Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo Skip!
I found Skip E Lowe's sometimes self-deprecating "diary of the sex lives of many Hollywood stars",fascinating. Sometimes shocking, sometimes deeply touching, reactions to this book may differ wildly. I, for one, loved it, and by its end, found myself wanting still more.
Published 27 days ago by Pamela Clay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Intimate Stories, Intimate Telling
It's an interesting book told in a matter-of-fact and intimate manner. Since it is about intimacy, that manner is appropriate.
Published 5 days ago by Denise Noe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo Skip!, June 24, 2014
This review is from: Hollywood Gomorrah (Paperback)
I found Skip E Lowe's sometimes self-deprecating "diary of the sex lives of many Hollywood stars",fascinating. Sometimes shocking, sometimes deeply touching, reactions to this book may differ wildly. I, for one, loved it, and by its end, found myself wanting still more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tell All About Hollywood!, July 14, 2014
This review is from: Hollywood Gomorrah (Paperback)
Wow! A Hollywood and New York memoir of a survivor of show business, and the inside of the Hollywood Myth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skip E is for Ego Lowe, July 12, 2014
This review is from: Hollywood Gomorrah (Paperback)
Somebody put this old queen out of his misery. If he was a racehorse they would have drug him into the infield and shown some mercy a long time ago. How not a have a career in Hollywood for 60 years - the Skippy Lowe story. What a train wreck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I absolutely enjoyed this book, July 6, 2014
This review is from: Hollywood Gomorrah (Paperback)
I absolutely enjoyed this book. Thank you Skip, I think you treated everyone fairly. Those that are aghast should go back to reading Dick and Jane. I read it cover to cover in one sitting because I didn't want to put it down. Great Job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Intimate Stories, Intimate Telling, July 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Gomorrah (Paperback)
It's an interesting book told in a matter-of-fact and intimate manner. Since it is about intimacy, that manner is appropriate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DISGUSTING!!!, June 10, 2014
By 
EH Adams (West Hollywood, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hollywood Gomorrah (Paperback)
Well Skip E. - you finally did it! You have now cemented your hard fought, well deserved reputation as the most vile, most hated, and most bitter old wretched queen in Hollywood. Bravo on this piece of filth you call a book! It's as foul as you are...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars (Almost) too hot to handle!, May 21, 2014
By 
Maidenlane (Salamandastron, on the coast.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Gomorrah (Paperback)
Wow what a page turner! The book that all of Hollywood is talking about. Skip E. Lowe provides an unflinching, behind the scenes look at the sex lives of some of hollywood's biggest stars. From Vietnam USO tours to New York's Park Savoy, the author tells all in a way that is honest, salacious and sometimes heart-wrenching. Skip E. Lowe, child actor, patriot and hero, has been everywhere, has met everyone, and is bold and unafraid in his descriptions. Forget about blind items, Skip E. Lowe tells all and names names: Brando, James Dean, Monty Clift, Troy Donahue - it's all here. If you are interested in Hollywood gossip this is the book for you. Not for the faint of heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'X' Rated and Indiscreet, May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Gomorrah (Paperback)
I begged Skip not to write this "tell all" tale of intimate associates, but he persisted. Now, the only choice remaining is to buy all of its copies and cut the offensive passages out. Too late, I'm afraid. The damn has broken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skip E. Lowe's insider's look at Hollywood. Not for the prudish!, June 11, 2014
By 
alanleee (Hollywood, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Gomorrah (Paperback)
Skip E. Lowe really tells it like it is and like it was. One of the most candid and hilarious books about Hollywood and the misadventures of its stars ever written. Everything is told from Skip E.'s personal observation. He was there and you just know he's telling the truth. A great fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Read!, June 11, 2014
This review is from: Hollywood Gomorrah (Paperback)
I must confess this book both enthralled and depressed me.......

On the one hand, after reading the amazing tumultuous adventures of Skip E. Lowe, it made me think how sadly boring my own life has been, by comparison.

Yet, on the other hand, I was captivated by the intimate details provided of all these various Hollywood luminaries....not merely their warts and blemishes, deftly hidden from public view, but also their oft secret virtues too.

This book is not for the easily offended...at times, it is filled with sordid sexual depravity and, considering its gay point of view, undoubtedly there are many straight types who will find its unflinching disclosures to be extremely discomfiting. For example, when Lowe discusses the penis head of James Dean in lucid detail, that is the kind of topic that will cause the more conservative types to recoil in horror.

What ultimately impressed me most about Lowe's book is that he is an 85 year old survivor who, having been kicked and crushed by many of the worst things life offers, still manages to retain a profoundly optimistic and humane perspective...and that is something worthy of admiration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hollywood Gomorrah
Hollywood Gomorrah by Skip E. Lowe (Paperback - May 1, 2014)
$20.00 $16.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.