Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good overview, politically enlightening, October 10, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hollywood: An Empire of Their Own (DVD)
This is a good movie about how the Jews came to run Hollywood, and Broadway, for most of the last century. Of course, it is somewhat biased because we are so immersed in the culture of Jewish Hollywood movies now, and the whole film is from the Jewish perspective. It is difficult for Americans now to "think outside the Jewish box" so we are automatically biased. At one point the film says that Jews made only 2 anti-nazi movies before the war. This is so absolutely untrue that it is laughable. I have seen several anti-German pre-war films (not the two they mentioned) not to mention the books and comic-books they published against Germany and the Nazis. Charles Lindbergh went on tour speaking out and warning America before the war that Jews were the "war agitators" even... Anyway, the movie does show clearly how and why Jews took over the movie industry. It even gives some insight as to why they promoted and fomented communist revolution in Russia against the Czar. It helps you understand these people and is a great example of how they tend to go straight for the lines of communication in any nation they enter as a "diaspora" people as part of their strategy. See The Culture of Critique: An Evolutionary Analysis of Jewish Involvement in Twentieth-Century Intellectual and Political Movements. You can see why Mel Gibson is not likely to do many more big-role movies in Hollywood after what he said, and after "The Passion of the Christ"... Anyone interested in US politics, and understanding the politics of Hollywood especially would do well to watch this. It answers questions I have always wondered about. Riveting. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Timely Documentary, September 23, 2011
By 
James J. Varela (Sarasota, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hollywood: An Empire of Their Own (DVD)
With the immigration debate raging on today this film makes for an interesting watch. Like all films on Hollywood history it whitewashes the famous Hollywood Ten, Communist and Leftist writers and are shown as victims of a witch hunt. This film takes the viewer back to the start of the film industry in Hollywood and how the Jewish studio moguls shaped the industry and America's view of itself. This documentary is only a primer. Anyone really interested should see TCMS'S Moguls & Movie Stars: A History of Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood: An Empire of their own., November 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hollywood: An Empire of Their Own (DVD)
I used this in my Jewish History class and it was very well received. We enjoyed it and it was very well done.

Judith Abrams
teacher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent History of Early Tinseltown, November 26, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hollywood: An Empire of Their Own (DVD)
A great deal of valuable information packed into a single DVD. Movie buffs as well as casual moviegoers will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best, April 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hollywood: An Empire of Their Own (DVD)
This is a great documentary an so many different levels. I love old movies and after seeing this I see the influence of the Jewish moguls on American life, man we have so much to be grateful for. They helped shape our country in a good way. " I will bless those that bless you and I will curse those that curse you".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN EMPIRE OF THEIR OWN, August 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hollywood: An Empire of Their Own (DVD)
PLEASE NOTE THAT IS THE SAME CONTENT BUT WITH A DIFFERENT TITLE THAN:
Hollywoodism - Jews, Movies And The American Dream AND Hollywoodism: Jews Movies And (Ff).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Eye-Opener!, June 8, 2013
By 
Laurence Galian (Cuernavaca, Mexico) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hollywood: An Empire of Their Own (DVD)
One of the most amazing documentaries I have ever seen. The book describes how the immigrant Jewish people from Eastern Europe literally created the paradigm of "America" which permeates every level of American life today. The Jewish moguls of Hollywood taught us how to think about our own country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moguls And The American Dream, June 22, 2007
This film follows the life experiences of Hollywood's future movie moguls, as they migrated to America, to escape persecution and have a slice of the American dream. The film traces their journey from New york to Hollywood where they ruled the movie industry for over thirty years. First hand accounts are told through a series of interviews with their children and grandchildren. In addition, there are comments by film historians, critics, actors and producers. A real eye opener. Fascinating.

Carolyn Kingsley, author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting video, March 3, 2012
By 
Stephen Papastephanou (Maryland, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hollywood: An Empire of Their Own (DVD)
This is another very intersting video, for people interested in the history of the people that were responsible for our dreams, and the way we thought life would be like, when we were very young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hollywood: An Empire of Their Own
Hollywood: An Empire of Their Own by Simcha Jacobovici (DVD - 2005)
$37.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.