Customer Reviews


977 Reviews
5 star:
 (732)
4 star:
 (164)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


162 of 176 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home Alone - Family Fun Edition
On November 21st, 2006, 20th Century Fox released Home Alone - Family Fun Edition. This DVD edition is the long awaited special edition to one of cinemas most adored Christmas films. This edition offers a hefty amount of extra goodies...such as over 30 minutes of deleted scenes, on the set featurettes, new interviews, and a brand new commentary track featuring director...
Published on October 16, 2007 by Wayne Minge

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun family holiday flick-transfer subpar
This is a review of the Blu-Ray disc. Since Amazon does not specifically provide rating stars for PQ and AQ, I am writing this at the top, as some of the reviews here, were ported over from the SD.

PQ-3/5-sad to say, Fox has skimped again. There is significant noise and grain in this film, and the picture is murky. The film was tested on an upper end 42" Plasma...
Published on December 17, 2008 by :::DIGITAL BABE:::


‹ Previous | 1 298 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

162 of 176 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home Alone - Family Fun Edition, October 16, 2007
On November 21st, 2006, 20th Century Fox released Home Alone - Family Fun Edition. This DVD edition is the long awaited special edition to one of cinemas most adored Christmas films. This edition offers a hefty amount of extra goodies...such as over 30 minutes of deleted scenes, on the set featurettes, new interviews, and a brand new commentary track featuring director Chris Columbus & Macaulay Culkin. I have to say unlike most commentary tracks, this one is actully very informative and very fun. Macaulay and Chris seem to have so much fun watching the film. This edition like the first one is presented in its original theatrical aspect ratio of 1.85:1. I read somewhere that the video and audio is updated too, I cannot confirm if it is or not but I read that. If you own the previous edition of this film, it is definately worth your money to update to this. The special features alone warrant a double dip. Also for the hold outs not wanting to buy the film til it got a special edition, well here it is. I would recommend this edition to anyone wanting to own this classic film on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST!, September 1, 2006
By 
Jimmy Lee "James" (Manhasset, N.Y. United States) - See all my reviews
Finally Fox studios came to their senses to re-release a childhood classic. Now this re-release does have a substanial amount of bonus features including 4 behind the scenes feature, deleted scenes, 3 trailers, and some trivia games but the icing on the cake is the Christopher Columbus and Macaulay Culkin Commentary. Its good to know that Macaulay Culkin being the highest paid child star back then in the early 90's and still to this date, he is humble enough to go back to his childhood memories. Deff worth the upgrade if you own the previous release..a true classic...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Will Never Wear Out It's Welcome!, February 8, 2005
By 
This review is from: Home Alone (DVD)
This movie was a favorite amongst many when it first came out in 1990, and more than a decade later, this movie *still* remains a classic, and will continue to be a classic for many more years to come.

The story is simple, really: young Kevin (Macaulay Culkin) is the underdog of the family; always getting picked on by his older siblings, and feeling like an outcast. One day, he gets into it with his older brother, and Kevin ends up being punished. During his punishment, he wishes that he could spend a christmas by himself without any of his family members. Wouldn't you know it - due to his family's carelessness, they accidently leave Kevin home on their way to the airport (to fly to Paris for Christmas vacation.)

And from there, the fun begins. While Kevin is home by himself, two bumbling, nincompoop burglars (played by Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern) known as the "Wet Bandits," set their sites on Kevin's house. When Kevin figures this out, he sets the house up with all sorts of tricks and traps, to out-maneuver these two clowns. And it's *hilarious* (listening to Daniel Stern's agonized wails -- as if he were castrated -- leaves me gasping for breath!) Anytime I watch this movie, these scenes in general have a way of bringing out the devilishly-maniacal, mischievous kid in me (and no doubt, many other viewers as well.) Of course, the movie isn't all about brash, goofy slapstick; there are some moving moments scattered throughout the film (particularly when Kevin befriends an old man - who is feared throughout the neighborhood - who teaches Kevin a few things about life, as well as receiving a little bit of advice from young Kevin along the way.)

Home Alone, Home Alone 2, and National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation are the Christmas comedies I find myself coming back to most. Indeed, all three of these films are classics that should be watched around the holidays, or *any* time of the year, for some non-stop entertainment & laughs, as well as some heartwarming sentiment beneath it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Holiday Classic Has Been Saved, March 29, 2007
By 
IJustDiedAlive (Northern CA, USA) - See all my reviews
The first edition of this dvd was ok but lacked in the special features area and dvd quality. Thankfully the Family Fun edition has been released and the quality is excellent. This new edition has 5.1 sound and the picture quality is so much more crisper. This dvd is loaded with special features. It's hard to believe that Home Alone came out more than 16 years ago and has stood the test of time and is destined to be a holiday classic. Great fun movie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These classic films are a must have for any collector!, May 24, 2001
Remember the first time you laughed your head off the first time you saw a little boy scream from the burn off aftershave in the morning? Or when you heard the clank of paint cans hitting the heads of two rotten villains? Relive all those wonderful moments in this hilarious gift set! From Kevin's offensive on two house burglars to his dastard adventures through the Big Apple, you won't want to miss this collection of over-the-top, slapstick humor. These tapes make great gifts for the kiddies, or any nostalgic fan. I recommend this five-star collection for anyone wanting a good time watching a set of genuinely fun movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun family holiday flick-transfer subpar, December 17, 2008
This is a review of the Blu-Ray disc. Since Amazon does not specifically provide rating stars for PQ and AQ, I am writing this at the top, as some of the reviews here, were ported over from the SD.

PQ-3/5-sad to say, Fox has skimped again. There is significant noise and grain in this film, and the picture is murky. The film was tested on an upper end 42" Plasma and BD30K player. I've seen older movies look better than this. The sound was a 4/5. The poor quality of the transfer merits a rent, not a buy.

The film itself was clever given Kevin's ingenious use of toys and every-day household items to overcome the burglars. It's also endearing, as he is only 8, and already "grown up" in many ways (grocery shopping, discussion with older man in church, and his interactions with his family). I felt the first 3/4 of the movie was not very engaging, or particularly funny, unfortunately. The last 15 minutes were the most entertaining, and the arrival of the rest of the family were heartfelt. Overall a nice holiday themed movie, but nothing outstanding here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars excellent film, poor DVD, November 25, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Home Alone (DVD)
I purchased what was labeled a Widescreen (16x9 aspect ratio )DVD of Home Alone.
What I received was a 4x3 version with the top and bottom of the frame chopped off.
I was able to verify this with my 4x3 VHS tape version of Home Alone. The transfer to DVD was so poor it had barely a sharper picture than my VHS.
It's a shame such a fine film should be butchered for what is otherwise a decent medium.
It's bad enough that the left and right side of the frame is chopped off for the 4x3 version and most widescreen versions with an aspect ratio of 1.85:1, but to further cut off the top and bottom is a disgrace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware-very poor picture quality on DVD, November 16, 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Chattanooga, TN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Home Alone (DVD)
This is a great movie. We always watch it around the holidays. However, the picture quality on this DVD is terrible. I think the VHS version is better. They should really go back and redo the digital version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible resolution, December 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Home Alone (DVD)
Is this a counterfeit DVD? The resolution and audio are terrible. There is a green line through the right side of the screen. Buyer beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Holiday Movie, August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is old, but is a requirement for anyone to watch during the holidays. Great Pranks and Great Lessons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 298 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Home Alone
Home Alone by Chris Columbus (DVD - 1999)
$14.98 $6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.