Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rose-Johnny is the shining star
Rose-Johnny is the shining star in this awesome collection of short stories. It deals with many different small-town prejudices, and the outrage at the 11 year-old level that little Georgeann feels. My favorite story, from a humor standpoint, is Blueprints. Although it is not a funny story per se, the comments and thoughts that Lydia makes about Whitman's friends are...
Published on November 19, 2000 by Manola Sommerfeld

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Her novels are brilliant, her short stories aren't quite... I still always recommend her!
Kingsolver, who has never written anything that hasn't awed me, manages to capture much of the very essence of the human existence in our culturally and socially backward world (and country). These stories, however, are not nearly as powerful and earth-moving for me as her novels (Prodigal Summer, Poisonwood Bible, Pigs in Heaven, etc..)

This is a collection of...
Published on November 5, 2006 by R. Peterson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rose-Johnny is the shining star, November 19, 2000
This review is from: Homeland and Other Stories (Paperback)
Rose-Johnny is the shining star in this awesome collection of short stories. It deals with many different small-town prejudices, and the outrage at the 11 year-old level that little Georgeann feels. My favorite story, from a humor standpoint, is Blueprints. Although it is not a funny story per se, the comments and thoughts that Lydia makes about Whitman's friends are hilarious. These friends are so concerned about Mother Nature and the environment, but haven't bothered to visit them once they moved out of the evil city into the foothills. These same friends insist that fertilized eggs are better for you than unfertilized eggs (show me the scientific evidence), and name their children after vegetables. I am sure these guys look at you wrong if you don't buy organic coffee beans from Guatemala. I think Barbara Kingsolver has little tolerance for those nature-type-wanna-be's (here, here).
All these and the rest of the stories are beautifully crafted, with many reflections on nature. Wonderful book, not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Her novels are brilliant, her short stories aren't quite... I still always recommend her!, November 5, 2006
By 
R. Peterson "I'm worldwide..." (Leverett, MA (for the moment)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Homeland and Other Stories (Paperback)
Kingsolver, who has never written anything that hasn't awed me, manages to capture much of the very essence of the human existence in our culturally and socially backward world (and country). These stories, however, are not nearly as powerful and earth-moving for me as her novels (Prodigal Summer, Poisonwood Bible, Pigs in Heaven, etc..)

This is a collection of short stories that each deal with the frustrations that average people face in their desire to lead normal, quiet, decent lives. Frequently her personages are `different' in some way and their frustrations are compounded in economic, social, cultural and sometimes just personal ways. And the power of persistence, love, and respect is frequently what combats those frustrations. None of these stories are loud and angry, none are suspenseful or thrilling, but each is softly, powerfully moving and thought provoking.

I respond to Kingsolver because she presents her characters in ways that pull in the reader, leaving the reader as an ally, quietly rooting for the protagonist. I always recommend Kingsolver to other readers because she can enlighten you without you even knowing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Home with Kingsolver, March 20, 2003
By 
Daniel Olivas (West Hills, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homeland and Other Stories (Paperback)
"Homeland and Other Stories" showcases Barbara Kingsolver's remarkable ear for heartland speech as well as her talent for painting the every day struggles of people through exquisite but understated detail. Kingsolver never falls into melodrama nor does she show disrespect for her characters. This is a beautiful and powerful collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Home with Kingsolver, March 20, 2003
By 
Daniel Olivas (West Hills, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homeland and Other Stories (Paperback)
"Homeland and Other Stories" showcases Barbara Kingsolver's remarkable ear for heartland speech as well as her talent for painting the every day struggles of people through exquisite but understated detail. Kingsolver never falls into melodrama nor does she show disrespect for her characters. This is a beautiful and powerful collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish each story was its own novel., October 25, 2005
By 
This review is from: Homeland and Other Stories (Paperback)
A lovely collection of stories, as is to be expected of Barbara Kingsolver's fiction. The characters are rich and dynamic, and the stories are so well developed that I wish each one was a full-length novel. Well worth the read-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful short stories, September 13, 2000
This review is from: Homeland and Other Stories (Paperback)
Homeland and other stories is a wonderful collection of extremely well-written short stories! Exploring the themes of family and nature, Barbara Kingsolver opens our eyes to different points of view, and shows us new ways of looking at old points of view. Kingsolver is, in short, a genius! The masterpiece of this collection is Rose-Johnny, a story about a very masculine woman and the little girl who befriends her, and the price paid for truly being "different" in American Society. Other great stories are: Homeland, Stone Dreams, and Quality Time. Read this book, make your soul grow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Each story says something worth remembering, October 1, 2004
By 
Nina M. Osier (Augusta, ME USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Homeland and Other Stories (Paperback)
Lovers whose relationship nearly founders when a new environment changes both partners in ways neither expects. A woman working in a "man's job" (mining) who suffers the consequences of a strike in ways no man possibly could. A seemingly pleasant neighbor who abuses an elderly lady's trust, but doesn't see his own actions in that light. In each of these 12 short stories, Barbara Kingsolver draws her characters clearly and says something worth remembering about life, love, and human nature. Not every writer can handle this format and the novel equally well, but Kingsolver's touch is as deft here as in her much longer works. Especially good reading for those nights when you don't want (or can't afford) to be kept up by a book you can't put down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as her other work, but still enjoyable reading, June 26, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Homeland and Other Stories (Paperback)
Barbara Kingsolver possesses an amazingly adventurous breadth of literary talent. She has written novels, short stories, essays, nonfiction, and poetry. Although I don't believe her short stories stand out as brilliantly as does the rest of her writing, they are nonetheless enjoyable reading.
The two stories in this collection that particularly stood out to me were the title story, "Homeland," and "Covered Bridges." "Homeland" is the moving story of Gloria St. Clair, a native of "a coal town hacked with sharp blades out of a forest that threatened always to take it back," and her "Great Mam," a woman who belonged to the Bird Clan, "one of the fugitive bands of Cherokee who resisted capture in the year that General Winfield Scott was in charge of prodding the forest people from their beds and removing them westward." It is particularly lyrical and full of evocative images, metaphors, and language, drawing on Kingsolver's own Kentucky and Cherokee roots and apparent love of the land and its native peoples.
"Covered Bridges" has a familiar Kingsolver protagonist with a background that reflects Kingsolver's own educational and professional background in biology, and particularly her interest in quirky, little-known biological facts. Lena is a specialist in toxicology and operates a poison hotline at the county hospital. We also discover that Lena has a deadly allergy to the stings of bees and wasps. "Covered Bridges" explores the relationship between Lena and her husband and examines the question of whether or not they want to have children.
I readily recommend Kingsolver's earlier work, but discourage reading her more recent work, starting with "Prodigal Summer." I admire her most for the risks she takes in tackling new and different projects and genres (even "Prodigal Summer"), rather than rehashing the same, well-worn theme. Reading these stories provides a fuller picture of who she is as an author and where her passions, concerns, and interests lie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and fast read, December 12, 2001
By 
"whoasam" (Sunny beach in San Diego) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Homeland and Other Stories (Paperback)
This book was very enjoyable and a fast read. This book has alittle of everything in it for everyone. I thought that the stories got better and better as they went on and each with a little bit more powerful message. I truly enjoyed Quality Time and Rose-Johnny. Overall this is a must read and would make a wonderful gift for anyone on your holiday list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Short Stories Collection, October 19, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am not a fan of short stories. It's not that I don't think they're not well-written, because I do think they are. It is just that they're not always so satisfying and leaves one wanting more.

Not this time. I enjoyed every single one of Kingsolver's short stories. I have read a few of her novels and think her last book, "Animal, Food, Miracle" is the best book yet so far. Obviously, this collection of short stories are her earlier works ... and still just as good. These short stories told stories of people's lives, such as a young shoplifter moving into an old house wanting to change her ways. She ends up helping her elderly neighbor and yet witness a crime that led to the neighbor's downfall. Then there is the story of Rose-Johnny, a sad reflection of the life of prejudice and racism. Then there's the last story of an union worker who was arrested to break up the union. All of these stories in this collection are realistic and shares the ideals that we humans have ... as well as the imperfections. One cannot help but relate to each of the characters in this collection.

This is another recommendation for short stories fans out there and I am glad that I discovered this gem!

10/19/09
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Homeland and Other Stories
Homeland and Other Stories by Barbara Kingsolver (Paperback - November 25, 2003)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.