Customer Reviews


482 Reviews
5 star:
 (326)
4 star:
 (98)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST HOME AOLNE EVER and a very special movie for the heart.
This sequel actually turns out better than the first and soooooo much better than the third. Kevin again finds himself stranded without his family, but this time he is in New York. With beautiful christmas music, and spectacular visions of holiday surroundings, this movie earns to be my favorite christmas movie of all time. This movie provides extra and a ton more...
Published on October 31, 1999

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Title is Misleading, but it Captures the Angst of Being Alone During Christmas in New York
As a single man in New York with no one to spend the Holidays with, I try to calm down over the fact that I am all alone by watching Christmas films and drinking copious amounts of Italian table wine. I have watched many Christmas films this month. I found Elf to be a story that parallels to my own life (never really knowing my parents and being much taller than the...
Published 19 months ago by James Baldwin


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST HOME AOLNE EVER and a very special movie for the heart., October 31, 1999
By A Customer
This sequel actually turns out better than the first and soooooo much better than the third. Kevin again finds himself stranded without his family, but this time he is in New York. With beautiful christmas music, and spectacular visions of holiday surroundings, this movie earns to be my favorite christmas movie of all time. This movie provides extra and a ton more laughs than the first one with awesome performances by TIM CURRY, ROB SHNIEDER, AND DANA IVY. They lighten the movie up to me. But also this movie is special for the heart and soul, when Kevin finds a poor woman to befriend, and love on the streets. This movie goes to prove that: Maybe there is people out there that will give the time, care, and effort to make a difference in some one's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray Version is the best for HOME ALONe2, December 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've seen many reviews about this Blu-ray disc, and they say it's a big disappointment when compared to the first Home Alone Blu-ray. Well, I'll be the judge of that (of course, it's my review). Does this Blu-ray look as good as Home Alone? Nope, but it still looks very good on an HDTV. If you stand 1-2 feet from the screen, you will see a lot of grain though, but if you stay at a normal seating distance, it looks great. I compared it to the previous DVD version I have, and there is no comparison. There are simple things you can see now that you could not before like: the note given to Kevin, clear Christmas lights, and the text when Kevin uses his Dad's Visa Card. The old DVD version could not be played properly on widescreen TVs since it wasn't enhanced while the Blu-ray version is 1080p which makes a HUGE difference. The DVD version suffered with Dolby Surround 2.0 while we get DTS-HD sound on the Blu-Ray. There are no extras, but it's a good thing since this was a single layer-disc which allowed for a higher data rate on the picture quality. So, if you're wanting to get the best version of Home Alone 2 or upgrade to a better version, than this Blu-Ray version is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You guys give up? Have you had enough pain? "Nevahhhhhh!", October 26, 2003
By 
Andy Bonner (Scotland,United Kingdom,Britain) - See all my reviews
What kind of idiots do you have working here?
"The finest in New York."
- This is just an idea of the great writing & acting in Home Alone 2:Lost In New York. This is the second of 4 movies by Chris Columbus. Lil' Kevin McCallister gets caught up in more trouble again in this sequel to Home Alone.
Home Alone 2:Lost in New York starts with the Christmas Pageant where young Kevin manages to get himself in a bit of bother with Buzz who manages to make Kevin look like a laughing stock in front of many parents. Buzz then makes a very phony,but convincing apology to the family who accept it (as idiots).As he brings this apology to an end,he calls Kevin a "troutsniffer". The acting in this film is pure brilliance,especially the parts of the two "Wet Bandits" played by Joe Pesci & Daniel Stern.This film is such a hilarious film especially with great actors such as Joe Pesci,Daniel Stern,Catherine O'Hara,Tim Curry,Rob Schneider & not forgetting the fine young actor Macaulay Culkin. If you like Home Alone 2:Lost in New York then you are bound to love Home Alone.Although Home Alone 3 & 4 are not worth seeing as they are not the originals with Macaulay Culkin & the original Bandits
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And He's Back; They're Back...Again!, February 10, 2005
By 
Last time around, Kevin (Macaulay Culkin) was left home alone (pun intended) by his family in a frantic hurry to get to the airport. And to add insult to injury, he had to deal with a couple of bumbling sillies--burglars who wanted to burglarize his house--who went by the name of the "Wet Bandits." This time around, it's more of the same, but with a slight difference: this time, he gets on the wrong plane, and is left to his own devices in the "Big Apple"--a/k/a New York City.

The plot is pretty similar to the last one in many ways: Kevin gets into trouble due to getting into it with his older brother, and is punished. He gets fed up with his family treating him unfairly, and in the midst of his angst, wishes that he could have a vacation on his own, without any of his family. The next morning, in a frantic hurry, the family rushes to the airport to go to Florida for Christmas vacation. In the airport, Kevin stops to put some batteries into his small camcorder (which will be largely significant later in the film), and as soon as he lifts his head, his family are long gone. He spots an older guy from the backside who looks like his dad, and therefore gets on the same plane as this gentleman, believing that it really was his dad. Needless to say, he was in for a big surprise when the plane landed.

Meanwhile, the "Wet Bandits" (Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern) escape from jail, and are in the "Big Apple" as well. You know what happens: they cross paths, and these two clowns are looking for revenge. The slapstick craziness that was seen in the last film, is taken up an extra notch, and is made gut-bustingly funnier as a result. (And again, just listening to Daniel Stern's demented operatic-like screeching as he gets his, alone, just slams the wind straight out of me. It's too hilarious!)

As for poignant moments, last time around, the "scary" character was an old man who was rumored to be a murderer. This time, it's a homeless woman who dwells in Central Park, and her companions are a bunch of pigeons.

These Home Alone films are recommended for anyone with a taste for over-the-top, outrageous slapstick humor, added with a large dose of mischief. Also recommended if you want to bring out the kid in you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cuteness ends here, November 27, 2005
By 
This should have been the end of the Home Alone series, seeing that the same premise and cast were used for two films but, naturally, Hollywood just can't resist trying to squeeze more money from a proven formula.

I'm not one for sequels but this was one of the handful that I can enjoy time and again, not only because the original cast is in it, but because of Macaulay Culkin's comedic ability (even as a kid) and Joe Pesci's and Daniel Stern's reactions to getting their butts kicked, booby trap style.

Kevin is not forgotten (like he was last time) but hops the wrong plane after he puts fresh batteries in the family camera right before he gets to the gate at the airport (his family had all the bad luck with high winds knocking out the electric - and the alarm clock - twice). He mistakes a man with the same coat as his father and after Kevin reassures a flight attendant he's on the right plane, takes his seat ... in a plane heading in the exact opposite direction the rest of his family is going (naturally, no one realizes Kevin's missing until they're in Miami and he's in NY).

Who could have thought a vacant New York brownstone could be so much fun? Sure, Pesci's and Stern's characters are more banged up this time but, hey, they started it. (The adventures in the Plaza Hotel are hilarious, as well.)

Anyway, this is one sequel worth the time to watch. Just don't bother with the irrelevant, contrived, and unncessary third installment of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better then the first movie, August 7, 2005
By 
Ronnie Clay "R.C." (Winnsboro, Louisiana) - See all my reviews
Macaulay Culkin is seperated from his family again but this time he's in the big apple New York. How it happen. The family wera plainning a christmas facation to Miami, Florida everybody else went on the right plane at the air port except for Macaulay character (Kevin) cause he was putting new batteries in his tape recorder after that he was flowing a man who had the same jacket as his dad that man was going catching the plane to New York and that's how Kevin got confused and got on the wrong plane. Luckly for him he had his dads bag filled with money and credit cards which can help him live and check into a hotel in NYC. Kevin is also smart enough to have his own plane ticket to Florida just in cast a mistake happen's again which it did. The same two bad guys from the first movie use to be called the "wet Bandets" now the "sticky bandets" nave escape from jail into NYC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie!, November 23, 2009
It's about time this wonderful movie got released properly. I can finally watch it on my widescreen LCD TV. The older DVD release was non-amamorphic and looks awful on widescreen TVs. Too bad Fox never re-released. But it's good to finally see this on Blu-ray...enhanced for widescreen TVs and with excellent picture and sound. The remastered DTS 5.1 sound is excellent. The Blu-ray version looks A LOT better than the DVD. This is one Blu-ray release that was worth the double dip. And just in time for the holidays too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, January 30, 2006
These tapes were of the highest quality and very easily viewed. I have enjoyed these two movies everytime that I have seen them, and I am glad that I purchased them from Amazon.com. A friend suggested that I go online and become a member of Amazon.com and I am glad that I did, since I have purchased other items from your company and have been pleased with everything that I purchased.

Thanks!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Movie of 20th Century Fox, February 8, 2006
This Home Alone is such a great big hit and more of these actions are funny. Perhaps parents should see this movie before they let their kids watch, some of the action like Kevin McCallister (Macaulay Culkin) throwing bricks at Marv (Daniel Stern) does not seem to be the best scene for young children. But on top of that, this is funny and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the first!, January 21, 2007
I cant really decide which one I like better this or Home Alone 1. They are both awesome. My 6 year old and 3 year old absolutely love this one and watch it everyday! Sometimes we even spot "Harry and Marv in thier van" when we are out and about. A really fun movie, I highly recommend getting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Home Alone 2: Lost in New York
Home Alone 2: Lost in New York by Chris Columbus (DVD - 1999)
$14.98 $7.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.