Hitcher remake!, June 1, 2007
By 
StarRaezer "Star" (mountain home, idaho United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hitcher (Amazon Instant Video)
I was a huge fan of the orginal film The Hitcher, and was very excited to see a remake being made in 2006. I was reluctant to rent it because I aboslutely loved the orginial. It was one of my all time scariest, creepiest movies that I've carried images of in my mind for two decades.

Now, I am happy to say--I've just rented The Hitcher and don't want to return it to the videio store! This movie is a keeper! The special effects are fabulous, the actors superb, and I am thrilled and delighted with this remake.

I feel it is a true piece of creative and thrillingly creepy and eerily wonderful horror!

Thank you for this film!

Sincerely,

Star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it more than I expected to!, February 11, 2008
With all the bad reviews I've read on the internet I was hesitant to see this remake.

Well, I decided to give it a try just to watch Sean Bean. I LOVE the actor. I was pleasantly surprised (if you can say that about a movie like this 8-0 lol) how well I liked this version of The Hitcher! It's more of an action film than the original.

Sean Bean and Sophia Bush were both excellent.

It's amazing how Sean Bean can go from somewhat trustworthy looking (it's the smile) to complete psycho.

I recommend this to anyone who doesn't have hang-ups over their favorite movie getting remade and people who just like a suspenseful action flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense Thriller, June 22, 2007
This is one of the better thriller movies I have seen. The mix of suspense and violence is just right and will keep you watching until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gory but not very scary or suspenseful, September 14, 2008
This review is from: The Hitcher (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I haven't seen the original version of this film, so I can't make comparisons. I didn't find this movie very suspenseful, I never was able to place myself in the danger, I never felt creeped out..in fact it was almost comical at times, like a spoof. Lots and lots and lots of gore and blood, but not very scary. Sean Bean does a good job at every evil character I've seen him in, including this one. But the gore doesn't seem to have a purpose, and in fact when Sean's character is asked why he kills, he answers "Why not?" 'Why not' is the theme of the movie: why not have some more blood? why not have some extra gore? why not have a shorter skirt? There isn't really a plot or a mystery, just lots of killing. And most of it isn't even creative, just guns and knives. One thing I absolutely loved was the incredible scenery...sooooo many beautiful locations were filmed, with the rocks, the sky, the mountains, the plains...all of it just beautiful like a tourism brochure. The scenery and the photography are why I gave this movie 2 stars...the content sure isn't anything worthy of a star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars another pathetic remake, May 12, 2007
By 
the mook (brooklyn, ny United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hitcher (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
hollywood is glad to have those who are told to go ''into it not expecting much''.if one needs to dumb themselves down to the iq level of a coroded sponge,that should be a great indicator of the garbage being passed off as a movie.this is as bad/good as that psycho ''remake''.the self lobotomized love it,those with at least a brain cell hate it.pick a group and go nuts.bean is the only reason this got 2 stars.

want to check out a great remake,get j carpenters ''the thing''.in closing,rob zombie is redoing halloween.....YAWN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Hitcher (Widescreen Edition)
The Hitcher (Widescreen Edition) by Dave Meyers (DVD - 2007)
$9.99 $8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.