Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Hog's Head Conversations: Essays on Harry Potter, Volume 1

4.9 out of 5 stars 7 customer reviews
ISBN-13: 978-0982238585
ISBN-10: 0982238584
Why is ISBN important?
ISBN
This bar-code number lets you verify that you're getting exactly the right version or edition of a book. The 13-digit and 10-digit formats both work.
Scan an ISBN with your phone
Use the Amazon App to scan ISBNs and compare prices.
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $2.50
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
More Buying Choices
20 New from $14.34 10 Used from $18.41
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student


Raging Sea
The Undertow Trilogy
For fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, "Raging Sea" is the latest electrifying addition to this much-anticipated trilogy from author Michael Buckley. Hardcover | Kindle book
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE



Product Details

  • Paperback: 232 pages
  • Publisher: Zossima Press (July 17, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0982238584
  • ISBN-13: 978-0982238585
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 0.5 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 13.4 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,061,909 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
86%
4 star
14%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See all 7 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
Well, as someone who bought the book at Azkatraz, I can give this book an enthusiastic recommendation. The book is divided into Five Parts, each of which contains two thoughtful essays: Part One- Conversations on Literary Value, has "The Literary Value of the Harry Potter Books," by Colin Manlove, and "Repotting Harry Potter," by James. W. Thomas; Part Two-Conversations on Eternal Truth, has "The Deathly Hallows Epigraphs," by John Granger, and "God and Harry Potter at Yale," by Danielle Tumminio; Part Three -Conversations on Imagination, has "When Harry met Faerie," by Amy H. Sturgis, and " The Well-Ordered Mind," by Travis Prinzi;
Part Four-Conversations on Literary Criticism, has "Tom Riddle's Diary," by Ryan Kerr, and "If Rowling Says Dumbledore is Gay, Is He Gay?", by Karen Kebarle; Part Five -Conversations on Characters, has "Ginny Weasley: Girl Next-Doormat?" by Gwendolyn Limbach, and "Interpret Your Findings Correctly," by David Jones. I had never heard of Colin Manlove before, but I was greatly impressed by his essay, "The Literary Value of the Harry Potter Books." James Thomas was at Azkatraz, and his book "Repotting Harry Potter, " was just hot off the press there. My own interest tends to dovetail with the First Section, but I have read all the essays in the book, and they are all excellent. This is a great book to have for those times when you don't have a lot of time to read, but you want to spend it on something uplifting, that will give you food for thought. Congratulations, Travis, on your selection of essays and editing of this book!
Comment 22 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I'm only getting more impressed about Travis Prinzi's ability to think through the literary worth of the Harry Potter series and explain them clearly. In this work he has called in some great help to mine the books' literary value.
The essays deal with issues like Truth and Imagination, as well as exploring Rowling's use (or non-use) of her characters. One of the highlights for me was the essay by Karen Kebarle using the 'gay Dumbledore' controversy to explore authorial intent. Another essay, on Ginny Weasley, has already been a great discussion-starter on Travis' Hogs Head website.
This book would be helpful for anyone doing Literary Studies, as it takes a great contemporary work and applies it to many of the issues students will face. Plus it's a great addition to any thinking fan's library. I'm glad it has 'Volume 1' on it because I will be eagerly looking forward to further volumes.
Comment 13 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This book offers another excellent scholarly resource for the Harry Potter fan and for the fan of literature in general. 10 essays examining Literary Value, Eternal Truth, Imagination, Literary Criticism, and Characters. While some of the essays may take a bit of digesting, they are still accessible to the reader and show how Rowling has crafted a story that not only entertains but enriches and transforms the reader. I would highly recommend the first six essays in the collection, especially Colin Manlove's "The Literary Value of the Harry Potter Books" and Travis Prinzi's "The Well-Ordered Mind." The book is worth getting just for those two essays.
Comment 9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Hog's Head Conversations is an excellent book, especially for readers interested in discussing some of the overarching themes of the Harry Potter series. There are 10 essays in the text, covering topics including the argument for the series as "Great Literature", Feminism, and the relationship between author and reader. The essays are "scholarly", but also accessible for all readers who want to explore these books more deeply. Highly recommended!
Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Want to discover more products? Check out these pages to see more: children's literature, mythology books