Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Entertainment Collectibles Outdoor Deals on DOTD

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

  • List Price: $28.95
  • Save: $1.51 (5%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Home and Away (California... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: While this book has been loved by someone else, they left it in great condition. Hurry and buy it before someone else does and take advantage of our FREE Super Saver Shipping!!! (there is a chance this book could contain a gift inscription)
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Home and Away (California Fiction) Paperback – October 1, 1998

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
"Please retry"
$5.00 $1.19
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

Kindle BF
Nicholas Sparks and Kristen Ashley Best Sellers, $1.99 and Up
Today only, several books by best-selling authors Nicholas Sparks and Kristen Ashley are $1.99 and up on Kindle. Learn more
$27.44 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process. Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Take an Extra 30% Off Any Book: Use promo code HOLIDAY30 at checkout to get an extra 30% off any book for a limited time. Excludes Kindle eBooks and Audible Audiobooks. Restrictions apply. Learn more | Shop now

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Hedy Gallagher Castle measures out the days of this story by the calendar of the Persian Gulf War and the schedule of her daughter's high school basketball team. These two "home and away" battles create a rich metaphorical backdrop for Hedy's own struggle to find her own center. Married for 19 years to Ward Castle, two-time world record-holder in speed skiing, Hedy has been raising 15-year-old basketball star Jen singlehandedly while Ward has flitted as far as Grenoble in search of a comeback 140-mph record. Responsible also for her stroke-damaged father, Hedy works at the I-80 California border station, dispassionately disposing of fruits and ferrets in a vigilant effort to keep the state pest-free. When her daughter's best friend becomes pregnant and her coach is accused of lesbianism, Hedy is pressed to take a slightly sitcommish stand in the face of small-town fundamentalism, which Meschery ( In a High Place ) portrays via a laugh-out-loud description of the hamstrung Family Life Education committee. Hedy is slower to own up to her views on marriage and her love affair with sportswriter Pink Lindstrom, a liaison that keeps the reader turning pages as fast as the account of the final basketball game. Crackling with humor and pathos, this is a thoroughly satisfying read.
Copyright 1994 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From Library Journal

The publishers correctly describe this as a novel that will appeal to fans of Anna Quindlen; Meschery has the same interest in discovering how to maintain relationships in a world where long-cherished rules no longer apply. Hedy is juggling many roles: working woman, community participant, minister's daughter, athlete's wife, and mother of a teenage girl. She tends the needs of her absentee husband, who is off pursuing stardom; her father, whose mind has fallen victim to a stroke; and her daughter, who is struggling with basketball, scandals, and betrayal. She is fighting her conscience over the affair she is having and fighting her own kind of people, devout Christians, who are tearing the community apart, using religion as an instrument of hate. The crisis in her marriage and her life builds with the rhythm of her daughter's basketball season. Hedy is a wonderfully realized character: warm, funny, intelligent, and confused. This book belongs in serious fiction and popular fiction collections alike.
- Marylaine Block, St. Ambrose Univ. Lib., Davenport, Ia.
Copyright 1994 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Hero Quick Promo
Holiday Deals in Kindle Books
Save up to 85% on more than 1,000 Kindle Books. These deals are valid until November 30, 2015. Learn more

Product Details

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Home and Away (California Fiction)
This item: Home and Away (California Fiction)
Price: $27.44
Ships from and sold by