Qty:1
  • List Price: $28.95
  • Save: $4.33 (15%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: While this book has been loved by someone else, they left it in great condition. Hurry and buy it before someone else does and take advantage of our FREE Super Saver Shipping!!! (there is a chance this book could contain a gift inscription)
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Home and Away (California Fiction) Paperback – October 1, 1998


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$24.62
$0.15 $0.14
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
$46.00
Best%20Books%20of%202014
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
12 Days of Kindle Book Deals
Load your library with Amazon's editors' picks, $2.99 or less each today only. Learn more

Product Details


Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Hedy Gallagher Castle measures out the days of this story by the calendar of the Persian Gulf War and the schedule of her daughter's high school basketball team. These two "home and away" battles create a rich metaphorical backdrop for Hedy's own struggle to find her own center. Married for 19 years to Ward Castle, two-time world record-holder in speed skiing, Hedy has been raising 15-year-old basketball star Jen singlehandedly while Ward has flitted as far as Grenoble in search of a comeback 140-mph record. Responsible also for her stroke-damaged father, Hedy works at the I-80 California border station, dispassionately disposing of fruits and ferrets in a vigilant effort to keep the state pest-free. When her daughter's best friend becomes pregnant and her coach is accused of lesbianism, Hedy is pressed to take a slightly sitcommish stand in the face of small-town fundamentalism, which Meschery ( In a High Place ) portrays via a laugh-out-loud description of the hamstrung Family Life Education committee. Hedy is slower to own up to her views on marriage and her love affair with sportswriter Pink Lindstrom, a liaison that keeps the reader turning pages as fast as the account of the final basketball game. Crackling with humor and pathos, this is a thoroughly satisfying read.
Copyright 1994 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From Library Journal

The publishers correctly describe this as a novel that will appeal to fans of Anna Quindlen; Meschery has the same interest in discovering how to maintain relationships in a world where long-cherished rules no longer apply. Hedy is juggling many roles: working woman, community participant, minister's daughter, athlete's wife, and mother of a teenage girl. She tends the needs of her absentee husband, who is off pursuing stardom; her father, whose mind has fallen victim to a stroke; and her daughter, who is struggling with basketball, scandals, and betrayal. She is fighting her conscience over the affair she is having and fighting her own kind of people, devout Christians, who are tearing the community apart, using religion as an instrument of hate. The crisis in her marriage and her life builds with the rhythm of her daughter's basketball season. Hedy is a wonderfully realized character: warm, funny, intelligent, and confused. This book belongs in serious fiction and popular fiction collections alike.
- Marylaine Block, St. Ambrose Univ. Lib., Davenport, Ia.
Copyright 1994 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers