Qty:1
  • List Price: $17.99
  • Save: $4.54 (25%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: GREAT SHAPE! Softcover. No missing/torn pages, highlighting, or underlining in text. Some light wear, corner creasing. Fulfilled by Amazon! Free shipping on total Amazon fulfilled orders over $25! Free 2-Day shipping with Amazon Prime!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Hollow Fields Omnibus (Hollow Fields Omnibus Collection) Paperback – September 29, 2009


Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$13.45
$7.69 $2.09


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Series: Hollow Fields Omnibus Collection
  • Paperback: 544 pages
  • Publisher: Seven Seas; First Edition edition (September 29, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1934876720
  • ISBN-13: 978-1934876725
  • Product Dimensions: 7.5 x 5 x 1.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #220,882 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

  "This is the best book I’ve read all year." —COMICSNOB.COM

"A rich fantasy of fertile imagination that will appeal to fans of Harry Potter and Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events." —ACTIVEANIME.COM

About the Author

Madeleine Rosca is both writer and artist of Hollow Fields. She is a former librarian who lives in Tasmania, Australia.


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
See all 14 customer reviews
They read it multiple times.
Love Amazon
I enthusiastically recommend this book to all my friends who appreciate the genre.
DonCarlitos
I found the story paced well and the plot was interesting enough.
Steven Bell

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Joe D on February 1, 2010
Format: Paperback
The artwork for this manga / graphic novel is some of the coolest artwork I have ever seen. I suppose you could describe it as a mix of steampunk and Nightmare before Christmas, but the best of both worlds. I stared at each page so long I couldn't believe how long it took me to make it through a single chapter.
But art is not all this manga has going for it. The story is fun, exciting, and well plotted. It is one of the most original stories I have read in a while.
All in all this is one of the crown gems of my manga collection, I would rank it right up there second only to Fullmetal Alchemist (my favorite of all time).
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By John M. Beckner on November 8, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The description is correct - somewhat dark subject matter, but nothing worse than classic horror stories like Dracula. Very interesting art style - slightly chibi (cute) style to the characters but great detail where needed to tell the characters apart, show emotion and add atmosphere to the environment. One thing both I and my 12 year old daughter liked was the somewhat more western story conventions - sometimes translated Japanese Manga can feel like some intent was missed, like you have to read between the lines or know Japanese mannerisms to understand everything that is going on. Here the author went a little farther and made things a little more obvious while retaining some subtlety, without resorting to simple and stilted writing. The story is actually very good, good writing, some good plot twists, nice pacing and sense of adventure and discovery throughout.

If you wish Harry Potter was a girl, had to struggle to get things done in a more steampunk setting and had more exposure to genuine creepies and crazies, get this now.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Love Amazon on November 12, 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Kids enjoy it completely. They read it multiple times. They found it very engaging. My son and daughter fight over it even though they read it multiple times !!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By J. Alford on November 6, 2012
Format: Paperback
At around what was kind of the beginning of the steampunk movement in the geek zeitgeist, Hollow Fields was one of the original English language(or "OEL")manga put out by Seven Seas Entertainment. This all-ages comic was first shown online, then as seperate a three-volume mini-series, and then as a single large graphic novel omnibus.

Nine-year old Lucy Snow is sent off to an all girls school, but ends up making her way to a mysterious estate in the middle of the dark scary forest. There, she is greeted by a strange clockwork maid Notch who mistakes her for a new student in the school of Hollow Fields. Lucy is a little intimidated at first, but after hearing the school offers free tuition and boarding, she signs the contract to stay there. It seems okay at first, but she gets put down by most of the other students by being the newbie. Plus, the entire staff is made up of equally weird clockwork creations that were originally competley human, like the creepy Miss Weaver who school's head and founder, as well as teacher of the robotics class. Lucy's first week keeps getting worse and worse as she finds out the school is meant for up-and-coming young mad scientists. Couple with that is the fact that every week one student is sent to detention from which they're never heard from again. After being given an impending assignment from Miss Weaver to make a functioning robot, Lucy find some solace in a talking puzzle box who used to be a teacher at the school named Dr. Bleak. He instructs her on building a nearly passable robot which just saves her from being sent to detention, afterwards she dedicates herself to finding out what is happening to the missing students and the mystery of Hollow Fields.

This is a impressive for creator Madeline Rose, who later went on to do another steampunk-themed manga, Clockwork Sky. I'd highly recommend getting a hold of the full Omnibus Collection version. A must for all steampunk fans, or for young fantasy like Harry Potter.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
Normally im into the action packed stuff, but ill always have a weak spot for school based mangas/anime. No matter the genre, school life always intrigued me, and Hollow Fields did not disappoint. It was cute, funny, and a little on the creepy side. I really enjoyed this manga.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By winged on June 1, 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
a great manga, definitely recommend at least borrowing it if you like reading manga. An interesting story and it's all right there!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I had been wanting to finish this series for four years and I was able to find this Omnibus, and in great condition.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?