Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air
This book, and its author, are appealing to the eye and put forth simple, creative and delicious recipes that anyone can master. I've heard Ms. McKenna referred to as the "Irish Rachel Ray." While perhaps true, I'd also classify her as Rachel's more fashionable, bohemian sister. This book makes the perfect gift for a housewarming, birthday or any occasion. The...
Published on March 7, 2012 by M. Schmidt

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to read without some form of magnification
I would give this book many stars, but cannot because it's difficult to read. WARNING!!! The font and the very light print almost require a magnifying glass in order to see if the recipe takes 1/4 or 1/2 or any ingredient. What a pity, because it ruins an otherwise good book. I'm sure they were trying to make it all look home-made, as if typed on a typewriter. Clever...
Published on December 22, 2012 by Carolyn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air, March 7, 2012
By 
M. Schmidt (Sag Harbor, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homemade: Irresistible Homemade Recipes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
This book, and its author, are appealing to the eye and put forth simple, creative and delicious recipes that anyone can master. I've heard Ms. McKenna referred to as the "Irish Rachel Ray." While perhaps true, I'd also classify her as Rachel's more fashionable, bohemian sister. This book makes the perfect gift for a housewarming, birthday or any occasion. The down-to-earth cooks in your life will love it. I hope to see much more from this author soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to read without some form of magnification, December 22, 2012
By 
This review is from: Homemade: Irresistible Homemade Recipes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
I would give this book many stars, but cannot because it's difficult to read. WARNING!!! The font and the very light print almost require a magnifying glass in order to see if the recipe takes 1/4 or 1/2 or any ingredient. What a pity, because it ruins an otherwise good book. I'm sure they were trying to make it all look home-made, as if typed on a typewriter. Clever idea, but it doesn't work. Even with my glasses at close range I needed a flashlight. I may actually return the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I WANTED TO SCOFF AT THIS BOOK, I REALLY DID BUT...., January 29, 2014
This review is from: Homemade: Irresistible Homemade Recipes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
I wanted to scoff at this book. I really did, it struck me as yet another, "oh look at me how hipster and gourmet I am" type of tome. Yes well, sigh....Ms. McKenna you have a place on my shelves! I started paging through and realized wow, this is not only really, really pretty, it is actually really useful! This is the kind of book you want to sit down on a Saturday afternoon with a cup of tea and plan to make all the cool, but not expensive homemade things! Everything caught my eye from the recipes for homemade preserved lemons to the great recipe she got at a wedding in Tuscany (sigh) that was marinated chicken with bits of fruit and couscous. Fresh, not expensive and definitely different from the sloppy joes and mac and cheese I make as kid friendly foods! What won me over the most? The preserved items section and the section on cheeses. Great info to include in an overall great cookbook and again - it's soooo pretty :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and lovely to read!, January 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Homemade: Irresistible Homemade Recipes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
My favorite cookbooks these days are those that are fun to read, have wonderful pictures, teach me something I didn't know, and has good recipes. This book covers all of the above.

I was interested in the book as I'd enjoyed seeing the author on her PBS show about Ireland. I knew she taught cooking when possible from local sources and using fresh foods so I had an idea I'd like the recipes. I just wasn't certain how they would relate to my American style of eating.

Well, the recipes are for the most part easy and are those my family would enjoy. But I must admit, I would buy the book again just to read it! I'm going to purchase it for a pre-teen who is interested in a culinary career someday. I think many of the recipes are easy enough for her to follow and she will enjoy reading about the food and culture.

If you enjoy curling up in the evening with a cup of tea and a cookbook you can read... add this one to your library. If I had only one complaint... the light color of grey in which some of the book is written. It seems to be quite popular to do this with cookbooks these days so the recipes do not cover the beautiful pictures but I'd rather have the print easier to read. Having said that, it is not so light that I couldn't enjoy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I AM BLOGGING ABOUT MY COLLECTION OF COOKBOOKS!, August 22, 2013
This review is from: Homemade: Irresistible Homemade Recipes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
I have a cookbook collection of hundreds of cookbooks I have moved all over the place! I finally bit the bullet and decided to reduce my cookbook collection and have started out reviewing three cookbooks a day (that is the goal anyway) at my blog - [...]

Here's my review on this one-

I wanted to sell this book. I really did, it struck me as yet another, "oh look at me how hipster and gourmet I am" type of tome. Yes well, sigh....Ms. McKenna you have a place on my shelves! I started paging through and realized wow, this is not only really, really pretty, it is actually really useful! This is the kind of book you want to sit down on a Saturday afternoon with a cup of tea and plan to make all the cool, but not expensive homemade things! Everything caught my eye from the recipes for homemade preserved lemons to the great recipe she got at a wedding in Tuscany (sigh) that was marinated chicken with bits of fruit and couscous. Fresh, not expensive and definitely different from the sloppy joes and mac and cheese I make as kid friendly foods! What won me over the most? The preserved items section and the section on cheeses. Great info to include in an overall great cookbook and again - it's soooo pretty :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HOMEMADE FOR ME, August 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Homemade: Irresistible Homemade Recipes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK AND REFERENCE IT QUITE A BIT.
THE RECIPES ARE NOT COMPLICATED AND I LIKE THAT SHE GIVES YOU OTHER OPTIONS FOR BASIC RECIPES AND GIFT IDEAS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cozy cookbook, January 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Homemade: Irresistible Homemade Recipes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
Easy and delicious recipes. Nostalgic meals,yet modern as well. I have already made many dishes.
This makes a great house warming gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love the Canning recipes, I have made them for Christmas Gifts., December 5, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Homemade: Irresistible Homemade Recipes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
My husband saw Coldagh McKenna on the Create channel and we are hooked on her Irish style. Easy to use with nice family insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very lovely and inspiring cookbook, December 29, 2012
This review is from: Homemade: Irresistible Homemade Recipes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
I added this book to my Christmas list on a whim and I was very impressed with the recipes inside. I love pretty cookbooks. And I know a lot of pretty cookbooks lack in substance, but Homemade doesn't. The photos inside are high quality, and the food styling is beautiful. Most importantly, the recipes are not totally out of the ordinary, but they're also not average and boring. The ingredients are easy to find in your local market, but what you create with them is unlike the basics you'll find in the much loved Betty Crocker cookbook. Makes a great gift for a bride-to-be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unique Cookbook, February 5, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Homemade: Irresistible Homemade Recipes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
I have had this cookbook for about a month and I love it. The photography is gorgeous. It is also organized in a unique way...from canning/preserving, how to stock your pantry, lunches, brunches, to seasonal dinner parties with decorating tips.

I have made the banana bread, the orzo soup, the spaghetti with meatballs, and the homemade muesli (twice!). Yummy!
I had already been making my own muesli for over a year now and this recipe is actually even better. The touch of toasting the oats makes a big (and delicious) difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Homemade: Irresistible Homemade Recipes for Every Occasion
Homemade: Irresistible Homemade Recipes for Every Occasion by Clodagh McKenna (Hardcover - May 16, 2011)
$24.95 $16.63
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.