Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 21, 2014
An invaluable resource when one is considering how to tame one's slaves, or exactly how many cows one should demand in exchange for one's daughter. Steamy sex scenes, intense bloodshed and a little bit of that old-time ultraviolence! Frankly, Jesus' best work was the US Constitution, but this is a close second.
55 comments| 179 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2012
A certain verse told me I would be happy if I smashed my child's head against a rock. It didn't make me that happy.
44 comments| 101 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2014
I've read 40 different version of the buybull over 40 years, even compared the English version to the greek, Hebrew, and Aramaic versions and the English is horribly translated. this is terrible literature at best and even worse mythology. Read Bulfinch's, much much more entertaining and relevant.
22 comments| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2014
A dirty book of demented old pre-literate goat herders that built a Blood Sacrifice Death Cult around the story of a deranged old man that took his son on a long walk with the fully intended purpose of gutting his son alive based on hearing a voice in his head.

There are whole chapters of pornographic sex; incest; bestiality; pedophilia; rape sex; pillage sex; etc. The book is laced with vile deprivations of slavery and genocide. The use of Black Magic and Magical Thinking makes it read like a book of fables although poorly written.

The book was written before there was the ability to set off alarms for Plagiarism and Forgeries as is very evident that most of the stories and story lines have been dead-lifted from earlier literary works. Even within this 'Collection of Books' one book credited to one author is later has whole sections stolen word for word and used by another author that is credited with one of the other books in this Collection of Books and the previous author is not cited as the source. Well almost all of the material in this Collection of Books is not properly cited for origination or credit given.

This Collection of Books (Bible) has thousands of conflicting paragraphs. The conflicts are not trivial and there are so many of them that it is no wonder that this book by Bronze Age Nomads had a oral tradition for several hundred years (3-4 generations) before it was committed to paper and published. Ever play that classroom childhood game of 'Telephone' where you whisper pass a phrase in a circle then at the end you share aloud the origin phrase and the final phrase to cause the whole group to burst into laughter at how the phrase changed.

Just for fun - draw a 'Timeline / Character Map of just Chapter One' and see if you can spot the logical problems of these Fables right from the start. Then you realize how difficult life in the Bronze Age was to Nomadic Sheep Heardsmen. Before we knew that the Night was just Earth's Rotation away from the Sun and that the Moon was just reflected Sunlight. And remember that a 'Day' is just one rotation of the Earth - so the first day would be the first rotation of Earth orbiting around the Sun in orbit around the Center of The Milkyway Galaxy. And the Milkyway Galaxy is just a minor Galaxy among many billions of galaxies (with trillions of planets) all moving at incredible speeds in an expanding and accelerating universe.

Not a book to leave unattended in the reach of children under the age of 19 for sure.

Fuzzy Logic is fun for Movie Time but this book is too disorganized and poorly structured to read for entertainment.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2014
Ok work of fiction. Not recommended for children or those easily offended, unless of course, you can pick and choose which parts of it to ignore.
33 comments| 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2014
Spoiler alert!

A book about a magician who created man, then removed a rib to create a woman, then a talking snake told her to eat a piece of fruit that the magician told her not to. She did and cursed all of humanity forever. The magician knew all of this ahead of time but did it because he loves all of her doomed grandchildren who are also her children with her son who killed her other son.
In fact, the magician loves everyone so much he created himself/son as a human from a virgin (if DNA tests could be done back then it'd have confirmed God's DNA), let himself be put to death as a sacrifice, then came back to life somehow not voiding the sacrifice and then removed the curse that he put on us for that rib eating a piece of fruit. While he removed the curse, you're still cursed if you don't adhere to his rigid, contradictory standards. So... basically he didn't remove the curse after all.
This needs to be labelled as fiction because for some weird reason people seem to think this is a true story.
33 comments| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2014
Rather hate filled and violent. Not to mention perverse. The author(s) should seek professional help.
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2014
A drudgery. You'd think a book that was written in two parts over 5000 years would be complete and make sense. In the first half the main character is seen only a little, and much like a raging alcoholic, can't wait to do horrible things to people. He's a vindictive jerk who kills everyone. In the second half, the main character is a lot more like a hippy, espousing love and joy and is ultimately killed for it. Full of inconsistencies and contradictions, part fantasy, part historical speculation, part mythology. At least they could organize bits by genre... Totally useless unless I want to find a reason to hate my neighbor and put him down for who he is. Full of sex and murder and probably drug use. Should have a warning on it, not for children.
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2012
I decided to take the plunge and try and read the entire Bible from cover to cover -- not just the parts we hear in church. I found it to be horrific. I didn't understand why in all my Sunday classes we did not focus on the entire book. Now I understand why. I agree with some of the other reviewers about the poor index. For example, it failed to identify all seven passages about the sin of homosexuality. Also, I am suspicious that some creative editing has been done as nowhere in the four Gospels is there even one reference to the sin of homosexuality by Jesus. Not one? Also, the immaculate conception is only found in ONE of the four Gospels?? I mean, this is a huge event in our faith!! I think Amazon should be more careful as to who is supplying their Bibles as clearly this edition has been edited.
22 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2014
As a Christian and a conservative, I've always known that US law (the world's best) is based on this book. Yet, when I was caught raping an unbetrothed virgin my offer of 50 shekels to her father was rejected by both him and the courts. Please update the text or add a footnote to avoid similar confusion in the future.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse