Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beach Boys Best, May 9, 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (Hyattsville, MDUSA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Holland (Audio CD)
There was a short period in the early 1970s when I thought the Beach Boys weren't hip enough. Then I listened to them again and the harmony hooked me again like little other music does.
Then when I was in UK I heard this. It transcends the Boys' other music. I almost get teary eyed when I hear "Leavin' This Town." "Funky Pretty" is a phenomenon. "Steamboat" offers the traditional harmony with a contemplative undertone.
Then there's the poetry of "California Saga."
One can't describe much of this in words. You need to listen to it to appreciate the experience.
The original version I bought, back in early 1974, was, of course, an LP. There was a smaller record included which had the fairly tale "Magic Transistor Radio" (called on the CD "Mount Vernon and Fairway.") It's part of the whole package when you get the CD. But I give this fine album 5 stars despite that tale; sorry, Boys. It just never grew on me. But you can turn that off when you get to it. Before then, thrive on the musical and lyrical experience.
Sure, the Boys'll be remembered for "Surfer Girl," for "California Girls," and other good tunes. But, compared to the numbers on this fine album, those others are trite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOLLAND: The Overlooked Gem, September 18, 2006
This review is from: Holland (Audio CD)
Along with PET SOUNDS and SMILE, I'd love to

hear some of the outtakes and other tracks

done during the HOLLAND and also the SURF'S UP

recording sessions.

The songs recorded for HOLLAND are STRONG. Leaving

This Town, Only With You, Funky Pretty, Sail on

Sailor, and Steamboat are all great tunes. With

how much Brian was involved (very little), it's

still one of the best BEACH BOYS cds.

California Saga has a good message and is well done

but might not be for everyone (I used to live in Big

Sur in Bixby Canyon - so I dig it).

Mt. Vernon and Fairway Theme, I'm the Pied Piper,

Better Get Back in Bed, Magic Transistor Radio,

I'm the Pied Piper, Radio King Dom tale is a bit

of a waste. A fairly tale for kids or the stoned out?

If you like SURF'S UP, PET SOUNDS, and SMILE, I'm

sure you'll like this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Boys, June 15, 2007
This review is from: Holland (Audio CD)
I saw them perform this album in concert in 1973 to a chorus of boos at SUNY Binghamton because it was such an artistic divergence from the earlier Boys. But it may very be their very best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Trader" brings a lump to your throat - and makes this a classic, February 13, 2009
This review is from: Holland (Audio CD)
When Carl's masterful two-part mini-epic "The Trader" reaches its second half, it'll bring tears to your eyes. It's that beautiful. All the other Boys have fine moments as well (except, surprisingly, for Brian), and the production is really quite lovely. While Sunflower is their greatest post-Pet Sounds album, Holland runs a close second ... and is particularly notable for attaining greatness without relying on any Smile leftovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See "Carl & The Passions", February 8, 2012
By 
Reader Rabbit (Northern Calif., USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Holland (Audio CD)
See the insane prices for this very rare CD? Good. Now search instead for "Carl & The Passions - So Tough / Holland."

The latter costs nearly nothing, and includes this whole album. (In its original track sequence, with its cover art.) Plus a bunch of additional material.

"Holland" was the uncharacteristically funky, Gospel-infused, and even politically aware album that emerged from the Beach Boys' collaboration with two fine South African musicians. Not just for traditional Beach Boys fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Strong Comeback, December 29, 2011
This review is from: Holland (Audio CD)
After the rather disappointing 1972 album "Carl And The Passions / So Tough" the Beach Boys are back on track with one of their strongest albums "Holland". As with its predecessor, Brian Wilson's musical contribution is limited, but fortunately the other two Wilson brothers shine with strong songwriting and great vocals. Dennis Wilson had previously shown great songwriting skills on tracks like "Forever" and "Cuddle Up". On this album he contributes with the original "Steamboat" and the beautiful melodic "Only With You".

For each new Beach Boys album Carl Wilson comes clearer and clearer as the group's strongest vocalist. His performances on "Steamboat", "Only With You," "Funky Pretty" and not least his own "The Trader" are nothing less than convincing.

The three Calfornia Saga suite songs are all strong. Al Jardine's melodic Interlude beand one of the highlights on the album. Mike Love leads with "California" in the best way memories back to "California Girls"

Brian Wilson contributes music to the hit single "Sail On Sailor" and "Funky Pretty" - especially the former is an asset to the album.

Ricky Fataar and Blondie Chaplin's "Leaving This Town" is a fine song which some may feel does not really have the right Beach Boys sound - could be a song that would fit for a James Taylor.

Nevertheless "Holland" is one of the band's strongest 1970s releases - unfortunately it would turn out to be the last truly great album from the Beach Boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A peak in many ways, September 20, 2008
This review is from: Holland (Audio CD)
Though I do believe that the "Carl and the Passions"/"Holland" 2cd set is a good deal and well worth owning,I think both albums stand on their own so I am glad even with the price of this that "Holland" is available by itself.This was to be the last album where Dennis and Carl were pretty much running the show.Not that the other band members didn't contribute.But after this album with the exception of Dennis and Carl the rest of the band members at that time were happy to become a greatest hits jukebox with the massive success of "Endless Summer".This album is a work of art and pretty much as "out there" as The Beach Boys ever got without Brian.All the songs are great of course though I like Carl's "The Trader" and Dennis's "Steamboat" the most.Brian's "Funky Pretty" is just plain cool especially with the Blondie Chaplin vocal and even Mike Love and Al jardine's contributions("California Saga")rank among the best work they ever did.Not to mention the best album opener you possibly could have had with "Sail on Sailor".The instrumentation is perfect with plenty of great pedal steel and slide guitar work,a great organ solo(Leaving this town")and the most psychedelic backround vocals they ever did maybe with the exception of "Smile".It all works as a whole and I find it musically to be related to Dennis's "Pacific Ocean Blue" album that would be released 4 years later.I only have two complaints:the first is Brians "Fairy tale music"(Mt. Vernon and Fairway)just does not fit with this album.Many reviewers have mentioned this.I have heard the version of this without the narration and must say that it works a lot better,but that's not the point.Whether you like Mt. Vernon or not you kind of have to admit that it doesn't really fit in with Holland.I'm not saying it's bad,but to listen all the way thru the album to the fade of "Funky Pretty" and then be introduced to "Mt Vernon" with the narration of Jack Rieley? It just doesn't work together in my opinion.The second complaint is where is Dennis Wilson's "CARRY ME HOME"?????I know it wasn't originally included with the album but this song needs to see an official release somewhere.(Maybe as a bonus track)It was intended for this album but like so many of Dennis's gems("You've got a friend","Lady","4th of July",etc.)it just was ignored.What a shame.Most of the time instead of listening to "Mt. Vernon" after the end of "Funky Pretty",I put in the bootleg cd I have to follow the end of Holland with "Carry me Home".It get's the job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEACH BOYS CD, May 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Holland (Audio CD)
HAD NEVER HEARD OF THIS CD UNTIL MY HUSBAND MENTIONED IT. HE HAD ENJOYED LISTENING TO IT IN THE PAST SO I BOUGHT IT FOR HIM. HE STILL ENJOYS LISTENING TO IT. A LITTLE DIFFERENT THEN THE MORE FAMOUS BEACH BOYS ALBUMS BUT A MUST HAVE FOR THE COLLECTOR. IT HELPS COMPLETE OUR COLLECTION. YOU'VE GOT TO LISTEN TO THIS ONE IF YOU LIKE THE BEACH BOYS. PRETTY UNIQUE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Beach Boys classic, March 2, 2014
By 
jblyn (Maryland, USA) - See all my reviews
HOLLAND was by all accounts a VERY difficult album for the Beach Boys to make. It gets its name from the band's decision to record the bulk of it in The Netherlands to see if that would stimulate creativity, and according to most sources within the group it almost deep-sixed them as tempers flared and power-plays erupted. For all that, it stands as one of the Beach Boys' best and still holds up 40 years after it was released.

By the time the band got to this album, Brian Wilson was, at best, an occasional presence in the group, and the other two Wilson brothers (Dennis and Carl), Blondie Chaplin, Mike Love and Al Jardine step up to the plate admirably. The latter two particularly come into their own on HOLLAND with "The California Suite," an extended meditation on both the state and the state of nature at large. After Love sings a sweet ode to traveling through Big Sur, Jardine does an extended reading from the writings of poet and environmentalist Robinson Jeffers called "The Beaks of Eagles," and then the band as a whole (with former Beach Boy Bruce Johnston included as well) do a tribute to Monterey, Salinas and other parts of the Golden State with those wonderful harmonies pulling you in to the travelogue. This is one of the best extended compositions the group ever recorded and cements the fact that there was always more to this band than surfin' and fun,fun,fun.

Carl and Dennis Wilson's contributions are also a treat...even the trippy lyricism of Jack Reilly, the band's then-manager and frequent co-writer, adds to "Steamboat" and "The Trader" rather than detracts, and Dennis' "Only With You," is as tender a love song as he ever wrote while in the band (and the only bonafide love song on the whole album). While Chaplin and drummer Ricky Fataar's "Leaving This Town" is fairly lightweight, Chaplin's exuberant singing on "Funky Pretty" and "Sail On Sailor" is thrilling to hear. But the final jewel in the crown is Brian's own musical fairytale, "Mount Vernon and Fairway" a story of a prince and a magic radio narrated by Reilly and replete with all of the innovative instrumental and vocal arrangements that make listening to the eldest Wilson brother's music a treat and then some.

Make no mistake: this is a superb Beach Boys album. Dismiss it at your peril.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Music From Big Surf, September 13, 2013
Could the Beach Boys have been any more influenced by the Band when they made this album? I applaud their good taste, and I like this album more than any other they made. It's too bad their audience wouldn't allow them to continue to grow like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Holland
Holland by The Beach Boys (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.