Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hard to find
I had a really hard time trying to find planting charcoal for terrariums, and was so pleased when I finally found a decent size bag for purchase on amazon. I literally went all over nyc trying to find this stuff. My terrariums look great!
Published on March 22, 2011 by glitterpony

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some dust, some good sized pieces
A little finer and dustier than I'd prefer, but it works. Perhaps it would help if the manufacturers sifted and graded their charcoal. E.g., super fine, fine, medium, and mixed. That would be very helpful!
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hard to find, March 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hoffman 17502 Charcoal Soil Conditioner, 24-Ounce (Lawn & Patio)
I had a really hard time trying to find planting charcoal for terrariums, and was so pleased when I finally found a decent size bag for purchase on amazon. I literally went all over nyc trying to find this stuff. My terrariums look great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars many uses, good price, March 3, 2011
By 
charwoman (Richmond, VA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hoffman 17502 Charcoal Soil Conditioner, 24-Ounce (Lawn & Patio)
Like the first reviewer, I checked a couple of local outlets before finally ordering this from Amazon. I intended to use it not in soil but to filter water, not for drinking but for bathing and for plant use (both collected rain and city water). I take tub baths and had been looking into chlorine filters for the tub, most of them seeming overpriced. I folded about a cup or so into a bandana and tied it around the tub spout. It took a little adjusting to make sure most of the water ran through it but the usually overchlorinated city water was significantly less chlorinated and did not sting my eyes and nose as it normally does. If I used it for nothing else it would be a good bargain. Going to try making 2-3' hose sections with screen ends when the growing season starts, and using those as a filter, as well as a filter from the downspout to the rain barrels.

A good deal, although I do wish I could have found it in my usual shopping areas. I was surprised there wasn't any horticultural/aquaculture charcoal at the home warehouse store near us, especially considering they sell pond equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars plant charcoal, December 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hoffman 17502 Charcoal Soil Conditioner, 24-Ounce (Lawn & Patio)
This plant charcoal works very well, keeps my terrarium fresh and keeps plants disease free. A must have for serious horticulturalists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, March 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hoffman 17502 Charcoal Soil Conditioner, 24-Ounce (Lawn & Patio)
I use this under the soil layer in my terrariums. It is awesome! No mold or odor with this stuff in a terrarium. Also small flakes so convenient for situating how you want it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for terrariums!, March 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hoffman 17502 Charcoal Soil Conditioner, 24-Ounce (Lawn & Patio)
I used the charcoal soil for promoting growth and controlling the smell that terrariums may produce due to it's humid nature. I got the idea from Martha Stewart and other DIY terrarium sites. Growth was noticeable within days after the transfer of containers and no smells yet! It's a small bag, but it depends on your mixture of potting soil vs. charcoal soil. Be careful when shoveling or pouring out, especially if used indoors, because it does get dusty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars plant-grade charcoal, June 10, 2008
product is great! Size of particles fit nicely in potted houseplant container. Searched many places before turning to the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for orchids!, March 21, 2013
By 
Alice Zindagi (Los Angeles, California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hoffman 17502 Charcoal Soil Conditioner, 24-Ounce (Lawn & Patio)
I use this stuff in my own custom orchid mix. I do two parts of orchid bark, one part moss, one part charcoal. The orchids seem to love it. I live in a really humid area and the charcoal helps to absorb any toxins or bacteria gathering on my orchid roots. It's a MUST for people who grow Phals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does the trick., February 11, 2013
By 
Oakie (HONOLULU, HI, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hoffman 17502 Charcoal Soil Conditioner, 24-Ounce (Lawn & Patio)
It's charcoal. It does what it is supposed to do, sweetens the soil. The chip sizes are the right size for small and large pots and if the plant is already potted,I just sprinkle it on the top of the soil and when you water, the dust will trickle on down. It is well packaged in a re-sealable heavy plastic bag so there is no dust everywhere. When repotting, I rinse the dust out with cool water through a sieve, drain well and proceed with the potting. I've used it for years and this is a favorite brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, January 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hoffman 17502 Charcoal Soil Conditioner, 24-Ounce (Lawn & Patio)
These are really big bags. I purchased two but only needed about 1/2 of one bag. Volume wise I would say it is about a grocery bag full. This was significanty less expensive then my local garden store (which is why I bought 2 bags, at the price I had thought it would be less product)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, May 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hoffman 17502 Charcoal Soil Conditioner, 24-Ounce (Lawn & Patio)
GREAT PRODUCT FOR TERRARIUMS, GARDENING AND PROJECTS, ETC.. VERY HARD TO FIND IN STORES, THANKFULLY AMAZON CARRIES IT! WHAT DO THEY NOT CARRY?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hoffman 17502 Charcoal Soil Conditioner, 24-Ounce
$13.93 $10.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.