Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to be a long-time fan to enjoy this one!
This was the first of the Hitman games I've played, so this review should be more useful for those of you who are new to the series as well. First, I was a little hesitant to buy this with the $40 price tag instead of waiting for it to drop, but I'm actually glad I got it early! Blood Money is tons of fun and challenging!

If it's not obvious to you by now, in...
Published on June 26, 2006 by D. Fox

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Just alright.
This game did not keep our sons attention to much. He plays it, but not that often. I don't feel like it was a huge waste since I got it so cheap, but I don't recommend it.
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to be a long-time fan to enjoy this one!, June 26, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman: Blood Money - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
This was the first of the Hitman games I've played, so this review should be more useful for those of you who are new to the series as well. First, I was a little hesitant to buy this with the $40 price tag instead of waiting for it to drop, but I'm actually glad I got it early! Blood Money is tons of fun and challenging!

If it's not obvious to you by now, in this game you are a professional hitman. Each mission is a contract from your employer to eliminate certain targets and complete other tasks. You may be thinking this sounds like some other games, but the similarities end right there. Your character, Agent 47, has a vast arsenal at his disposal to help with contract completion. There are several customizeable firearms (handguns, shotguns, SMG, M4, and sniper rifles) which can all be upgraded by purchasing parts for them. Many guns can be upgraded with extra clips for more ammo, laser sights, silencers, and so on. The other "tools" of the trade are very interesting and unique to Hitman. A few of the realistic tools are Fiber Wire and sedative or poison syringes.

During a contract, your agent will be among many innocent civilians in addition to any targets. Also, you may encounter video survaillance, bodyguards, police, FBI, and other obstacles. The main goal is to eliminate any target without being seen or having bodies discovered. The ultimate goal is to set up these hits to look like accidents. This is the very challenging part! If you do this successfully, you'll receive Silent Assassin rating in your debrief. That means during your contract nobody saw you being agressive, any deaths were "accidents", and you were not caught on video tape (or you stole the tape).

Overall, the missions are challenging even on the easiest difficulty setting, but not to the point where it's not fun. The designers of this game put a lot of hard work into making sure it's realistic. Some games' AI will detect you and come to kill you in packs if only one of them see you. That's not the case here. Of course, if you are seen by some type of officer with a radio and you let him call for help on the radio, people will come. But, if a civilian sees you doing something, they will run to a cop or somebody with a gun to tell them about you. You do, however, have time to sedate or kill them and hide their body before they can tip anyone off to your presence. This is a very nice feature that makes gameplay more true to life.

If this game sounds interesting to you, then you should get it right away! I don't recommend this game to kids, though, since the violence is VERY graphic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Professionals get PAID. Amateurs get MADE., June 22, 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman: Blood Money - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
When I heard that another Hitman title was in the works, I couldn't wait to see what Eidos had in store for me. Upon opening the package and loading the game into the PSX2, I can truthfully say that this game was totally worth the wait.

With nothing but your wits, your imagination, and your controller, you will be thrust into the world of the assassin. Your every action will shape the destiny of the man with no name other than.....Mister 47.

It is clear that even the instruction manual is a departure from the previous titles. Instead of the standard "If your character takes damage, flee from the guards" instructions, we are given sage advice to read, such as "The professional can use the veil of suicide when offered a huge height and a target".

Each mission, as in previous titles, offers limitless ways to complete the objectives - from poison to pistols, silencers to chandeliers, every decision you make will affect your gameplay. This Hitman title has a new feature of NOTORIETY - gone are the days of blazing through with guns drawn and having a nice calm beginning to the next level. If you are recorded committing a crime, or leave witnesses that can describe you, then you will have a difficult time completing the later missions.

Each level ending shows a newspaper screenshot. Whereas the professional is little more than a ghost, the mass murderer has a description for the police that could list the full barcode on the back of 47's head.

But the main reason to be a professional is the best reason: the money. 47 is paid very well for his completed missions, and mistakes are deducted from his final paycheck (leaving weapons or clothes behind, killing innocents, being caught on camera, and so forth).

With nothing but your cloned intellect and your killer instincts, can you survive?

+ Pros:

The new game engine offers a larger view of Agent 47's world, as well as more control over his movements. Previous titles had an Agent 47 that was very limited in his movements. His ability to climb through windows, shimmy up drain pipes and hide in closets is a great addition to an already excellent series.

The addition of the "accident" feature is also quite fun...with various items in the environment, there's almost no limit to the deaths you can stage to deflect attention from Agent 47.

Another excellent feature is the ability to purchase weapon upgrades. Outfitting the standard Baller with a laser or telescopic sight gives us the control to shape the ease (or difficulty) of completing future missions - it also makes replaying earlier missions that much more fun.

- Cons:

The in-game save system will take some getting used to. You can save during missions, but if you return to the main menu, the progress within that level is lost. Unless you completed the level, you will have to start that level over again. This can be nothing short of agonizing for a player trying to get the "Silent Assassin" rating. (In its defense however, you can choose any of the four difficulty settings before starting a level, which was previously unavailable in the Hitman series.)

The AI of 47's enemies is nothing new, they apparently still have extraordinary ESP - - if you are noticed in one section of a level, chances are that no matter where you go, you will be noticed by security guards. The odd thing is, these same guards can be right next to me while I pull out a bomb detonator and activate it, and they run right past me.

Final Verdict:

Despite its flaws, Hitman: Blood Money is worth playing, worth owning, and worth conquering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hit man Revived, August 9, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman: Blood Money - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Man, I have to say that this game is very addicting to play. I bought this game last week and I just passed it last night. The game's ending is by far the best EVER!!! In any game. I could not see someone coming close to making it better then what they make you do in the last mission "REQUIEM"... The game gives you the chance to make your own strategy to take someone out and make a hit. A Bloodbath is Revived in the End...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars improvements about..., June 21, 2006
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman: Blood Money - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I've been a fan of hitman from the begining, so be warned, I'm writting this guide for fans like myself. If you are completely new to the series, this might not be the best place to start... The first game was legendary, but in my opinion, the second game in the series was slightly better, fixing some control issues and graphical problems... And Contracts, which remade some levels from the first game and gave the series a dark spin... And now we arrive at this: The much anticipated Hitman Blood Money. It is quite impressive, so we'll start with the good first. The graphics are amazing, especially for PS2. Everything looks rich and detailed and runs smoothly. Also, The missions are much more verried, huge and fun to explore. The new "accident" system is fun, but in my opinion makes the game easier (civilians killed in an accident or bodies found from the result of an accident don't count off of your rating for a level...) There are so many ways to earn a Silent Assassin rating on a level, the possibilities are endless, which means replay for this title is through the roof. A certian number of weapons can be customized as well, which is a very nice touch and a welcome addition to the series.

Now, the not-so-good stuff... Well, a few of the levels aren't quite as enjoyable as the others. Hitman 2 suffered from this problem greatly, but it could afford to, seeing as it had a whopping 20 levels. Whith Blood Money sporting only 12 real missions, it can't afford to have 2 or 3 that are sub par. Also, just like the past titles, this one has a few levels that will instantly stand out as classics. The Murder of Crows will be a favorite for any aspiring Mass Murderer, and one or two other levels specificly stand out above the rest. The wepon selection is rather limited from past games (which is, in my opinion, nothing to complain about. All the wepons are now varied and have their own look and feel, unlike past titles). Also, only a limited number of weapons can be upgraded. Agent 47 starts with a Sp12 shotgun, His signiture .45s, the Wa2000 sniper rifle, M4 assault rifle and a submachine gun at his hide out. These 5 weapons are the only ones that can be customized, meaning these will be the only 5 weapons you ever use unless you are experimenting with others from your quickly amassed collection. The levels are open ended, with many ways to make a hit and get away clean, but in my opinion, this lowers the difficulty significantly. Also included is the inclusion of "natority". This was a nifty gimmick, but in the end, that's all it is. Play sloppy and you get noticed by witnisses, etc. and future missions become harder, as cops start to recognize you, based on descriptions from witnisses and being caught on camera. Natority can be getten rid of quickly by bribing witnisses, or you can get rid of it entirely and for free by getting a better rank on missions you did sloppy on (which isn't hard). Also, while enemy AI has been beefed up and is FAR more realistic and believable than before, it falls to pieces in a firefight. While sneaking around, enemies behave well, and NPCs believably, but when things go wrong and a fire fight breaks out, innocents run for cover, while guards and police usually stand in one spot and shoot at you till their clip is empty. No hiding behind corners, or even ducking... just standing still shooting, reload, repeat. This is a shame, but the challenge comes not from killing all the bad guys as much as it does making a clean get-away. In conclusion, Blood Money is far more streamlind and well played out than Contracts or even HM2. The Graphics are great, the new features are a welcome addition, but are being overplayed and over hyped in my opinion. Short and sweet, this is the hitman you've come to know and love, and has far fewer flaws than some other games in the series. It features a few great levels, one or two bad ones and a strong showing of good ones. It is well rounded, with improved AI, a decent selection of weapons and very open ended levels. Although a little too easy in my opinion, I can say that as day's go by and I play more, this is becoming my favorite Hitman, little by little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the hardest games I have played., August 31, 2006
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman: Blood Money - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Im new to the hitman series so I dont know a lot about "Mr.47", but I do know that this game is both addicting and hard. The tuitorial level tells you what to do step-by-step after that your on your own. MY MIND WAS RACING WITH EXCITEMINT!! I didnt know what to do first, kill that guy ,use his suit, sneak in, kill another, etc. I like how the do the news paper after each mission. If you read it (yes you can read it!!) it will basicly rate you on how you did. That was very well done.

Overall:

This game is one the best beacuse it is not easy to beat you always have to think 3 steps ahead of you. Like a sniper.

6/5 stars (******/*****)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very guilty pleasure..., August 9, 2006
By 
Adam Snyder (Walla Walla, WA United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman: Blood Money - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Ever wanted to blow off some steam by popping off a few rounds? Somebody ever rub you the wrong way and you wanted to use force to make things right? Have you ever been so sickened by the world's evil that you wanted to take it upon yourself to take out the trash? Here's your virtual opportunity.

I'll try to keep this short (if you want a lot of excellent details and commentary, feel free to read the longer reviews listed beside this one). Blood Money is an outstanding game. It provides extensive entertainment for shooter gamers of both styles: Unleash your fury of firepower and destroy everyone (including the household pet) in your path, or cautiously and systematically conquer each objective with little or no unnecessary roughness. From big guns to borrowed identities, Blood Money offers an unbelievable sense of realism in the world of professional killing.

There are a lot of missions (I apologize for not having the exact number), and although the primary objectives in each are pretty similar and self-explanatory (kill the target), the means of doing so can vary significantly. Each mission provides a new and exciting environment, with various places to stash the bodies, multiple disguises to jump into, an appreciative variety of weapons to use, and different opportunities to assassinate the targets. Your personal weapons are upgradeable: Silverballer .45 pistol (or PISTOLS once you have the money and progress to purchase that feature), SPAS-12 shotgun, MP5 sub-machinegun, M4 carbine assault rifle, and WM2000 sniper rifle. You can also acquire a lot of different weapons of each basic style, and can also use a few miscellaneous items for the dirty work (poison drinks and sausages, bloody up a hammer or a shovel, or fire off a few nails with the occasional nail gun).

The game can prove difficult, regardless of your method of completion. If you play it on an easy difficulty, simply for the sake of killing everything that moves, you want to watch your health. If you play a harder difficulty, be very cautious and covert. Avoid losing disguises, avoid leaving witnesses, avoid any collateral damage, and make the deaths look like an accident (an exciting new feature). Be careful, because if you're playing on anything but the easiest difficulty, your success in the previous missions can dictate the success of future missions. Try to keep a low profile so as to avoid getting shot the moment you step into the building.

This game is highly addictive and very fun. I am extremely proud to have included it in my collection, and I have yet to grow bored. So much for keeping this short, eh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's all in how you want to kill someone..., May 12, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman: Blood Money - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I was looking for a new game to purchase, and I came across the Hitman: Trilogy 3-pack, which included Blood Money. I'm putting this review here as it's more appropriate to be listed here under Blood Money than under the 3-pack as the review is about the game itself. Now that the legalese is out of the way...

Blood Money brings us all back to our favorite professional killer, Agent 47, and his wiley ways of liberating human souls from the bodies they inhabit. In this incarnation of the game, you once again take control of Agent 47 and are contacted time and again by Diana to eliminate any targets that are part of the contract. And you have a multitude of ways to take out your targets, from shooting them to poisoning them to even having them "accidentally" dying (oh, the nerve of them doing that!).

While this game continues the series in the usual way (the story keeps going, 47's past comes back a time or two, his interaction with the Agency, etc.), there are several new things that this game brings to keep your interest:

1. An all-new way of killing your targets via accidents. That's right - you no longer have to just shoot them. You can have them blown up by a gas grill, have chandeliers and pianos fall on them, or even in at least 1 case that I've seen push them down the stairs. It's a hoot trying to find new ways of killing people without, well, killing them.
2. You can now distract guards and other civilians by throwing a coin. You pull the coin out of your inventory, take aim, and throw the thing. It can bounce off of walls to go around corners (really hard to pull off, but worth it with practice), and guards and officers will just get up and look around to see what made the noise. Really useful in order to get that coveted Silent Assassin rating.
3. You can now use people as a human shield. Oh, is this one fun! Sneak up on someone with any pistol equipped, and you'll get the prompt to use them as a human shield. Take them as one, and you can fire at will without worry of being hit with return fire - the human shield will take the damage.
4. In addition to the human shield option, once you have a human shield you have the option to drag them wherever you want (which is quicker than dragging a dead/incapacitated body), or knock them out. Saves you on the sedative syringe, and makes no noise.
5. Did you kill/knock out some poor sap, and you're worried about the body being found? Not any longer! In Blood Money you can drag bodies and dispose of them in garbage cans, trash bins, or other various larger objects.

The game still keeps the feel of the original games in the series, yet it seems like a whole new game with the enhancements listed above. Somehow, this stuff has made it so that playing earlier versions of the game just don't seem right (although I still play them).

And now for my verdict:

GAMEPLAY: 5 out of 5. Completing a mission is ok. Going back and trying to do it a different way, or even trying to get the Silent Assassin rating is outstanding. Playability and re-playability are amazing, as there are so many different ways to complete each mission.

GRAPHICS: 4 out of 5. It's the PS2, and the graphics are what they are. I wish the blood stains were a little more realistic, and it would be nice to see blood drag marks on the floor when you're dragging someone. But I can't dis the game for not being totally realistic.

SOUND EFFECTS: 5 out of 5. I haven't come across anything that wasn't realistic sounding, nor have I heard anything in a place that I shouldn't hear it.

OVERALL: 5 out of 5. It's just plain fun. I can't seem to get enough of killing helpless victims in ways that I never thought were possible. I love playing through the missions, and then going back and trying to get Silent Assassin. And the fact that there are 4 difficulty levels means that I'll be able to play the game through from start to finish at least 4 times! How can you argue with that?

I'd recommend this game to everyone, but I would also recommend that parents please pay attention to the game's rating. It's M for Mature for a reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gameplay, Great AI, July 14, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman: Blood Money - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Hitman Blood Money continues the popular Hitman game into a new set of missions. Agent 47 is a top notch assassin with a gleaming, bald head. He takes on any assignment, no matter how challenging.

We loved the original Hitman game, and we own Hitman Blood Money both on the PC and the PS2. As you might imagine, the PS2 version is much more blocky than the PC version. Still, it's fairly impressive how well they do on the PS2. They take full advantage of the graphics they can use to create smooth cut scenes, flowing motion and well textured environments.

The aim in this game is far different than in Grand Theft Auto types of games. You don't go around randomly killing civilians. Your aim is to NOT be seen. You want to evaluate the challenges, sneak in completely undetected, achieve your assassination, and then get out again.

There's a good tutorial to help you get situated in the world while you play. I really appreciate it when games help you get started right away, but help guide you through learning the controls.

The sound is well done, between atmosphere music, background noises and the characters' voices. You get the feeling of being immersed in a movie about the Hitman (which of course there was).

Gameplay is extremely open. You have a target - but how you get there is completely up to you. You can replay a mission several times to experiment with different techniques, different paths. AI is fairly well done with characters reacting to their environment and to you in realistic ways.

Rather than cut and paste all the actual gameplay and mission review information in here from the PC version, check out the PC version of our Hitman Blood Money review for that level of detail. They are of course identical in those regards.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fun, stealth game with some minor downsides., November 13, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hitman: Blood Money - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Hitman: Blood Money really impressed me on the PS2. The graphics are good, but the faces are great. I also enjoyed the set of customizable weapons. I played many of the levels over and over trying to find new ways to get the hit. Some of the things I thought were bad about the game were the random witnesses. I try to get the best rank and a mystery witness pops up. Another thing is the legnth of the game. I am a serious gamer and played almost constantly, but I beat the game in only a few days. This game is one of the most challenging games in my collection. I played one level FIVE times trying to get it perfect. It was a Fun fast and slow paced game which kept me on the brink of insanity until the end of the last level, "Requiem." I would recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best PS2 games!!, November 30, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hitman: Blood Money - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
If you have played contracts or silent assassin and you liked them-then you will LOVE Hitman: Blood Money. You will notice the improvements of the controls and gameplay. The graphics are pretty sweet and the controls are easier to work with. As far as gameplay, the player can be super stealthy or "trigger happy" to complete the mission(or somewhere in between). There are soooo many ways to complete a mission which makes the replay value very high. Also, thelevels and missions are so diverse. I could go on about this game but it is definitely worth the money.
^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hitman: Blood Money - PlayStation 2
Hitman: Blood Money - PlayStation 2 by Eidos Interactive (PlayStation2)
$19.99 $19.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.