Customer Reviews


944 Reviews
5 star:
 (455)
4 star:
 (280)
3 star:
 (131)
2 star:
 (41)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


104 of 108 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CRAZY WAITING TO HAPPEN
Phil Broker (Jason Statham) is a former NARC who must now lay low due to getting the son of a crime boss killed. He is living in Louisiana which allows them to use a better soundtrack and crazy characters. His wife has passed on, he has a daughter Maddy (Izabela Vidovic) and a wanna be formulaic relationship with school counselor Susan Hatch(Rachelle Lefevre). He draws...
Published 10 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
Homefront is about a former DEA agent (Statham) who moves his family to a quiet town after a tough undercover operation that leaves a bad taste in his mouth but soon finds trouble with the locals.

Although the story does have its flaws and some improbable moments that push the plot along (such as Gator finding the offical file of Broker in a box at his house),...
Published 6 months ago by JWink


‹ Previous | 1 295 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

104 of 108 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CRAZY WAITING TO HAPPEN, December 21, 2013
This review is from: Homefront (DVD)
Phil Broker (Jason Statham) is a former NARC who must now lay low due to getting the son of a crime boss killed. He is living in Louisiana which allows them to use a better soundtrack and crazy characters. His wife has passed on, he has a daughter Maddy (Izabela Vidovic) and a wanna be formulaic relationship with school counselor Susan Hatch(Rachelle Lefevre). He draws attention to himself while trying to live with a low profile, attention that endangers the life of both him and his daughter.

As art imitates life, James Franco plays the crazy bad guy and Winona Ryder his trashy girlfriend.

This is one of the better Statham films I have seen. It includes the usual tough guy talk, fighting, killings, chase scenes, and explosions. It also includes a colorful support cast with Kate Bosworth and Marcus Hester as realistic people. Bosworth was a pistol.

Worth seeing for fans of action films.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, garage sex, no nudity. Deals with meth manufacture and use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Playground Bullying Escalates!, December 19, 2013
This review is from: Homefront (DVD)
According to English journalist Christopher Booker, there are only seven basic plots, but screenwriter Sylvester Stallone ("Rambo" and "Rocky") uses my favorite one (Overcoming the Monster). He gives us someone to root for and then puts that individual in jeopardy.

After establishing our hero's credibility as an undercover agent for an alphabet soup of agencies, this non-stop actioner gets started with a simple little case of grade-school bullying which results in a fist fight; the families quickly escalate the situation and from there on, the action rarely lets up.

We watch:
* Jason Statham ("The Transporter") A mystified local cop thinks maybe Phil Broker is in the Witness Protection Program...or something. He clearly is NOT a run-of-the-mill local yokel in the small Southern hamlet where he and his daughter have settled.
* Izabela Vidovic (Lots of TV) is his daughter Maddy, who, miracle of miracles, does NOT trip and fall when being chased, is resourceful and clever, and knows how to stick up for herself.
* James Franco ("Oz the Great and Powerful") is Gator, a down- home bad boy with a hi-tech meth lab that will be his ticket to the big time.
* Kate Bosworth ("Win a Date with Tad Hamilton!") is his sister, furious over that playground incident and dead set on revenge.
* Wynona Ryder ("The Iceman") is Sheryl Mott, a foul-mouthed barmaid; she delivers a file to a powerful man who needs it then she watches the whole violent catastrophe unfold.

This has a richly deserved R rating, so expect lots of profanity, broken bones and torture, many intervals of gunfire and drug use along with some highly satisfying blowie uppie stuff. However, I hope you noticed that I said in the first paragraph "Overcoming the Monster" so that means a happy ending! Whew...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Southern fried action movie, March 12, 2014
By 
This review is from: Homefront (DVD)
Chuck Logan's novel has been transformed into a screenplay by Sylvester Stallone and as directed by Gary Fleder the end result is a tense, rapid paced thriller. Set in the smarmy swamplands of the Bayou, a location that adds immensely to the atmosphere of the drama, this is a film that for some reason was overlooked in the theaters (likely a timing release problem). It is full of fine ideas and is brought to life by a very strong cast of well known and not so well known but very competent actors: with Jason Statham at the helm we can be assured it will be a action packed brutal survey of crime and its manifestations.

Phil Broker Jason Statham is a former DEA agent who has gone through a crisis after his action against a biker gang went horribly wrong and it cost the life of his boss' son. He is recently widowed and is left with a 9-year-old daughter, Maddy (Izabela Vidovic), and deciding to step out of the dangerous life of a NARC agent he moves to his deceased wife's quit town for Maddy's sake. Maddy draws attention when she has a confrontation with the school bully (Austin Craig) whose parents (Marcus Hester and Kate Bosworth - in a surprisingly fine role) cause trouble setting into motion a series of events that ends in his direct confrontation with the local Meth drug lord Gator (James Franco - excellent!) whose addicted sister happens to be Kate Bosworth. Broker's past history with the biker gang also enters the arena, making matters more complex. But he has a mission in his mind to protect his daughter and he is ready to pay any cost that it demands, despite the fact that the local sheriff (Clancy Brown) is in cahoots with the Meth gang. One of Gator's kind, Cyrus (Frank Grillo) and his girlfriend, the sleazy Sheryl (Winona Rider), are brought into the picture to kill Broker, a kidnapping takes place and an attack on Gator's Meth lab ends in a whale of a combustion that only lights up the surprising final scenes.

Yes, this is a rather grisly film about a disturbing subject, but the performances by Statham, Franco, Bosworth, Ryder, Vidovic, Susan Hetch as the school psychologist and love interest, and Grillo are excellent and the supporting cast is rich in terrifying characters portrayed by a fine supporting cast. Action plus! Grady Harp, March 14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, April 16, 2014
This review is from: Homefront (Amazon Instant Video)
Homefront is about a former DEA agent (Statham) who moves his family to a quiet town after a tough undercover operation that leaves a bad taste in his mouth but soon finds trouble with the locals.

Although the story does have its flaws and some improbable moments that push the plot along (such as Gator finding the offical file of Broker in a box at his house), it does provide plenty of action to keep you interested all the way through. Statham does his typical tough character that he has done before, but he does it very well. Franco is ok as Gator but seems to switch from violent thug to more of a wimpy drug head at the end. Would have been better if he maintained the tough persona that he started out with at the beginning of the movie.

Although not my favorite Statham movie (hard to top the original Transporter in my book) it does have plenty of action and just enough to keep you entertained all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars (BLU RAY REVIEW) Jason Statham can't save this poorly scripted flick, July 21, 2014
By 
This review is from: Homefront (Two-Disc Combo Pack: Blu-ray + DVD + Digital HD with UltraViolet) (Blu-ray)
This Sylvester Stallone scripted mess takes action star Jason Statham on a familiar path as a former DEA agent resettling in his late wife's rural Louisiana homeland. Phil Broker (Statham) becomes disillusioned when his fellow agents gun down an already shot son of a drug kingpin. Broker had infiltrated the gang and had set up the bust. Sitting at home hoping her daddy would come back, I guess, was Broker's 10 year old daughter Maddy (Izabela Vidovic).

Broker decides to pull the plug on his career and retire(?)to Louisiana redneck country. He buys and nice little house off a remote road so that Maddy can ride her horse and fish in a pond. Well, wouldn't you know, the little town is flush with methamphetamine dealers and the big fish in this little pond is a guy named Gator Bodine (stop laughing). Gator (James Franco) has the usual cadre of numbskulls working for him. He's also the supplier to his `Twiggy'-thin tweaker sister, Cassie played by a you-have-to-look-twice Kate Bosworth.

When Maddy pummels a bully in the playground, Broker is threatened by the boy's parents who just happened to be Cassie and her Neanderthal hubby Jimmy (Marcus Hester). That doesn't go so well for Jimmy, so now Broker is a marked man for revenge. But Broker is no ordinary bloke. He's...well, he's Jason Statham. So how do you think this is all going to go down? Yep, you're right. Even when Gator calls in the cavalry - a score of biker goons - they are no match for our hero.

Don't get me wrong, I actually like Jason Statham and I love to see him kick evil-doer butt, but come on. Give the guy something to work with. Finally, I got a chuckle out of seeing poor Winona Ryder play a strung out biker slut and sometime Gator plaything. Brother. I suspect this film will have some appeal to Statham fans, no matter how bad the movie is, so watch it, if you must, on Blu ray.

The video is in 1080p resolution and has a 2.40:1 aspect ratio. The transfer is pretty impressive. Colors are warm and slightly muted for most of the scenes. Skintone appear accurate. You can see minimal variation, scene to scene. A very nice picture. The DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 track is excellent. You might want to watch your volume from the opening scene. It is very loud and it shut down my not quite warmed up amp trying to save my speakers. The movie isn't all shootouts and bar fights however. There are quiet moments between Broker and Maddy that are clear and distinct. The surrounds are often brought into play, especially during the action sequences. Subtitles are available in English SDH, Spanish and French. Extras are few; some deleted scenes, an extended ending and a promo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old School Action Drama Starring Jason Statham and Written by Sylvester Stallone, August 9, 2014
By 
Tsuyoshi (Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Homefront (DVD)
“Homefront” may not break new ground, but Jason Statham’s new film knows what it is doing, with lots of action and one-liners like “Whatever you're thinking, rethink it.” Helmed by Gary Fleder (whose previous works as director includes “Runaway Jury” “Kiss the Girls” and “Don’t Say a Word”), “Homefront” is a slick action thriller even though you have to ignore its totally predictable and implausible storyline.

Jason Statham is a retired DEA agent Phil Broker, who decides to settle in a quiet Southern town with his 10-year-old daughter Maddy (Izabela Vidovic). But soon Phil gets entangled with a local drug dealer named “Gator” (James Franco). The chain of events leading up to the confrontation between Phil and Gator is unbelievable, but is done with enough fight scenes to keep the film interesting.

Based on a Chuck Logan novel and adapted for screen by Sylvester Stallone (who also co-produced), “Homefront” slightly reminds us of the old-school action movies in the 80s. I am not fully convinced of the characters and the storyline here, and the climax is pretty muddled, but all in all “Homefront” is an engaging ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Acting + Breath-taking Suspense + Convincing Father - Daughter Love + Exciting action + Outrageously Illogical Holes, February 12, 2014
This review is from: Homefront (Two-Disc Combo Pack: Blu-ray + DVD + Digital HD with UltraViolet) (Blu-ray)
Warning: Spoilers ahead!

The first 10 minutes were convincingly scary and realistic. Two primary school students fought with each other. The mother of the boy who was beaten talked her husband and brother into taking revenge by beating the father of the winning kid. Kate Bosworth was very persuasive in her role as the troublesome mother.

Izabela Vidovic was lovely, warm and convincing as Jason's daughter. However, this love angle was just briefly depicted.
James Franco was frightening as a bad guy. Jason and other actors were also persuasive.

Jason's hand-fighting scenes were electrifying, quick and decisive.

The last 20 minutes were full of breath-taking suspense and gut-wrenching emotion.

There are some big and outrageously illogical holes that reduce this movie's entertainment value a little bit. For example Jason was extremely confrontational to everybody to the point of being extremely rude. I am sure no ex-cop wants everyone to hate him like this character.

According to boxofficemojo dot com, below are the financial figures of the film:

Production Budget: $22 million
Domestic: $20,158,898
+ Foreign: $11,200,000
= Worldwide: $31,358,898

In short, it is satisfactorily entertaining if you can ignore the illogical holes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BORED? WELL YOU'VE GOTTA SEE THIS FILM!, August 29, 2014
By 
G. Bowman Jr. "GBJ" (Greater Washington DC Metro Area) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homefront (Amazon Instant Video)
Someone once told me that Cuss'in was due to lack of mental vocabulary, so I don't often do it, now because of "HOMEFRONT", gotdamnmit, this is one moth*r f*#k%n awesome Production! The type of Film that should be nominated, and awarded an OSCAR, because it plays On Screen like reading an award winning Book; with added Acting, Directing, Screenwriting/Scripting, and overall Production Quality. Only "CRASH" & "TRAFFIC" [recent Film History] have received award accolades, and neither had the number of subtle grandiose Thespian performances that this All-Star mega-drama Thriller generates!

Actor Jason Statham seems to migrate toward action packed melodramatic hero roles, and teaming with Sylvester [Writing & Producing] Stallone: Besson, Boaz Davidson, Robert Ortiz, Avi Lerner, and Director Gary Fleder, "HOMEFRONT" easily demonstrates what top-rated Movie professionals can turn out when all things come together... I need more Popcorn, and another Brew, because I'm going to watch it again! --GBJ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Homefront isn't The Godfather but it's a good, basic action flick with Statham doing his Statham thing, September 6, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Okay. I know: Homefront isn't any kind of raving intellectual challenge. Sure, we've all seen similar stuff before. But I just really liked it. I've watched it twice now and liked it as much the second time as the first. Jason Statham is always at his best in these kind of one-man-against-the-world kind of movies. While relatively predictable to a degree--maybe even a strong degree--Homefront was still fun for me just watching it being played out. It is, after all is said and done, a rather standard revenge movie with the good guy getting to pound, shoot and otherwise maim the bad guys. It's all done very well with James Franco and Kate Bosworth doing a fine job as the backwoods hicks.

If you like these kind of action flicks like I do, then I highly recommend it. Home Front is no Godfather or even close to it, but it's just a fun-to-watch action flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great action, good moral role models., August 9, 2014
By 
Mehetabelle "mehetabelle" (Silicon Valley United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Homefront (Amazon Instant Video)
Lots of action, typical of Statham's movies. Of course the plot is a bit far fetched, but as an action movie, it was enjoyable.

I especially liked the girl's character. It's good to portray females, and children, as brave, resourceful people who do everything they can to help themselves and others. In the past, females and children in movies were often portrayed as passive helpless victims, often in a really heavy-handed, insulting way, whose only hope was to be rescued by a strong man. I also liked that in this movie, even very violent people can control their behavior to spare others from witnessing cruelty. Everyone needs good role models and movies are an excellent medium to show such models.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 295 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Homefront (Two-Disc Combo Pack: Blu-ray + DVD + Digital HD with UltraViolet)
$29.98 $17.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.