Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it blink-182 Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars35
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 3, 2000
Home Fires is the first Luanne Rice book I have read and I know that after finishing this wonderful book, I will now be seeking to devour all of her other books!!
Ms. Rice writes from the heart concerning what matters most in a family - love, tenderness and caring. She writes of tragedy and loss that will have you weeping but by the end of this book, you are smiling with joy at the realization of love and hope in this family in the midst of all of the tragedy.
I absolutely loved the tenderness, understanding, and compassion in the character of Thomas Devlin - (yes, Thomas, where are you? :-)). I admired the strength and courage in Anne Davis after the recent loss of her four-year-old daughter. She draws the reader completely into the depth of each character, from young to old, and you feel like you know them intimately and can relate to them all. You experience their pain, grief, and uncertainty and mourn their losses. Rice's ability to magically draw on the emotions and real life scenarios of family life is really amazing.
This book's message is indeed one of hope, trust and love. Luanne Rice lets you know that amidst the chaos of tragedy, love can find roots, grow sprouts, and blossom gloriously again - one just has to trust and let love in.
I love to see this book made into a movie! I highly recommend this wonderful book and eagerly look forward to reading more of her books!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 18, 2004
This must have been the beginning of the realization of the talent of Luanne Rice. Written 10 years ago, this book is a tiny bit dated already in that there are no use of cell phones, but overall the book is an emotional read that is hard to put down.

Anne Davis is still reeling from the death of her four-year-old daughter and the abandonment by her husband when she returns to the island home where she was raised. She hasn't been there very long when a fire breaks out. Anne escapes to safety but rushes back into the house to retrieve something. What is it that she would risk her life to save? Fireman Thomas Devlin risks his own life to save Anne who is uninjured. Somewhat of a recluse, Thomas has been living on the island after having been unable to safe his own wife in a fire in which he was terribly scarred.

Despite accusing looks from those who think she was responsible for her daughter's death, Anne settles into island life where she is close to her sister Gabrielle and her niece, Maggie, a teenager who is on her own downward spiral.

Soon both the woman who is scarred on the inside and the man who is scarred on the outside find themselves attracted to one another.

This is a short (312-page) book so it is hard to write more without including spoilers. But suffice to say, things do not always go smoothly for Thomas and Anne. In addition, Anne is mentoring her niece Maggie, who is constantly being tempted to continue a life that will take her right into the hands of danger.

Thomas is one of the most gentle, sweetest men ever. His love and consideration and respect for Anne is almost palpable. Anne's pain over losing her daughter is equally as palpable. One begins to wonder though if they will ever be able to find a future together, especially with Anne's contrite husband back in the picture.

Luanne Rice has written an unforgettable novel set on the New England coast which is sure to make my top 10 of the year; I can't believe I didn't read it earlier.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 1999
I have read "Blue Moon" and "Stone Heart" by Luanne Rice and found "Home Fires" just as interesting. I loved following the relationship between Tom & Anne. I love how Luanne Rice writes about romance but also about family. Her books are interesting and hard to put down. I am currently reading "Cloud Nine" and look forward to finding some of her out-of-print titles. If you are looking for a good read on a cool night, on the beach or a rainy day I suggest "Home Fires" or any other Luanne Rice book.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 1998
Homefires is probably the best book I have read about the dynamics of family and death. The reader is able to feel the devestation of Anne Davis and examine the life of lonely Thomas Devlin. Rice draws these two, very complicated characters together in a rather unique relationship. It is at this point that Homefires delivers certain reality...Devlin's son, Ned, must deal with his feelings about Anne. Anne's sister must work through the issues of her own family...and the envy of her sister. Added to this mix of mourning, jealousy, pride, and anger is Anne's troubled niece Maggie. Only in reality would one see a story of this magnitude played out. LuAnne Rice does a lovely job showing how each character takes on his or her own personal demons. I recommend Homefires to any reader.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2000
Not for nothing is fire frequently referred to as cleansing; through the centuries it has frequently been used to cauterize wounds and prevent infection. Of course, it can also destroy.
Fire is the catalyst that brings together Anne Davis, a young woman who is mourning the death of her four year old daughter, and Thomas Devlin, the firefighter whose wife died in the fire that has left horrible scars on his face and body. Anne has returned to the home on an island off the coast of Connecticut in which she and her sister Gabrielle were born and raised.
Anne left the island, married well, and became a famous jet-setting artist and mother. Gabrielle, resentful of Anne's success, stayed on the island, married not-so-well, began a catering business and also became a mother. Gabrielle's daughter, Maggie, now a teenager, is drawn into a group of rebellious kids, doing things she doesn't want to do with people she doesn't even like very much.
Anne's husband Mark, who had begun an affair shortly before the death of their daughter, has come to realize that he wants Anne back again. She however, has learned to love the damaged Thomas. Gabrielle, who has been jealous of Anne all their lives, is brought up sharply by a hard fact; the more you have, the more you have to lose.
HOME FIRES is a sweeping story of love and loss, of life and acceptance of the hand we're dealt. The characters area convincing and believable, and the plot could easily be today's headlines or tomorrow's movie-of-the week.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2014
I have lost track of how many books that I have read by Luanne Ross. She never ceases to amaze me and has the talented ability to allow the reader to conjure up memories and feelings that the characters are experiencing. Home Fires is such a tender story and beautifully walks you through grief and then joy. Highly recommended for a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2000
After a disapointing introduction to the novels of Ms. Rice with"Blue Moon" (characters so uninspiring I did not read past the third chapter), I was magically transported to the world of "Home Fires" within it's first pages. Ms. Rice's writing conveyed the exquisite agony of a mother's loss of her child. Thomas Devlin, the physically and emotionally wounded male protagonist is so fully realized I believed I could feel his scars. Characters who despite their traumas, prevail and inspire.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2012
"Home Fires" is a story about love, heartache, and second chances. I felt that this book moved very slowly unntil close to the end. Then, Maggie chose to joyride with her friends instead of obeying her parents. This episode was by far the high point of the story, building up to a very predictable conclusion. Rather disappointing!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 2, 2005
Anne Davis has returned to her childhood home off the coast of Connecticut to mourn the loss of her daughter and break up of her marriage, when she awakens to find her home consumed in flames. When she returns back to the burning home to retrieve the prized possessions of her daughter, a heroic fireman rescues her.

The firefighter, Thomas Devlin is disfigured, having suffered extensive burns in a fire that took the life of his wife 11 years earlier. He's led a solitary life since then and treated at arm's length by many townspeople due to his appearance. Chance encounters on the island bring Thomas and Anne together, and in each other they find understanding, solace, and then love. The townspeople don't understand why a woman and beautiful as Anne would waste her time on a wounded soul as Thomas.

Forces outside their control threaten to destroy their new love, including his son Ned, who is distraught that his father was able to save Anne but not his own mother; Anne's sister Gabrielle, who has always been jealous of Anne's jet set life with her sexy and successful husband; and Matt, the estranged husband who betrayed then let her down in her time of need, only to want a reconciliation when she has finally managed to pick up and move on.

A secondary love story involving Anne's ne'er-do-well niece Maggie and Ned plays a key role in the plot, as Maggie struggles to leave behind her friends to forge a new future for herself.

"Home Fires" was one of the more tender romance novels by author Rice. In Thomas, she has created a compassionate and caring hero who scarred but willing to take another chance on love.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
This story is one that stays with you. From the opening of a mother running into a burning house to a young daughter running toward a window, sweeping images that still give me chills as I write this. This a story of a mother recovering from grief from losing a child. She develops a relationship with a man that has been scarred from a fire. Their story builds tenderly as you care deeply for these two characters that are trying to find their place, life and love in the world.I still recall a mushroom soup recipe (description probably) that still stays with me. The simple things. If you haven't read this one, you must! Especially if you are a Luanne Rice fan. My top 5 out of the 26 I have read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.