Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and informative
I imagine the reviews of this book will be split two ways: On one side, they'll say Medved is just another member of the Religious Right trying to make everyone conform to a boring religious regime.
On the other side, people will say it's a well-deserved attack on the entertainment industry at large. It is neither. Medved points out that no one movie, no one song...
Published on March 7, 2000 by Jason Rees

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars He Lost It At The Movies
I recently picked up this book at a library book sale--and in reading other reviewers' comments, I find that this is NOT all that uncommon experience--and finally got around to reading it some 20 years after its original publication. Yes, the "culture wars" have been going on for at least that long. Had Michael Medved stayed in the film crit biz, we might have even...
Published 20 months ago by Gregor von Kallahann


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and informative, March 7, 2000
This review is from: Hollywood vs. America: The Explosive Bestseller that Shows How-and Why-the Entertainment Industry Has Broken Faith With Its Audience (Paperback)
I imagine the reviews of this book will be split two ways: On one side, they'll say Medved is just another member of the Religious Right trying to make everyone conform to a boring religious regime.
On the other side, people will say it's a well-deserved attack on the entertainment industry at large. It is neither. Medved points out that no one movie, no one song title, no one T.V. show should be cancelled, censored, etc.
What Medved does is point out the self-destructive trends of the entertainment industry elite to flood the market with material of little worth in the name of profits or a cause. In the former, he proves that movies have been steadily repulsing more and more of the public, and decreasing the chances of bringing in families, where the real money is. In the latter matter, he shows beyond a doubt that a very narrow viewpoint is being portrayed in hollywood, to the nearly complete exclusion of all other views. A move detrimental to Americans AND the entertainment industry.
Anyone who wants to get an idea of where the entertainment industry has been, and is taking American viewers, should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent documentation, August 3, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Hollywood vs. America: The Explosive Bestseller that Shows How-and Why-the Entertainment Industry Has Broken Faith With Its Audience (Paperback)
Few people discuss the excellent documentation and cold, hard statistics Medved supplies - perhaps because they are irrefutable. And also because it's easier to make subtle charges of racism and bigotry. One reviewer even claimed Medved wants a world where everyone is white and Christian - Medved is Jewish and discusses his religion at length in the book!!! But then, you'd have to actually READ the book to know that...
Medved shows beyond the shadow of a doubt that Hollywood is more interested in what it thinks of itself than in anything else - true art or even money.
Strange that many of the same movie buffs who decry the dumbing-down of film within the past 15 years suddenly rush to defend Hollywood (even the trash!) in order to avoid agreeing with Medved.
An excellent book - an excellent tool for analyzing American culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insider Reveals what's wrong with Hollywood, February 14, 2003
By 
rodboomboom (St. Louis, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Well known movie critic resigns from doing so, because of his strong conviction that Hollywood is unwilling to be responsible cultural contributor.
Leaning even more to the dangerous trends Medved exposes in this book in 1992, Hollywood does not feel any responsibility to nation's moral troubles, only freedoms which they certainly are given under our laws.
It's only entertainment? Of the foulest, sickest kind. History will concur with Medved that this increasingly slippery slope has led all other leading civilizations to decay, disease and collapse. Can we be of such historic stuff?
Medved provides convincing evidence in this, and most disturbing is Hollywood's seeming "don't care" attitude.
Suffice recent stars stance on Iraq as infuriating most of country's citizens.
More like Medved and this reviewer, should boycott most of Hollywood. Wake up America, thanks Mike for this helpful classic work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read The Book Hollywood Doesn't Want You To Read, June 10, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Hollywood vs. America: The Explosive Bestseller that Shows How-and Why-the Entertainment Industry Has Broken Faith With Its Audience (Paperback)
I came to a bookstore shortly after this book was released with $25 in my wallet, which was intended for another book. I flipped through "Hollywood vs. America" and not only couldn't I put it down, I decided that I owed it to Medved to buy the book at full list price, before it went on sale. Finally, someone with some clout was saying what I had been saying for years about show business and the people in charge.
A previous reviewer faulted Medved for detailing a laundry list of vomit and urination scenes, but this is exactly what is necessary to illustrate how far "entertainment" has fallen. True humor and plot development is abandoned in favor of "realistic" special effects gore, more F-words, and bodily function gags.
Especially important is his illustration of the way showbiz takes great pains to prop up evil religious straw-men/women for the purpose of demonizing traditional religion per se. He also shows how "dramatic license" is used to distort the lives of actual religious figures so that their faith is unrecognizable. Medved wrote this seven years before NBC's outrageously inaccurate and blasphemous "Noah's Ark."
If you are a moviegoer, read this book. Peek into the slaughterhouse and see what's in the sausage they feed you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The movie industry's cultural influence: quo vadis?, May 3, 2000
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hollywood vs. America: The Explosive Bestseller that Shows How-and Why-the Entertainment Industry Has Broken Faith With Its Audience (Paperback)
If you've wondered why in the world so many anti-American, anti-family, anti-religion movies manage to earn Oscars, this book is for you.

In it, Michael Medved takes a long hard look at the stuff produced by the movie industry and shows that there's a pattern to it all.

It's not "greed" and "profit." Despite the attempts of numerous left-leaning folks to smear capitalism and the free market, it isn't "corporate greed" that drove the movies down into their current state. As Medved shows, lots of studios could have done much better at the box office if they had produced moral and uplifting films that respected (not "promoted," just "respected") the values held by the vast majority of Americans.

No, the movie industry is just out of touch with its market. And why? The culprit isn't "greed" but a false idealism.

What Medved shows in effect is that the moviemakers are playing to the chorus -- looking for accolades from their peers based on their alleged "artistic achievement." And that achievement is based on a view of "art" that most of us probably wouldn't find congenial.

Medved shows that there is an overarching pattern in what's been coming out of Hollywood for the last three of four decades. Its destructive "art" (with some exceptions that should have taught the industry something about its customers) tends deliberately to take traditional religion and morality as its intentional target, and regards the trashing of those values as a "success."

Disagree? Then let Medved convince you. Watch him summarize, e.g., Hollywood's recent portrayals of clergy and other religiously devoted people, and then ask yourself what would have happened if the movie industry had similarly targeted, say, gays and lesbians. If you give the obvious answer, then you'll know there's a powerful bias at work in the "entertainment" world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Observation, December 9, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hollywood vs. America: The Explosive Bestseller that Shows How-and Why-the Entertainment Industry Has Broken Faith With Its Audience (Paperback)
Michael Medved's "Hollywood Vs. America" is an excellent observation of how out of touch Hollywood is with America and how they are influencing our youth.
Michael looks at many different aspects of Hollywood and the media but he really takes a good look at how they handle the subject of sex. He points out how Hollywood has made sex a requirement for any movie to be "romantic." Because of his observations on this subject, it has made me review some of the movies I consider "my favorites" and I've made a decision to not watch them or recommend them anymore.
While he makes his Judeo-Christian views apparent in many different parts of the book, he also uses a lot of common sense when addressing many of the issues. He points out that some of us can watch a movie and see people brutally murdered and we sit there with no reaction at all. I have caught myself becoming "numb" to a lot of the violence in movies. Sure, it isn't going to make me run out and commit these acts, but it has become commonplace to see heads explode or people dismembered that a lot of us are not even aware of how horrific these scenes are.
He also points out that less than 5% of movies in the past 15 years show religion in a positive way. I couldn't agree more. Recently, there have been movies (Return To Me, The Apostle, Signs) that show how a long-suffering faith in God can bring you through everything. Why is it that Hollywood can't see that a lot more than 5% of Americans have a religious faith and would like to see more of that in films? It is a shame.
This is an excellent commentary on today's time. It does tend to get a little repetitive and tedious toward the end but he does make excellent observations and leaves it up to you to decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing Hollywood agenda, portrayed brilliantly, January 9, 2000
This review is from: Hollywood vs. America: The Explosive Bestseller that Shows How-and Why-the Entertainment Industry Has Broken Faith With Its Audience (Paperback)
As studios and Hollywood producers continue to back projects that have appalling liberal bias, yet little-to-no chance of commercial success ("Cradle Will Rock" (1999), "Cider House Rules" (1999) are good examples), it is plain to see there is a larger force at work in American popular culture. Medved does a superb job of documenting the multitudinous examples of filmmakers pushing the envelope in terms of content. As a eager consumer of pop entertainment, it has made me rethink the images that I choose to grant entrance into my mind. I'm not surprised that some readers find this book overwrought or "Chicken Little". Oftentimes, the truth hurts. The simple truth proven here brilliantly, is that Hollywood has an agenda. They promote it with a force frightening. Sadly, traditional values are under attack, by those who think they "know better".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, accurate and stunning critique of Hollywood, February 27, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hollywood vs. America: The Explosive Bestseller that Shows How-and Why-the Entertainment Industry Has Broken Faith With Its Audience (Paperback)
This is an excellent book and presents a considerable body of evidence that proves Hollywood's obsession with exploiting sex and violence and other harmful trends. He convincingly refutes the standard Hollywood claim of "just making what people want". A fantastic book, give it to your most liberal friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the Facts., January 12, 2002
By 
tvtv3 "tvtv3" (Sorento, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hollywood vs. America: The Explosive Bestseller that Shows How-and Why-the Entertainment Industry Has Broken Faith With Its Audience (Paperback)
Traveling through America and talking to people about entertainment, the general consensus you will find is that most people are sick of all the garbage they hear on the radio and see on television and the movies. Yet, it seems that no matter how much people complain, the situation doesn't improve much.
In HOLLYWOOD VS. AMERICAN, Michael Medved explores why Hollywood is no longer in tune with the rest of America. In doing so, he also illustrates (with great statistical accuracy) the ignorance behind all the excuses the entertainment establishment gives for producing much of the garbage it does. Yet, in doing so, Medved never questions the right of people to create the garbage they do. He displays that the establishment has forgotten that with rights come great responsibilities; responsibilites that many entertainers rather seem to ignore.
A great, informative, insightful, and memorable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a look, April 23, 2001
This review is from: Hollywood vs. America: The Explosive Bestseller that Shows How-and Why-the Entertainment Industry Has Broken Faith With Its Audience (Paperback)
Medved, does nothing else here other that at least raise some important questions. A fine writer, with an excellent command of the language, Medved confronts (at least in his thesis) Hollywood's blatant disregard for traditional American values.
Yes, Medved's thesis is simplistic and yes, he fails to consider the changing times which are indeed reflected in popular culture. And No, I as a reader certainly do not agree with all of Medved's points (Platoon is a far, far superior film to The Sands of Iwo Jima!). And I don't think everyone is supposed to agree with every point Medved desires to make. However, he does pose serious deconstructive questions that lend themselves well toward serious discourse and debate.
Popular Culture has now evolved to significance in our society, whether for well or ill, well beyond a relfective product. It does influence us as well. Medved is simply, in this book that's well worth a look, asking us to closely consider what that influence may be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.