Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious but enlightening.
If you're looking as to why Pavel Bure appears to be such a "selfish little (...)" (as quoted by a certain Canadian famous hockey personality), then you should read this. The readers are treated to potential reasons as to why Bure acts like he does. He's got his reasons like anyone else does, one of them being he grew up in the former Soviet Union and their media laws...
Published on December 1, 2001 by tamaradesjarlais

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Secondary Sources
I was interested in reading this book because I remembered the media circus that was caused in Vancouver. This book traces all the steps that Pavel Bure indured from his early career in Russia to the time he was a Panther. Banks also gives insight regarding the heavy flow of Russian players that got signed or drafted by NHL teams in the early 1990s. The proble with...
Published on March 3, 2000 by Richard Geary


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious but enlightening., December 1, 2001
By 
If you're looking as to why Pavel Bure appears to be such a "selfish little (...)" (as quoted by a certain Canadian famous hockey personality), then you should read this. The readers are treated to potential reasons as to why Bure acts like he does. He's got his reasons like anyone else does, one of them being he grew up in the former Soviet Union and their media laws towards sports are very different from that of North Americas. Another one being that he is an introvert that simply doesn't like to be bothered.
I love this book, I can just pick it up and start reading from anywhere because its so well-written. Some of the pictures are neat, like the one of him from the Soviet Union days.
There is also some other notes on other current NHL stars like Alexander Mogilny, Sergei Fedorov, and also delves into the Bure brothers relationship with their father Vladimir-who is now estranged from the family for mysterious reasons not given.
There is even some Russian Mafia rumors in this so if you're into that whole extortion stuff then you might like that too.
Either way, its a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Riddle of the Amazing Rocket, March 13, 2001
By 
James Donath (Woodstock, VT USA) - See all my reviews
This book is the true meaning of perfection and excellence. He may not be Wayne Gretzky, but Bure could beat him in a speed competition easily. Through the tough times of growing up in Russia, to the glorious days of the Olympics, Pavel Bure is truly a hero and an overall nice guy too. Everyone should read this book, because I sure enjoyed it a lot, and if you know the game of hockey, you will appreciate it even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pavel the goal scorer, February 14, 2000
I wanted to buy this book because I grew up in russia but now I know that anybody will enjoy this book because it is full of fun filled facts and everything you need to know about Hockey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE RIDDLE OF THE RUSSIAN ROCKET, January 10, 2001
By 
If you want to find out who the Russian Rocket is you'll have to read this book. I would recommend this autobiography for anyone to read if they have an interest in the NHL. This book gives you details on what actually took place for the Russians to be able to come and play hockey in the NHL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Russian Rocket, March 10, 2002
By 
A 12-year old reader (Seattle, Wa United States) - See all my reviews
I think that this book is probably the best book out there right now. It tells the reader everything about the Russian Rocket, including his relationship with his father. And if you're a hockey fan like me, you really have to read this wonderful book.So don't delay,order today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Secondary Sources, March 3, 2000
By 
I was interested in reading this book because I remembered the media circus that was caused in Vancouver. This book traces all the steps that Pavel Bure indured from his early career in Russia to the time he was a Panther. Banks also gives insight regarding the heavy flow of Russian players that got signed or drafted by NHL teams in the early 1990s. The proble with this book was that Banks had to rely primarily of secondary sources, usually from the local Vancouver sports media. He was unable to get the assistance from key figures such as Brian Burke, Pat Quinn, key Canuck players, family and friends. As a resident of Vancouver who read most of the newspaper articles that were cited in this book, all Banks did was acumilated secodary sources that is available to the public into one abridged book. Primary resoursed could have made this book a worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as exciting a read as Pavel in full flight, April 16, 2005
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although the author really didn't have much access to Pavel himself, he fills in lots of the gaps and dispells a lot of the myths about the most exciting player to put on a Nux jersey (sorry, Markus Naslund...you're great but you don't lift me out of my seat like Pavel did).
This book only confirms my thoughts on writers like Tony Gallagher and Al Strachan--guys who never let the facts get in the way of a story. It also is an eye opener about how Nux mgmt operates and how the Nux WILL NEVER WIN A CUP until they bag this whole Quinn and his acolytes (Burke and now Nonis) hiring policy.
It hurts to read some of this as what mgmt did during Pavel's era is jaw droppingly stupid from bad trades post-1994 to being so chintzy about contract negotiations with key members of that Cup run team and I can now understand why Pavel finally wanted out. And to those out there always talking about how "great" a place to live Vancouver is, read this and wake up to the fact Vancouver is still a backwater and not some sort of cultural and enlightened "world-class" city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE RIDDLE OF THE RUSSIAN ROCKET, January 10, 2001
By 
If you want to find out who the Russian Rocket is you'll have to read this book. I would recommend this autobiography for anyone to read if they have an interest in the NHL. This book gives you details on what actually took place for the Russians to be able to come and play hockey in the NHL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I thought it was okay, August 14, 2000
By 
Laura (QLD, Australia) - See all my reviews
It wasn't as good as I thought it'd be or that the PBFC made it out to be. I loved some of the stories, they were just so good and there's a few little facts that I didn't know but whether they're true or not is yet to be decided. I loved the pics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hockey Heroes: Pavel Bure
Hockey Heroes: Pavel Bure by Kerry Banks (Paperback - September 28, 2002)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.