Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
27
5 star
78%
4 star
22%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$18.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 13, 2002
If you ever dreamed of seeing your book, script, short story or any creative idea turned into a movie or TV show, this book can improve your prospects of realizing this dream. In a clear, easy to follow narrative sprinkled with humor you are provided the scoop on the players and the rules that govern Hollywood deal making.
If you ever wanted to leave your mundane corporate law job and get into the exciting world of entertainment law, or if you work in the mail room and aspire to become the creative director of a Hollywood studio, or aspire to become a talent agent, this book is your GPS to guide you on your way.
I enjoyed reading the book
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2002
I work at a Production company and a lot of contracts we hand to outside lawyers, but this is a good tool for me because it goes into details and discusses each point in a contract. This is something I'd love to have had many years ago, when I just got started in the business, and now that I have it, I am learning a lot of new things. There isn't any other book out there- quite like this.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2014
Having been in entertainment law for a law (both as a business rep and an attorney) and I've rarely if ever seen "The Industry" so scholarly laid out. It is a methodic, plain speaking nonsensational view of how it works. Its nuts and bolts are clearly laid out. It ensures that the reader has as realistic as possible view of the very complicated world of entertainment law. You won't be able to toss off the term "entertainment law" in any light way after you plunge the depths in this book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2014
A thorough and invaluable guide. This book covers even more than I had imagined. Uses little Legalese, but it's expertly written. If entertainment transactions are new to you, you may want to start here before you open the big Litwak books. No substitute for actual experience, though. More like a great introduction for lawyers transitioning into entertainment practice from other fields.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2014
Had the pleasure of working with Dina at a talent agency. I have ordered this book many times for people how are entering the TV business and those who have been in it for a long time. By far the best book out there for understanding TV deals in detail. Easy to read and understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2002
WOW! THIS BOOK IS AWESOME. I'M A LAWYER IN PRIVATE PRACTICE, AND REPRESENT A COUPLE OF WRITERS. THIS BOOK HAS EVERYTHING I COULD EVER WANT OR NEED TO MAKE A KILLER DEAL FOR MY CLIENTS. MY WIFE READ IT TOO, AND FOUND THE INFORMATION FANTABULOUS! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2014
I would suggest this book to anyone interested in entertainment. It really outlines the different types of contracts. Even if you're not interested in law, this is information you should know and will help you succeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2010
I recommend Hollywood Dealmaking not only to those with dreams of working in the entertainment business, but also for those who are already in the business.

So many books make promises. Well Dina Appleton and Daniel Yankelevit's "Hollywood Dealmaking" delivers.

Hollywood Dealmaking breaks down, with clarity, the duties/responsibilities of feature and television actors, producers and directors.

Ms. Appleton and Mr. Yankelevits breaks down the negotiating process, so that the reader can understand the steps needed to achieve their goal. The reader will understand what executives want and what they, as creatives need.

A great addition to the book is the "Deal Point Summary" at end of every chapter. The summary is a breakdown of every detail discussed within the chapter. It is more than helpful because it highlights points that protect the reader's interest.

The book has a disclaimer that states -

"The information in this book is intended to help the reader better understand the dealmaking process in Hollywood. It is not offered as legal advice, nor should it be construed as such. The authors strongly recommend that the reader consult with an experienced entertainment attorney to address each individual situation and any legal documentation".

That being said, Hollywood Dealmaking will give the reader the utmost confidence when discussing and understanding the intricacies of Hollywood dealmaking.

Ms. Dina Appleton and Mr. Daniel Yankelevits have successfully produced the best, informative read on negotiating agreements. With it's informative insight and easy to understand style, Hollywood Dealmaking is like having the main course and dessert all at once.

There are not enough stars to properly rate Hollywood Dealmaking.

Buy this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2015
I am a lawyer from Greece and i was searching for a book that covered both the trends of the industry and the legal aspects. This book is a top choice and much credit goes to the authors for the way they presented the matters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2013
I was right in the middle of an important Hollywood contract, and couldn't find contract answers in any of the other many books I had. Luckily, this was available on Kindle… Not my favorite way to read, but I was able to get it immediately and got my questions answered. It's very thorough, and covers any aspect of contract you will need in Hollywood.

Success!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse