Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Thinking Man's Boxing Film
I would rank "Homeboy" along with "Body & Soul" (starring John Garfield),"Rocky" (the first one), "Raging Bull" and "Peniteniary" as one of the best boxing films ever made. A very moody, dark film that is well acted and directed. Mickey Rourke is at the top of his game in this one.
Published on January 25, 1999

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Sweeter Gentler Mickey Rourke
As a simple cowboy, who knows nothing but throwing punches in the ring and taking orders, Rourke is compelling as a man who just wants to help a young woman and be near her goodness. Christopher Walken as a petty criminal trying to score has some good dialogues many young actors might want to study to see just how it's done.
Published 15 months ago by Eve Galewitz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Thinking Man's Boxing Film, January 25, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Homeboy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I would rank "Homeboy" along with "Body & Soul" (starring John Garfield),"Rocky" (the first one), "Raging Bull" and "Peniteniary" as one of the best boxing films ever made. A very moody, dark film that is well acted and directed. Mickey Rourke is at the top of his game in this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... a moment of light, September 5, 2009
This review is from: Homeboy (DVD)
This film may not be everyone's cup-of-tea, but I highly reccomend it. Sure, its dark and painful but it also shows a moment of light coming to a broken soul. Mickey Rourke's performance is incredibly risky and unusual. He plays an aging alcoholic, possibly brain damaged boxer who's practically mute. Rourke wrote the screen play (under the name, Eddie Cook) but the lead character he portrays has probably no more than a page of dialogue - he's able to deliver a heartbreaking perfomance almost solely through his incredible physical presence. This is the performance that Bob Dylan raved about in his book "Chronicles" and although it ended up being nothing like what I imagined, it is so profoundly moving and poetic that its continued to haunt me. I found it even better on the second viewing. Like, "The Wrestler" it draws certain elements from Rourke's life (in this case, his childhood) but its also quite different in how it achieves its effect. If one expects to see the Rourke charm as displayed in "The Pope Of Greenwich Village" or even in "The Wrestler" one may be disappointed. "Homeboy" is about a character almost totally cut off from the world. I've heard people say its filled with boxing cliches but the reality is that it takes those cliches and turns them on their head. There's no struggle for respect or redemption with cheering crowds and triumphant music. This film is like a blues and thats one reason that Eric Clapton's soulful score works so well. Another great performance by Mickey Rourke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent soundtrack from Clapton and Kamen., January 20, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Homeboy (Audio CD)
This is a great CD! This collection of themes from the Mickey Rourke film "Homeboy" has no Clapton vocals, but some of his best film music work, in my opinion. The "Ruby" themes are beautiful acoustic guitar work and then Clapton and bassist Nathan East do an electric "Dixie" that is reminiscent of the famous Jimi Hendrix "Star Spangled Banner"... A definite "must have" for those who appreciate Clapton's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sun, February 1, 2009
By 
Bud Gonzalez (Park Ridge, Il.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Homeboy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A quote from Bob Dylan about Mickey Rourke in Homeboy, "He could break your heart with a look. The movie traveled to the moon every time he came onto the screen. Nobody could hold a candle to him. He was just there, didn't have to say hello or goodbye."

An amazing performance by Mickey Rourke. I hope this is turned into a DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A boxing film that transcends the genre., June 18, 2001
By 
John O'Brien (Troy, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Homeboy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
In his portrayal of a journeyman pugilist in Homeboy, Mickey Rourke approaches perfection as a character actor. His implementation of subtle affectation (slurred speech, shuffling gate, slight facial contortion) coupled with an exceptional script result in a perfect rendering of the over-damaged boxer, Johnny Walker. The film follows Walker's misguided and abortive return to boxing, and the two characters he slowly gravitates towards...his affable but exploitative manager, expertly played by Christopher Walken, and the unassuming and subtly beautiful carnival worker who becomes his romantic interest played by Debra Feuer.
The boxing sequences in the film are exquisitely realistic, and are a notable contrast to the 120 punches/round with 90% connection type that litter the average boxing film. Rourke's experience as a four-round light-heavyweight is invaluable here, as the natural rhythms of an experienced boxer are expertly captured without the amateurishness that non-boxing actors invariably display. The film transcends the boxing movie genre by providing truly engrossing character studies in concert with the action sequences. Walken's anti-hero character is a compelling fusion of conflicting components. Feuer's solitary character slowly becomes more accessible and identifiable as the film progresses. Her relationship with Johnny is especially notable in its tangible sincerity and its contrasting lack of the usual carnal component.
The ensemble cast is superb, especially Ruben Blades as a back alley physician. Clapton's score is excellent. Michael Seresin captures the gritty Blue Horizon-type boxing atmosphere admirably. The film is absolutely without equal in its genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Sweeter Gentler Mickey Rourke, March 28, 2013
By 
Eve Galewitz (Connecticut, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Homeboy (Amazon Instant Video)
As a simple cowboy, who knows nothing but throwing punches in the ring and taking orders, Rourke is compelling as a man who just wants to help a young woman and be near her goodness. Christopher Walken as a petty criminal trying to score has some good dialogues many young actors might want to study to see just how it's done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Review of Homeboy, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Homeboy (Amazon Instant Video)
FANTASTIC! FANTASTIC! FANTASTIC! FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!l LOVED IT. WOULD RECOMMEND THIS FOR EVERYONE! MICKEY ROURKE IS ALWAYS OUTSTANDING AND NEVER DISAPPOINTS! DON'T MISS THIS ONE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Typical of the Genre, May 5, 2012
By 
Eric Sanberg (Berwyn, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Homeboy (DVD)
Other reviewers have referred to this as a boxing movie. Though boxing is a large part of it, I would consider it more of a character study.

Here's the scoop. Mickey Rourke is Johnny Walker, a punch drunk club boxer who heads to Atlantic City to pick up a couple of fights. Chris Walken, a small time hood on parole, takes an interest in Johnny and thinks they can do good things together. Johnny takes a liking to a young lady who owns a broken down carnival. Can these people find what they're looking for?

These are some interesting characters. One could consider Rourke an innocent. He can't talk to women. He doesn't know what a Jew is. He acts out impulsively. He's like a little kid, but he hopes to win a big fight. Walken thinks he's bigger than he is. He dresses garishly. Has a crappy singing act he performs in a strip club. But he wants bigger and better things and wants to make a big score. The young girl just wants to return the carnival to it's former glory and see it as she remembered it as a kid. This is a bleak existence set in an ugly town. It shows the boxing game as brutal and uncaring. Most of the people involved are bottom feeders using humans as ash trays.

It's directed and acted well. Rourke is very good and has very few lines. It's all in his look and body language. This was not an easy role to pull off. Walken is....well....Walken. I like him but you've seen this before. The other characters do a stand-up job. Many have noted the music score by Eric Clapton and Mark Kamen. It is outstanding. It just fits right in. Some might question the ending. There's much to question, but I can't say I didn't like it.

I don't want to say this is a great movie. It's a very singular vision. But it's well worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I CALL THIS FILM A DRAW, July 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Homeboy (DVD)
This film is somewhat formulaic in that it
tries to balance the good and the bad amongst
our protagonist.
Unfortunately our "hero" is a man of few words.
He instead is allowed to let a shrug, or distant
look to take the place of dialogue. Personally,
this does not do it for me.
The side story with Christopher Walken is weak
and does not add to the story in a significant way.
Personally, I am considering offering this DVD to
my local library, though I'll probably give it one
more viewing for good luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST BUY, December 15, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Homeboy (DVD)
another GREAT Rourke performance that shows he's one of THE best. order the DVD from Amazon. you need this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Homeboy
Homeboy by Michael Seresin
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.