Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Stephen Kellogg All-New Amazon Fire TV Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Lisa Loeb AMO Shop Now Sale

Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$13.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 16, 2007
On November 21st, 2006, 20th Century Fox released Home Alone - Family Fun Edition. This DVD edition is the long awaited special edition to one of cinemas most adored Christmas films. This edition offers a hefty amount of extra goodies...such as over 30 minutes of deleted scenes, on the set featurettes, new interviews, and a brand new commentary track featuring director Chris Columbus & Macaulay Culkin. I have to say unlike most commentary tracks, this one is actully very informative and very fun. Macaulay and Chris seem to have so much fun watching the film. This edition like the first one is presented in its original theatrical aspect ratio of 1.85:1. I read somewhere that the video and audio is updated too, I cannot confirm if it is or not but I read that. If you own the previous edition of this film, it is definately worth your money to update to this. The special features alone warrant a double dip. Also for the hold outs not wanting to buy the film til it got a special edition, well here it is. I would recommend this edition to anyone wanting to own this classic film on DVD.
44 comments194 of 212 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2006
Finally Fox studios came to their senses to re-release a childhood classic. Now this re-release does have a substanial amount of bonus features including 4 behind the scenes feature, deleted scenes, 3 trailers, and some trivia games but the icing on the cake is the Christopher Columbus and Macaulay Culkin Commentary. Its good to know that Macaulay Culkin being the highest paid child star back then in the early 90's and still to this date, he is humble enough to go back to his childhood memories. Deff worth the upgrade if you own the previous release..a true classic...
22 comments74 of 87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2007
The first edition of this dvd was ok but lacked in the special features area and dvd quality. Thankfully the Family Fun edition has been released and the quality is excellent. This new edition has 5.1 sound and the picture quality is so much more crisper. This dvd is loaded with special features. It's hard to believe that Home Alone came out more than 16 years ago and has stood the test of time and is destined to be a holiday classic. Great fun movie...
0Comment36 of 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2005
This movie was a favorite amongst many when it first came out in 1990, and more than a decade later, this movie *still* remains a classic, and will continue to be a classic for many more years to come.

The story is simple, really: young Kevin (Macaulay Culkin) is the underdog of the family; always getting picked on by his older siblings, and feeling like an outcast. One day, he gets into it with his older brother, and Kevin ends up being punished. During his punishment, he wishes that he could spend a christmas by himself without any of his family members. Wouldn't you know it - due to his family's carelessness, they accidently leave Kevin home on their way to the airport (to fly to Paris for Christmas vacation.)

And from there, the fun begins. While Kevin is home by himself, two bumbling, nincompoop burglars (played by Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern) known as the "Wet Bandits," set their sites on Kevin's house. When Kevin figures this out, he sets the house up with all sorts of tricks and traps, to out-maneuver these two clowns. And it's *hilarious* (listening to Daniel Stern's agonized wails -- as if he were castrated -- leaves me gasping for breath!) Anytime I watch this movie, these scenes in general have a way of bringing out the devilishly-maniacal, mischievous kid in me (and no doubt, many other viewers as well.) Of course, the movie isn't all about brash, goofy slapstick; there are some moving moments scattered throughout the film (particularly when Kevin befriends an old man - who is feared throughout the neighborhood - who teaches Kevin a few things about life, as well as receiving a little bit of advice from young Kevin along the way.)

Home Alone, Home Alone 2, and National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation are the Christmas comedies I find myself coming back to most. Indeed, all three of these films are classics that should be watched around the holidays, or *any* time of the year, for some non-stop entertainment & laughs, as well as some heartwarming sentiment beneath it all.
0Comment64 of 81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2005
HOME ALONE was very successful in its theatrical run and its popularity has proven to be enduring. Small wonder. This is a very funny and entertaining movie. Kevin, the youngest member of his family, goes to bed wishing his family would disappear. The following morning finds his family in a rush to get to the airport to catch their flight to Paris, where they are going to spend the Christmas holiday, and running very late. In the hubbub, Kevin gets left behind. He awakens to find that his wish seems to have been granted; he's been left home alone. His elation at finding he's the "man of the house" is only one of many great scenes in this movie. Macaulay Culkin shines as Kevin. Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern are also very funny as a pair of burglars working the neighborhood.

The editorial reviewer here comments that the "violence" in the later stages of HOME ALONE is "over the top". Over the top of what? There are no knives or machine guns in evidence here. Some broken christmas tree ornaments, a red hot doorknob, a couple of paint cans, some icy stairs, a b-b gun ... this is the kind of violence we're talking about here. Realistically, yeah, these burglars are ridiculously inept and somebody could get seriously hurt on slippery concrete steps, but as theatrical violence goes this is pretty harmless stuff. Pretty funny stuff, too.

This is a classically funny movie and one the whole family can enjoy. If you haven't seen it, give yourself a treat. If you're like me, you'll want your own copy so you can watch it whenever the mood hits. With Christmas a central part of the plot, HOME ALONE works especially well during the holiday season. Five stars and strongly recommended.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2007
OK, well, I thought this movie might not be as good then Lost In New York. But when I saw this movie IT was SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Funny!!! The acting was great and the storyline is good too, the booby traps were awesome though pretty violent. When Marv stepped on the pin while going up the stairs and when he plunged both of his feet onto the ornaments Kevin spread out, I was expecting Marv to leave bloody foot prints around the house!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2014
My all time favorite holiday movie. It's not officially Christmas until I watch this very year! We just moved and I couldn't find my DVD so we rented it from Amazon and in HD! :)
review image
11 comment12 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 31, 2011
To the delight of little children everywhere, a film like `Home Alone' really never goes out of style. Sure, the subsequent sequels pale in comparison and tend to overstay their welcome a bit, and yes that same overuse can ware on the integrity and adoration of the original, but when the dust settles and the smoke clears there are still bountiful smiles to be found in a group of people watching this film. As some have mentioned, it can get over the top, but isn't that what we are paying for here.

How else would an eight-year-old boy get one-up on two dim-witted thieves if it wasn't `over the top'!

The film tells the story of underappreciated Kevin McCallister. Brother to four siblings who pick on him and son to two parents who are apparently distracted by life in general, Kevin has had it. He just wants to be alone. In preparing for a family vacation in Paris, the McCallister house is bombarded by family and countless other little rug rats who clutter every crevice of the house making it pretty easy to lose track of who is who and who is where; which is precisely why the McCallister family makes their way across the globe to Paris without young Kevin. Fooled by his young mind into thinking that his family's disappearance was his fault, Kevin finds himself initially gleeful over his newfound freedom (a house all to himself), but soon he encounters two thieves who didn't count on Kevin's presence when they broke into the McCallister home. The night gets interesting as Kevin fends for himself with witty and highly improbable tactics, while his parents lose their minds overseas to the point where his mother stops at nothing to get home.

Yes, there is much about `Home Alone' that is beyond ridiculous, but one thing that isn't ridiculous is Macaulay Culkin's performance. For such a young boy, he slays this. He's hilarious, totally three-dimensional (in a performance that could have become generically one-note) and truly believable, even when he's engaged in highly unbelievable activities. He just oozes a charisma and charm that defies his age and creates a legendary character. There are few actors who create such unforgettable screen images, but everyone (even people who haven't ever seen this film) will recognize that adorable little face pressed between two hands with that wide open scream. Yes, Culkin is unforgettable.

So, at the end of the day, `Home Alone' is a lot of fun. At times it is cheap fun, and if we're going to be completely honest it is Culkin who really remains the most endearing and memorable facet of this film (if his performance had not been genius then this film would not be a landmark) but none of that matters with a film so rich with nostalgia.

You have to love it!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2007
This comedy is loaded with ironies. The boy wishes that his family would disappear. For a time, he gets his wish. The boy, Kevin, considered to be incompetent, does exploits far beyond his age. Left alone by a big family who goes to Paris for Christmas, he takes care of the big house, does grocery shopping, and stymies two burglars. The burglars think that they will have an easy time with the boy, but instead get the hassle of their lives. A neighbor man, supposedly a murderer who used his snow shovel to kill his relatives, actually lost his relatives to an old, long-unresolved argument. As a further irony, he uses his snow shovel on the burglars. The mother, thinking that she is a bad parent for having forgotten her own son, learns from the Polka troupe (that is driving her home) that many of its members hardly ever see their children in the first place. Finally, the family, divided by spiteful comments, is brought together in their frantic efforts to return home to Kevin.
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2005
Eight-year-old Kevin is left home alone in the midst of the rush to catch a plane to Paris. Although he feels rather lonely being alone in a big house with no siblings or parents, he also makes the most of having the house to himself, especially when he finds out that burglars are planning to break into it.

This was a really good movie! It doesn't make my favorites list, but it was very entertaining and occasionally laugh-out-loud funny. Some parts were a teeny bit sickening, but you can expect that in any movie. The main thing that I thought was nice was that the bad guys were both funny AND threatening at the same time. Sometimes bad guys are just so goofy that it's hard to believe that they really have any evil in them. But the bady guys in "Home Alone" were a nice mix of evil and funny. Overall, I'm glad I gave this movie a chance. Although I don't recommend it for small children as some parts could be creepy, I think kids 8+ will love it.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse