Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WOW! So much here! A Fun collection for Baby Boomers!
If you want the ultimate in vintage holiday fare, this is your DVD. There's a lot of fun, cheesy, classic holiday movies as well as cartoons. This will bring a lot of memories back to the Baby Boomers! The picture quality isn't always the best, but you can't beat the price. It's a real bargain because you get a lot of shows in this collection. Hopefully these films will...
Published on February 2, 2012 by Paige Turner

versus
18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You get what you paid for
My parents had just bought this set of 8 dvds. Now granted, there is a LOT on here.... but it's not good quality.

I've got the cartoon disc on right now, and it's all off colored, skipping, with really bad quality. It looks like someone taped them off tv and then transferred them to dvd.

Or maybe the production value was just really that bad...
Published on October 24, 2009 by Cat


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WOW! So much here! A Fun collection for Baby Boomers!, February 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Holiday Family Classics (DVD)
If you want the ultimate in vintage holiday fare, this is your DVD. There's a lot of fun, cheesy, classic holiday movies as well as cartoons. This will bring a lot of memories back to the Baby Boomers! The picture quality isn't always the best, but you can't beat the price. It's a real bargain because you get a lot of shows in this collection. Hopefully these films will get restored to a more pristine picture, but until then, this is a good collection to own. Once they get restored, the DVDs will be much higher in price, so if you want a lot of good, clean family fun without the expense, pick up this set for the holidays or all year round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 12 Yuletime features and TV shows, plus 27 cartoons, September 16, 2008
This review is from: Holiday Family Classics (DVD)
MILL CREEK's HOLIDAY FAMILY FAVORITES contains a dozen movies and TV programs plus 27 cartoons, all on four DVDs.

For more festive fun, try MGM's CHRISTMAS FAMILY DVD 3 PACK. It's a triple feature of "Chitty Chitty Bang Bang," "It's a Very Merry Muppet Movie" and "Prancer."

PROGRAM LIST for "Holiday Family Favorites":

FEATURE FILMS--
(6.5) Beyond Tomorrow 1940) - Harry Carey/C. Aubrey Smith/Charles Winninger/Rod La Rocque/Richard Carlson
(6.3) A Christmas Without Snow (TV-1980) - Michael Learned/John Houseman/Valerie Curtin
(6.7) The Great Rupert (1950) - Jimmy Durante/Terry Moore/Tom Drake/Chick Chandler
(???) Little Women, Part 1 - Jo's Story ("Studio One") (TV-1950) - Nancy Marchand/Berry Kroeger/Una O'Connor
(???) Little Women, Part 2 - Meg's Story ("Studio One") (TV-1950) - Nancy Marchand/Berry Kroeger/Una O'Connor
(6.2) The Littlest Angel (TV-1969) - Johnny Whitaker/Fred Gwynne/Cab Calloway/E.G. Marshall/John McGiver/Tony Randall/Connie Stevens/James Coco
(5.7) The Miracle on 34th Street ("20th Century Fox Hour") (TV-1955) - Thomas Mitchell/Teresa Wright/Macdonald Carey/Don Beddoe/Hans Conried
(???) The Nativity ("Studio One") (TV-1952) - Thomas Chalmers/Paul Tripp/Hurd Hatfield
(5.4) The Pilgrimage Play (1949) - Nelson Leigh/Alden 'Stephen' Chase/Leonard Penn/John Doucette
(1.9) Santa Claus (Mexico-1959) - José Elías Moreno/Cesáreo Quezadas 'Pulgarcito'/José Luis Aguirre 'Trotsky'
(2.6) Santa Claus Conquers the Martians (1964) - John Call/Leonard Hicks/Pia Zadora
(6.4) Scrooge (UK-1935) - Seymour Hicks/Donald Calthrop/Maurice Evans

CARTOONS (details where available)--
(Studios: Audio-Visual [av], Famous [fa], Fleischer [fl], Halas & Batchelor [hb], Powers [pow], Rankin-Bass [rb], R&S Film Ent. [rs], TerryToons [tt])

THE CANDLEMAKER (1957) [hb] - A candlemaker and son labor under a Christmas deadline on a big order (made for the Lutheran Church).
CHRISTMAS COMES BUT ONCE A YEAR (1936) [fl] - Grampy brightens some orphans Xmas with his invented toys. Nice 3-D final scene.
A CHRISTMAS DREAM
CHRISTMAS FAIRY TALE
CHRISTMAS NIGHT
A CHRISTMAS VISIT
THE CHRISTMAS VISITOR (1959) [hb] - While Santa enjoys a cigar, the toys he's just delivered do battle.
THE ELF AND MR. LITTLE
HECTOR'S HECTIC LIFE (1948) [fa] - Prince is in trouble with his master and may get kicked out of the house on Xmas Eve. Then a basket of mischievous puppies arrives...
HOWDY DOODY'S CHRISTMAS
JACK FROST (1934) [pow] - Jack's warnings to prepare for winter go unheeded by a young bear.
JINGLE BELLS (1931) [tt] - Tom and George compete in the annual sleigh race.
THE LITTLE LAMB
THE LITTLE MATCH GIRL (1937) [col] - Hans Christian Anderson's story is set on New Year's Eve.
MERRY CHRISTMAS
THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS
O COME ALL YE FAITHFUL
O LITTLE TOWN OF BETHLEHEM (1950) [av]
A PRESENT FOR SANTA CLAUS - Short
RUDOLPH, THE RED NOSED REINDEER (1944) [ha] - Rare post-Fleischer Studios short directed by Max F. himself closely follows the famous holiday song's plot.
SANTA AND THE FAIRY SNOW QUEEN (feature)
SANTA AND THE THREE BEARS (1970) [rs] - Hal March/Jean Vander Pyl (voices)
SANTA CLAUS STORY
SANTA IN ANIMAL LAND
SILENT NIGHT: STORY OF THE FIRST CHRISTMAS CAROL
SNOW FOOLIN' (1949) [fa] - A massive woodland snowfall is the setting for this first-day-of-winter "Jingle Bells" singalong.
THE STORY OF THE FIRST CHRISTMAS (Australia-1975) [rb] (Claymation)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You get what you paid for, October 24, 2009
By 
Cat (New England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Holiday Family Classics (DVD)
My parents had just bought this set of 8 dvds. Now granted, there is a LOT on here.... but it's not good quality.

I've got the cartoon disc on right now, and it's all off colored, skipping, with really bad quality. It looks like someone taped them off tv and then transferred them to dvd.

Or maybe the production value was just really that bad.

It's all public domain, so you're getting exactly what you paid for. The only good thing on this disc is the original Rudolph cartoon, and even that seems like it could have gotten a better treatment.

If you want good cartoons, stick with the ones you know. The stop motion Rudolph, Charlie Brown, and The Grinch will be the ones your kids want. Not this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome quality for what i paid for, December 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Holiday Family Classics (DVD)
Awesome quality and worth even more than what I paid! Great movies and shows that my kids love and it's our "go to" DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holiday Family Classics., October 22, 2013
By 
Karl Droessler (Uniondale New York) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Holiday Family Classics (DVD)
This DVD shows all of the Holiday Movies during the 1950's 60's & 70's. I liked this DVD because it brings back Memories when I was Little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars five stars!, March 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Holiday Family Classics (DVD)
Everytime I see a christmas classic of holiday shows from years ago I buy it and we watch them all every christmas. This one is great and worth the money...good clean family fun!!! Love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun!, December 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Holiday Family Classics (DVD)
This dvd brings back so many memories of the good old days and the many fantastic Christmases we use to have. I espeically loved the vintage cartoons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Holiday Family Classics, February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Holiday Family Classics (DVD)
Love any programs about Christmas. Guess this one didn't please me as well as others I have seen, but it was an okay video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bargain Nostalgia!, February 4, 2014
This review is from: Holiday Family Classics (DVD)
For this bargain, this five disc DVD set features all the cartoons and film shorts on the first disc. The film quality is not high standard or restored.

The second disc features the worst Christmas movie ever made: "Santa Claus Conquers The Martians." This film is one of the worst movies ever made. Some might want to see to get laughs or make fun of it.

The other films include Nancy Marchand's television debut as Jo March in two episodes of "Little Women: Jo's Story and Meg's Story." Conrad Bain also appears.

While it took me awhile to watch all five discs, I did enjoy it for the holiday season. If you don't mind the poor quality since they were not preserved properly over the years. I'm sure viewers will be nostalgic for the cartoons and films as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reminds me of my childhood, January 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Holiday Family Classics (DVD)
I got this to show my kids some of my favorite old movies. I can't wait until they're older to see the classics, but until then they love the cartoons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Holiday Family Classics
Holiday Family Classics by Various (DVD - 2008)
$9.98 $4.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.