Engineering & Transportation
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Hollywood TV and Movie Cars Paperback – November 11, 2001


Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$69.88 $4.04

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 128 pages
  • Publisher: Motorbooks; First edition (November 11, 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0760307555
  • ISBN-13: 978-0760307557
  • Product Dimensions: 10.7 x 8.3 x 0.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12.8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #482,985 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on November 9, 2001
Format: Paperback
Hollywood TV and Movie Cars tries to take the wraps off of some of the unsung stars of film and television...the cars that transported, tormented, and drove the heroes of film.
Thankfully, it doesn't spend a lot of time on cars that have already had their moment of printed glory...namely the Batmobile, Munster's Coach and other creations of Hollywood's "Kustom King" George Barris (see the book "Barris TV and Movie Cars").
Insteda the book gives you the rundown (no pun intended on some other stars...the James Bond cars, the race cars of the Great Race, LeMans, and Grand Prix, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, along with TV cars like the Monkeemobile, Then Came Bronson's Harley, Starsky and Hutch's Torino, and for the first time anywhere...a personal favorite...the George Barris' 1914 Stutz Bearcat replicas built for the forgotten series "Bearcats!".
But some of the research seems superficial...the info on Bronson's bike came straight from a web site, and the Bond Cars and Chitty Chitty...don't go into a lot of detail about the number of cars made or their eventual fate. In the case of a couple of cars, the information is either incomplete (the fact Magnum drove two different Ferrarri's...when one was destroyed by a bomb, it gave the producers and the Italian car company a chance to upgrade the PI to the latest model) or just plain wrong (the number of Black Beautys).
Also, too many photos come from old archieves..it would have
been nice to see more of thesurviving cars as they appear today...something that was done for the Bearcat, Torino, and the Green Hornet's Black Beauty.
Given space limitations, some cars were left out.. or mentioned only in an afterwood to each chapter that says what cars were used in a partcular project..
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Christopher Orlando on December 28, 2008
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book is great for fans of TV and Movie Cars. They go into everything from the James Bond Aston Martin DB5 to KITT from Knight Rider. If I have one criticism it would be that it doesn't include the famous George Barris cars, such as the 1966 TV Batmobile, Monkee Mobile, Munster cars, etc.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
A reasonable book on various tv/movie cars shown in decent color and B&W photos.Informative enough to please most people.Cars like the "Dukes of hazard" Dodge chargers,"Green hornet",cars from various "James Bond" movies and so on.If you want to know more about these cars this book is ideal.The only thing was not enough cars and a bit light on for information.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Pretty good; not possible to cover every car in every movie. Would like story on the Bluesmobile from the first Blues Brothers movie.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?