A Home by the Sea (Summer Island Book 2) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$3.75
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Acceptable | Details
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: Fast Shipping - Safe and Secure Bubble Mailer!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

A Home by the Sea (Hqn) Mass Market Paperback – October 18, 2011


See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$3.01 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
Best%20Books%20of%202014
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Year
Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

Product Details

  • Series: Hqn
  • Mass Market Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: HQN Books (October 18, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 9780373776085
  • ISBN-13: 978-0373776085
  • ASIN: 037377608X
  • Product Dimensions: 4.2 x 1 x 6.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 4.8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (35 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #995,921 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Complex and multi-faceted...Skye has written one finely crafted, very romantic love story." --Publishers Weekly on Bride of the Mist

About the Author

Christina Skye loves a good adventure. Living in Arizona gives her plenty of room to practice target shooting and to trek off-road on her motorcycle, researching the details for stories rich with “snappy dialogue” and an unerring ability to keep “the narrative energy high and the pacing swift” (Publishers Weekly). With over two million books in print, her novels appear regularly on national bestseller lists. Visit her online at www.christinaskye.com.

More About the Author

The New York Times bestselling author of 36 novels, 7 novellas and one audio story still writes longhand.

Usually when her characters refuse to behave.

She came to writing late. Once she realized that she could not become the heir to a small European mountain kingdom, writing seemed like the next best thing. She is a pushover for Harris tweed, Scottish cashmere, Shanghai street dumplings, French macarons and dark chocolate.

Not always in that order.

After receiving her doctorate in classical Chinese literature, she traveled for five crazy years, working as a writer, translator and consultant to travel magazines, national tourist agencies, importers, apparel companies and museums, including the National Geographic Society, the Asia Society and the American Museum of Natural History, spending most of that time in Asia. Her mileage points were awesome.

Then the travel got old.

In 1990 she sold her first novel in six days. Since then she has written five different series for six different publishers. She has appeared on ABC Worldwide News, Travel News Network, the Arthur Frommer Show, Geraldo, Voice of America, Looking East, and Good Morning, Arizona.

In 2013 her contemporary, The Accidental Bride, was chosen as one of the ten best romance novels of the year by prestigious Booklist Magazine.

"Rich with realistically complex characters and subtle wit, the latest addition to Skye's Summer Island series is as warm and comforting as a well-knit afghan. Skye perfectly captures the feel and appeal of small-town life, and this sweetly satisfying romance is an excellent read-alikes suggestion for fans of Debbie Macomber's Cedar Cove series or Robyn Carr's Virgin River books."
~John Charles, Booklist

The book also received a reviewer's choice award from Romantic Times Magazine.

She is currently at work on a New Adult paranormal series and will be releasing five books in her new Brides Club contemporary series based in her popular Summer Island world set on the ruggedly beautiful Oregon coast.

Christina loves to cook, knit on big needles, drink tea, collect vintage scarves and uncover odd historical tidbits that she can weave into her storylines.

Visit her online at christinaskye.com for a glimpse into new books, strange research tidbits, great recipes and some of her all-time favorite knitting patterns.

Customer Reviews

Too much totally contrived crap.
Eiram
In addition, Noah is working with his bomb disposal team on a dangerous assignment that is keeping him very busy for an extended period.
Michele L.
OR read the book slowly to savor every moment.
Yarn addict

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful By Michele L. on November 1, 2011
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Life isn't always fair, and Grace just found that out. Grace Lindstrom, a cute woman with sparkle, is slowly picking up the pieces of her life. She has a job she loves, where she researches food that takes her to exotic locales. She hasn't seen her fiancé, friends or grandfather in a long while with her hectic life, and she misses them dearly. Life deals her a double whammy when her fiancé, a UN negotiator, is killed in a plane crash. Then later, she finds out from a couple different sources that he was a cheating scoundrel. Her heart is shattered into a million pieces. He is a rat, but she still mourns his death. Will she be able to trust a man again or even open her hurting heart to love?

Fate blows in a humdinger of a man, top-secret bomb disposal expert Noah McKay, who is a striking, mysterious man with a sincere heart and immense patience. It is a stroke of good luck one cold blustery night when Noah makes the acquaintance of Grace. He has yearned for a woman just like her to complete his life. Only one thing stops him from getting to close to a woman and that is his profession. He never completely divulges to anyone the details of his job, afraid of their reactions to it and since it is top security, he is not allowed to talk about it at all. Will this girl be the one to accept him for who he is and what he does?

Noah's family worries about him all of the time. His brother who was in the same profession wasn't so lucky. The whole family was devastated when he died, especially Noah's mom. She is still trying to cope with loss of her son, and it hasn't been easy. Family means everything to Noah, and he loves his parents.

The winds of life blow in unexpected directions and unfortunately separate Noah and Grace.
Read more ›
4 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Harriet Klausner #1 HALL OF FAME on October 18, 2011
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Although she has never moved on beyond the death of her fiancé in a plane crash, Grace Lindstrom has buried herself in her job as she travels the world to write about food. However, she has an opportunity in DC that the international gourmet historian cannot ignore though it means remaining in one place.

Military explosives detachment specialist Noah McLeod is fortunate not to have been splattered with his latest bomb disposal. He and Grace meet at a dumpster where someone discarded kittens. They are attracted to each other, but he knows he cannot offer her what he believes she deserves. However, when her beloved grandpa takes a bad fall that has left him with amnesia, Grace heads home to the Oregon barrier isle Summer Island to care for him while he heals. Her departure is a wake up call for Noah who knows life without his Grace would be unbearably lonely.

This is an entertaining contemporary romance starring two likable individuals who fall in love but each believes they have no long term future together. Although several support characters detract from the overall engaging sequel to Christina Skye's entry to The Knitting Diaries anthology (see Return to Summer Island), fans will enjoy this return to the Oregon coast.

Harriet Klausner
5 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful By Leah Irish on February 3, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
***SPOILERS** I normally don't write reviews, but I felt that I wanted to say something about "A Home by the Sea." I was fully prepared to love this book. In the first few pages, I thought Noah's character was developing nicely and had some layers. Then, the story fizzled out. I enjoyed Grace's character also, but none of the others were truly fleshed out. The story had branches upon branches and no conclusions. What happened with Matt's wife and daughter? Does Noah's mother really talk to Matt's ghost? What about Grace's stalker-photographer? Grace's new job? Why would a US bomb expert be reassigned to France? Why was a whole new set of characters introduced on the island halfway through the book? I couldn't come to care about any of them because we'd never heard of them up until this point. Was the earthquake really necessary, when there was already so much drama and turmoil? I felt as though the author should have sharpened her focus with this book - because I was so bogged down in the wide cast of characters, soap-opera-esque complexity, and myriad plot holes that I just couldn't focus on Grace & Noah's relationship. A good attempt, but I probably won't be reading Ms. Skye's books the next time I'm looking for a light romance.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Abi 1 on November 3, 2012
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
After Grace Lindstrom discovers her now deacesed fiance' is not who she thought he was, she withdraws from everyone and everything. She has lost the most valuable thing, trust. Noah McKay is a man haunted by guilt. He lost his younger brother in an accident he believes he could and should have prevented. One of the shadow heros that keep the citizens of the USA safe, Noah leads a very dangerous professional life.

A blizzard, a chance meeting and a family of abandoned pets bring the two people together. Thus begins an attraction that keeps both of them drawing closer together. Then Grace's beloved grandfather is hospitalized and she is called home to Summer Island. Giving up a career oportunity of a life-time, Grace goes home to find out what happened to her grandfather and to get him back on his feet.

Noah comes to visit. then life becomes complicated with old friends who draw Grace into a new career opportunity, her grandfather is in worse condition than she expected, and an earthquake strikes the island.

This is a great story and very well developed. You meet old friends again and the new characters are well worth knowing. The suspense and intrigue is light and the story is gentle. Well worth reading!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?