Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for Home Recording For Musicians for Dummies
This book is very informative. From beginner to advanced it covers all you need to know about setting up a home studio for your musical interest. Whatever style of music your creating, from hip hop to new age, Home Recording For Musicians for Dummies gets you up and running. You will learn the basic types of equipment you need to get you started on your projects saving...
Published 20 months ago by Charlie Watson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction, but partially dated.
Beware: this book was written and published circa 2011. While it isn't out of touch, it isn't in touch with the current technology and programs. Much of the technical info (a small portion of the text) is now old, since the programs and computers have evolved so fast. It almost seems written in 2011 by a person still relating to experiences from 2005.

Aside...
Published 3 months ago by Stephen Ressel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for Home Recording For Musicians for Dummies, March 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Home Recording For Musicians For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is very informative. From beginner to advanced it covers all you need to know about setting up a home studio for your musical interest. Whatever style of music your creating, from hip hop to new age, Home Recording For Musicians for Dummies gets you up and running. You will learn the basic types of equipment you need to get you started on your projects saving you time and money by avoiding purchasing equipment that can be added on to later. No more confusion from trying how to figure out how to get the best sound from your equipment. Home Recording For Musicians for Dummies is a bridge that takes your creative ideas from your imagination to professional quality recordings ready to market. This book is a must read for anyone that is serious about their musical creations. Definitely five star !!! I love it. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good., April 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Home Recording For Musicians For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is broken down to easily understandable answers to questions that anybody could have about home recording. I would recommend this book to anybody who would like answers in an easy to understand format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Written in Language that novices can understand, February 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Home Recording For Musicians For Dummies (Paperback)
Well written with heaps of information for home recording musician novices..... exactly what the book is about. Jeff writes with a great sense of humor also. Recommended to all my collegues. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction, but partially dated., August 10, 2014
By 
Stephen Ressel (North Dakota, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Home Recording For Musicians For Dummies (Paperback)
Beware: this book was written and published circa 2011. While it isn't out of touch, it isn't in touch with the current technology and programs. Much of the technical info (a small portion of the text) is now old, since the programs and computers have evolved so fast. It almost seems written in 2011 by a person still relating to experiences from 2005.

Aside from that, this book has a lot of very useful information on how to set up inexpensive recording studios, how to approach projects, how to sculpt sound for a professional outcome. This primer on the nuts-n-bolts of music/sound production is what every beginner should be familiar with. If you are moderately experience, or you've studied recording thoroughly, you will probably be bored by the basic information in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, December 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Home Recording For Musicians For Dummies (Paperback)
Basic info I MUCH needed, easy to understand! The only minor issue is that it primarily dealt with modern computer-based recording. I use 16-track ANALOG equipment. A book on THAT would be nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recording tips that others do not give you., April 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Home Recording For Musicians For Dummies (Paperback)
I always buy these books for dummies, I learn more from them than reading one from a professional standpoint, I have really have gotten a few tips on Recording and have already recorded one song with the help of several other Dummy Books.. Great little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right to the point, March 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Home Recording For Musicians For Dummies (Paperback)
Easy reading. I've read other books on home recording and this book to me is a must have for your library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read., March 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is very clear and informative and easy to understand. I really enjoyed ready this book. I Definetly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent instructional book, November 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Home Recording For Musicians For Dummies (Paperback)
This book has helped me join the 21 century in audio recording. My background was in analog recording. I am working on my own CD now of original music. This has helped me learn more quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, October 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great book for beginners gets you up and running cover most of what you need to know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Home Recording For Musicians For Dummies
Home Recording For Musicians For Dummies by Jeff Strong (Paperback - November 8, 2011)
Used & New from: $7.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.