Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror & Humor In Holliston!
"Holliston" is a fearnet original series and hits quit close to home (literally). It surrounds four friends, two of which are aspiring Horror film directors and work at a local television station and have a low budget TV show. During there struggle to make a name in horror, they are faced with alot of life's obstacles and are caught in silly scenarios. Of course there is...
Published on October 9, 2012 by Rich

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wonderful show, subpar blu ray
Similar to another review posted here, I adore this show. Its fun, quirky, creative and different, a great contrast to the usual painfully artificial shows on mainstream tv. While the other review provides a great overview of the show's merits, my review focuses on the medium choice - my recommendation is to simply buy the standard definition version. I'll grant that...
Published on October 17, 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wonderful show, subpar blu ray, October 17, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Similar to another review posted here, I adore this show. Its fun, quirky, creative and different, a great contrast to the usual painfully artificial shows on mainstream tv. While the other review provides a great overview of the show's merits, my review focuses on the medium choice - my recommendation is to simply buy the standard definition version. I'll grant that this show is not a Hollywood production with those kind of budgets, so I'm thankful for what I get. That said, it would appear almost no work went into engineering the content for blu ray. Unfortunately, the image feels like a photo file unedited from a low quality camera - exposure is off, color saturation is weak, and overall contrast is lacking. Sound is the same, not well engineered and peaky and flat. Again, I adore this show, and you should run, not walk, to own it. Just save yourself the funds and stick with the standard definition (and this is coming from a blu ray addict).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror & Humor In Holliston!, October 9, 2012
By 
Rich "Rich M." (Bellingham, MA USA) - See all my reviews
"Holliston" is a fearnet original series and hits quit close to home (literally). It surrounds four friends, two of which are aspiring Horror film directors and work at a local television station and have a low budget TV show. During there struggle to make a name in horror, they are faced with alot of life's obstacles and are caught in silly scenarios. Of course there is a love story thrown in for that 'soap opera' effect, which works very well.

If you're expecting this show to be anything like Adam Green's films (Hatchet 1&2, Spiral, Frozen, etc.) then hold your horses. Although this show CLEARLY pays homage to all kinds of horror, it is a very silly sitcom. If you are a big horror fan like I am and can appreciate the comedic aspect of this show, then by all means take a look for yourself.
Another thing I love about this show is all of the "inside" jokes that some people may not understand unless you are from or are familiar with Holliston, for example the hilarious Market BASKET scene, I almost died laughing. But don't worry, there are PLENTY of laughs for everyone. If your the type that doesn't care for or laugh at 'stupid' humor, then you may not find this enjoyable. It is the type of show that does NOT take itself too seriously, it is intentionally silly and at points idiotic (dare I use that word?) LOL

The Characters are fantastic! Let me go through them ;)

Adam Green as Adam is hilarious, madly in love with horror cinema and his ex-girlfriend Corri. His character is very passionate about everything he does and reminds me of myself in some ways.

Joe Lynch as Joe, much like Adam, hilarious. He is very devoted to his best buddy and is always by his side. He is also dating Laura (see below) and there relationship is hilariously adorable!

Laura Ortiz as Laura is easily my favorite character. She's the 'lovey dovey' cute girl with a 'blonde' personality. Shes the goofy type but her heart is in the right place. One of those characters you can help but fall in love with.

Corri English as Corri plays Adams love interest/ex-girlfriend. Shes the pretty girl next door type and her character almost seems out of place sometimes, BUT it works very well and I think that's what makes her character such a great addition.

Dee Snider as Lance Rockett, I mean, c'mon. That is just a great character. He is still stuck in those 'hair metal' days and rocks those leather pant's like no tomorrow! Very delightful and takes over a scene when he enters a room!

Oderus Urungus as Oderus plays Adams imaginary friend who live's in Adam's closet and gives advice to Adam when he is in a sticky situation. Although his advice isn't always perfect, at least he tries!

And of course the show is sprinked with all types of awesome cameos, examples being Bill Mosely, Danielle Harris, Tony Todd, Seth Green, John Landis and MUCH more!

Overall, I truly enjoy this show. The energetic cast and fun filled set's give you alot to look at and admire. If you're a horror fan with a loose sense of humor, I deffinately suggest it. Or if your just a fan of sitcoms in general then I would recommend it to you as well. You won't know until you try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny Show, January 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Holliston: Season 1 (DVD)
Holliston is a great show for fans of sitcoms and horror movies alike. There are so many references to horror movies in each episode, so if you are a die-hard horror fan you will relate to the characters. For me, the funniest part of the show is Dee Snider. Every time he is on screen, the show reaches infinite levels of hilarity. Tony Todd guest stars in an episode, playing a parody of himself. It is hilarious, and shows a different side of himself that we've never seen before. Tony Todd is famous for playing creepy roles like Candyman, and here he plays against type and shows his comedic side. There are also guest starring roles by John Landis, Danielle Harris, Kane Hodder, Seth Green, and Ray Wise in Season 1. The show isn't perfect as it does get repetitive at times, and I would have liked for there to have been more than six episodes. Still, a very good show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!, December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
GREAT! One of the best tv shows out there. If you don't like I don't know what's wrong with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Horrifically Funny", November 21, 2012
This review is from: Holliston: Season 1 (DVD)
I love most of Adam Green's movies and didn't know he had this show on fearnet, at first I wasn't to sure if I was going to like "Holliston" but by the end of the sixth episode I was in love! Its a funny show about 2 aspiring horror film makers and their struggles to make it big with lots of horror references and cameos.

Adam Green and Joe Lynch basically play themselves along with Joe's girlfriend Laura who is an aspiring painter, Adam's imaginary friend Oderus Urungus (Dave Brockie from GWAR) who gives him advice, Adam's ex Corri who he is still madly obsessed an in love with and the duo's boss, Twisted Sister's own Dee Snider. The cast is great together as they go through Adam and Joe's day to day along with some great cameos from Bill Moseley, Danielle Harris, John Landis, Seth Green and Tony Todd. Seth and Tony have the best and funniest cameos of the bunch with Seth being a special effects guy with multiple personalities and Tony playing an ahole version of himself who shacks up with the duo while doing a new movie.

The only thing that disappointed me about "Holliston" was that it was only 6 episodes, I really hope season 2 has more because its funny as hell with a horror twist that I absolutely enjoyed. If you like comedy/horror than you will love all 6 episodes of "Holliston" season 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Show On TV., January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Holliston: Season 1 (DVD)
Granted, I grew up just a few towns over from Holliston, in Milford, so I'm more than familiar with the in jokes & setting, & biased.
But this show is just really funny, & you can tell the cast is having fun, not just cold acting.
You can believe these people are actually friends, not actors pretending to be friends, & that counts for a ton.
You can tell not alot of money gets put into the sets, but like "Lucky Louie", the exceptional HBO series Louis C.K. had
years back, it gives a stage element that is really appealing. You feel like you're in the room with these guys.
Dee Snider is the not-so-secret weapon....brilliant as the cable station boss/small town hair metal wannabe Lance Rockett.

If there is a season 3, I really hope we get a little more Dee. Not because of the "name" thing, but because he's genuinely funny.

Can't recommend this enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror Nerds will love this, December 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Holliston: Season 1 (DVD)
I love this show. It is what "Big Bang" could have been if they were willing to risk being offensive. The two main characters are aspiring horror movie makers in Holliston MA. They work at a public assess TV station. Adam Greene, the creator is also the creator of Hatchet. He is a real insider in the horror community, and he brings guests (John Landis, Tony Todd, Kane Hodder, etc) into the show - often as themselves. It's awesome and funny, but there are some jokes and references you won't get unless you're a horror fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and Goofy, December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A surprisingly funny show that is full of horrow movie nods...likely due to the cast and creators. I would give it 5 stars if it didn't have the laugh track. But you start to forget about it by the end of the season. Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Starts off clunky, which I was thought was from ..., August 22, 2014
By 
David427 (Boston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Starts off clunky, which I was thought was from everyone being in the process of jelling for a new production but I later leaned from watching the BluRay extras that the series wasn't shot in order - episode 1 for example was shot in the middle of the production run. Picks up steam as the series continues and is a solid quirky offering. Supposedly Season 3 is in the works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Holla for 'Holliston', May 24, 2014
This review is from: Holliston: Season 1 (DVD)
I came to know the FEARnet series "Holliston" backwards. I saw season two before I ever saw season one, which was just recently. I was immediately hooked when I caught it, and was finally able to get my hands on season one. So, what's it about?

"Holliston" stars Adam Green and Joe Lynch as, well, Adam and Joe. Two regular, horror movie loving guys living in Holliston, Massachusetts. The guys host a horror movie show on local TV called "The Movie Crypt", while trying to raise funds to shoot the trailer for a movie they want to make, the horror flick "Shinpads". Along the way, the guys are just dealing with regular life, not having any money, and love with the women in their lives. There's Joe's Girlfriend Laura (Laura Ortiz), a sweet, child-like pixie with an adorable voice who has an odd choice of subjects when it comes to her art. Adam's ex is Corri (Corri English), a gorgeous blond who just moves back to town. The kind of girl, as Adam says, "you want to buy ice cream for". Rounding out the cast of characters is Lance Rockitt (Twisted Sister lead singer, Dee Snider), a lost in the 80s glam rock guy who runs the TV station. Then there is Adam's imaginary friend, Oderus Urungus, who lives in his closet and says just about anything he pleases.

"Holliston" may not be everybody's cup of tea, but what I found incredibly interesting the first time I watched is how much heart it has. Horror fans are not just weirdos like some people think. They are real people like anyone else. They have feelings and a heart. They just happen to like a certain genre that some other people may not like. So what? There is a lot of old school sitcom touches to the series, and not just the heartfelt moments, which escalate in season two. It's a traditional, three camera series with a laugh track. Now, obviously, not all sitcoms have laugh tracks, but this one does and it's horrendous. It had to be intentional because of how bad it is. Just to add to the camp flavor I guess. Anyways, you really start to like these people. You may not be into horror, but you feel like you could be these people, or be friends with them. The acting and writing serves the show well for what kind of show it is and what it's trying to be. And what show is that? A show for horror fans to come together on. It's funny, it's heartfelt, it loves it's horror pedigree and the horror actors (Danielle Harris, Tony Todd, Derek Mears, Bill Moseley, Kane Hodder) who come through, and above all, it's fun. Remember fun? When TV had a lot more escapism that was just to take you away for a 22-44 minute ride? It's raunchy at times, crude at others, but it never talks down to anybody. Instead, it raises a glass to a fan community and says "Here's to us! Let's have some fun".

Episodes include: "The Hooker", which is the pilot episode in which Corri comes back to town, but has a sad surprise for Adam. "Camera Rental" has the guys loaning out the TV station equipment in an effort to pay for their 'Shinpads' trailer. "Skunked" has Adam and Joe sharing a very awkward bath together after getting, well, skunked. "Candyman" is a funny episode that has that character's portrayor, Tony Todd, become an unwanted houseguest for Adam and Joe. "Laura's Little Twitter" has Laura finding out just why she has gotten so many followers on Twitter so quickly. The last episode, "Weekend of Horrors", has the gang attending a horror convention so Adam can meet his hero, John Landis, but come up with a plan when they don't have special passes.

If there is a downside to this, it's that there is only six episodes. Just as you are getting hooked and liking the characters, it's over real soon. Oh well. The bloopers and commentary are cool, but the featurettes are rather brief, not too deep, and appear to only be little commerical blips in between movies on FEARnet.

"Holliston" is a nice little surprise for a certain audience. It's not a highbrow show, but it took creator/director/writer/actor Adam Green a long time to get the show done exactly as he wanted it with no real interference. If you have an open mind and are into anything funky, then it could interest you too if you are not exactly into horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Holliston: Season 1
Holliston: Season 1 by Adam Green (DVD - 2012)
$14.98 $9.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.