Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Drowners Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 9, 2012
This is a great family movie! Not sure why it didn't get a wider theater release! Story was sweet, the kid actors are incredible! Especially Kyle Thomas, he's a very cute kid and his potrayal is tender and sweet! Very convincing. I will definitely be giving this as a gift this Christmas!!
Highly recommend!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2015
Beware that this is not a family film per-se like The Sandlot or Goonies. This is more in the vein of Bad News Bears, so if you are easily offended
by foul language, and don't want your kids to hear any, (as if that is possible in this day and age), stay away. As for me, I was surprised at how
realistic this film was in many ways. The adults acted like they are adults, not caricatures, and the lead boy, about 11, was confident in front of
the camera, and an excellent athlete. This also has some political agendas, which as a democrat, I found agreeable, but if you are a conservative
that admires the Tea Party, again, avoid this film.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon September 1, 2012
This was a fun family movie that reminds me some of the bad news bears (at least in some ways), but really is a story of determination to overcome adversity not only for the character of Lorenzo, but also for Joey DeLuca. Both have a journey that as a viewer of the movie you get to see and experience and it is through this journey that they grow and learn. The movie was fun, but also had a number of meaningful messages within it that brought out some great conversations within my home after we watched it as a family, and it can do the same for your own family. Good acting and character development throughout, which led to a movie that I am proud to have shared with the family!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2015
“Home Run Showdown” displays competent acting, direction and cinematography. It also has a suitable soundtrack, but its lack of focus and originality make it insubstantial. Thematically, its scattershot approach keeps any lesson from being effectively driven home. It even strangely tries to squeeze in a political message about immigration. It is often entertaining but ephemeral. I think younger viewers will enjoy it, but it doesn’t have enough for other members of the family. Some parents will want to pass because of some occasional vulgarities.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2013
I enjoyed the movie,but, i wish they had explaned more of why Michelle was so overprotective over her son.
But, for me, its rated PG-13, there was language not just by some of the adults, but the kids as well. But, with that being said, i did enjoy the movie, but, its in the spirit of Badnews Bears and Mighty Ducks, so, it would be better for older kids.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2016
I loved this movie! Sometimes it's the little movies you stumble upon that bring the most satisfaction. This is the perfect family movie. The writing is funny and engaging, the characters touching, and there's even a little romance. Matthew Lillard seems to have found a part made just for him. He's known for playing lovable slackers and Joey is no different. He and Annabeth Gish have great chemistry and provide a comical romantic flair. There is something in this for the entire family! The kids are great too! My favorite was Tanker. He's a hoot!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2013
This is a good kids movie. Shows them what can be accomplished with determination and the right push. It shows how good wins in spite of the circumstances. The two Coach brothers eventually mend their differences and it ends well. I didn't find much bad language any more tah they hear at school. I prefer it when Dean Cain plays the good part but he still did great in his part.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2013
Story about two brothers who have competed against each other their whole life. The lead character (boy) played a great role in pursuing his dream of being on TV so his father in prision could see him play was a good storyline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2014
Well acted, enjoyable story, wholesome family viewing! Held our interest throughout with dynamic tension. I would recommend this film to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2015
Great movie & catchy song on the menu! It's going to be an alright day!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.