Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air
Hockey Prospectus 2011-12 is a great book for folks interested in learning what's really behind the success of players and teams in the NHL. The writers are first-rate and bring a ton of insight, clarity and perspective to hockey analysis. I found this edition a strong improvement over the previous year. I appreciated the expanded prospects section as well as having...
Published on November 5, 2011 by Mike Parlow

versus
1 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bill James Garbage Brought to Hockey
I bought last year's book and was hugely disappointed. If you use this for a fantasy league that is points only it may have some use but to give real insight to real players it's garbage.

Every player who plays a physical game is discounted as a penalty waiting to happen, even guys with less than 80 PIMSa re too much for the disciples of Bill James...
Published on October 18, 2011 by Mr. Mikael E. Monsen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air, November 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hockey Prospectus 2011-12 (Paperback)
Hockey Prospectus 2011-12 is a great book for folks interested in learning what's really behind the success of players and teams in the NHL. The writers are first-rate and bring a ton of insight, clarity and perspective to hockey analysis. I found this edition a strong improvement over the previous year. I appreciated the expanded prospects section as well as having more essays than last year.

Both last year and this year, I found myself wishing for more stats in the player section. Maybe they didn't want to overwhelm the reader but I would've liked to see some of the stats that are described & used throughout the Team summaries in the individual Player summaries. I realize all flavours of GVT tell us the majority of what we need to know, but I kept looking for even strength corsi, Quality of opposition, zone starts, and ESP/60.

Overall, a great read and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, November 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hockey Prospectus 2011-12 (Paperback)
This book is just as good as the BP that the same company sends out each year. A solidly written well paced introduction to hockey for 2011-12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hockey analysis is finally maturing., October 18, 2011
This review is from: Hockey Prospectus 2011-12 (Paperback)
Having read the last 10 or so baseball prospectus and a few football versions, I've longed for a hockey annual that studied hockey in an elegant mathmatical way. Us who search for the sporting 'ultimate answer' via mathmatical analysis have a difficult time finding annuals that quench that thirst. This is my 1st hockey prospectus (I didn't buy the 1st edition because I didn't know it was available) and its great. Identifies the evolution of player performance through mathmatical description in a direct, concise, and easy to understand style. My only wish is that it included Corsi and Zone Start% in the player stats.
The prospectus team once again created an innovative approach this time for hockey. Now can we get an European soccer prospectus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shot, score!, September 30, 2011
This review is from: Hockey Prospectus 2011-12 (Paperback)
Loved last year's premiere publication, and constantly referred to it throughout the season. I was happily unsurprised to find the 2011-12 edition is on the same high-quality standard of excellence!

You can go to the Hockey Prospectus site and read some sample pages for yourself.

Now, if only the Rangers would play up to the level predicted...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the Bill James legacy proud, September 28, 2011
This review is from: Hockey Prospectus 2011-12 (Paperback)
Before Moneyball (the book, not the movie), there was Bill James.

For those of you who may not know, James is the grandfather of Sabermetrics and is currently a senior advisor on baseball operations for the Boston Red Sox.

He began writing The Bill James Baseball Abstract in 1977 which was "the first of its kind to scientifically analyze and study baseball, often through the use of statistical data, in an attempt to determine why teams win and lose."

Luckily, Hockey Prospectus is there to carry the torch into the Moneypuck era.

Since I got their inaugural copy last year I have been waiting for Hockey Prospectus to make their 2011-12 annual available. Finally, I got to read it last week.

For those not familiar, the book is, for the most part, an in-depth analysis of each NHL team. It certainly has a math element to it, so those who love stats will enjoy it. But make no mistake: this is for anyone interested increasing their knowledge of hockey, sounding smarter on Twitter or just as a guideline for expectations for the 2011-12 season.

There are also projections for every player, which I used to draft in my fantasy leagues.

And lastly, there are some great essays, including revisiting Corsi (a simple puck possession metric which is gaining ground as THE way to identify hockey talent), Timo Seppa's Ultimate Faceoff Percentage and how age affects a player's development.

It's money well spent. Just think, you'll be able to tell people "before Moneypuck, there was Hockey Prospectus."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-own for serious hockey fans, September 28, 2011
This review is from: Hockey Prospectus 2011-12 (Paperback)
Year in and year out, the Hockey Proespectus is the ultimate resource for write-ups and statistics on NHL teams and players. I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to read up on, not only their favorite team, but any team in the league. Don't be scared off by the use of advanced statistics, though. The Hockey Prospectus provides a solid introduction to GVT and VUKOTA, essays, and a thorough glossary to help you get comfortable with the projections and concepts used in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bill James Garbage Brought to Hockey, October 18, 2011
This review is from: Hockey Prospectus 2011-12 (Paperback)
I bought last year's book and was hugely disappointed. If you use this for a fantasy league that is points only it may have some use but to give real insight to real players it's garbage.

Every player who plays a physical game is discounted as a penalty waiting to happen, even guys with less than 80 PIMSa re too much for the disciples of Bill James.

If these clowns ran a real hockey team they would lose every game, maybe a nice league in Europe would suit them.

Put away your computer and go watch how hockey is really played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hockey Prospectus 2011-12
Hockey Prospectus 2011-12 by Hockey Prospectus (Paperback - September 21, 2011)
$19.95 $17.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.