Automotive Deals HPCC Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 21, 1999
As someone who regularly helps new homeschoolers get started homeschooling, this is the book I recommend as the best "first-read" on the subject. Most other homeschooling books overwhelm the new or prospective homeschooler with minutiae. Griffith's perspective is broad; giving the reader a thorough, readable overview of the topic.
If you're just beginning your journey into homeschooling, The Homeschooling Handbook is THE book to read.
0Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2001
Based on the previous reviews, this was the first book I chose to read as we begin to consider to homeschooling our two young children.
Beginning with the introduction, this informative book is written in an easy-to-read format, with chapters leading the reader through "Does Homeschooling Really Work," legal information and ideas to think about for your own homeschool. How much structure do you want? Will you need outside assistance? How much does it cost? The book covers the huge differences between primary education, middle school, and high school education. It discusses recordkeeping, learning resources, and finding your niche in the homeschooling community. It provides information on "rough" spots and learning/physical disabilities.
Although the book is definitely slanted for the person wanting to find out more information, the author takes no stand on such personal choice issues such as: different theories of learning (unschooling), the private school umbrella, and many other matters. Instead, the author provides a detailed list of pros and cons for these choices, leaving this decision to the reader. Throughout the book are interview excerpts from homeschooling families around the country, providing their viewpoint on many different areas.
This book gave me courage to continue to find out more about homeschooling. It answered questions that I hadn't even begun to think of. The easy to follow format means I could easily go back to reread something. It also includes an index and terrific appendices such as homeschooling resources, organizations and selected learning resources. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2000
I normally dislike homeschooling books, because so many have nothing to do with reality. However, when I reviewed this book for my BellaOnline column, I was very impressed. Even though I'm on my nineth year of homeschooling, I learned from it.
I was impressed by the honesty. She does not fall into the trap of pretending all of homeschooling is wonderful or perfect. No, the house won't always stay clean. Yes, sometimes the kids won't cooperate. Yes, sometimes people will harass you. However, she also tells you what to do about all these problems. She tackles even the toughest problem-children who want to return to public school, for example-gently, but without sugar coating.
The book is designed for beginners, but there was so much about homeschooling I didn't know. If you like to be well-educated about your type of homeschooling, be sure to read this book.
0Comment| 76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2001
We will be starting homeschooling in June of 2001. I have read no less than 7 books on this topic and this one stands out amongst the others. It is so informative, it answered all of my questions and then some. It gives very specific information on the different "styles" of homeschooling, loads of resources, and best of all you get to read about real homeschooling families, how they do things and why. The author does write with obvious favor to her own schooling method of choice, but not nearly as overtly as others I've read. If you are considering homeshcooling, then read this book before any others.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 1998
In her easy-to-understand style, Mary Griffith covers all the bases with this book. If you're wondering about homeschooling, considering starting, or already have started, this book is a must-read. It quickly reviews the history of formal education,and its reformers. Summarizes the different types of homeschooling, and sites examples for each type in 3 age groups. She picks the best resources and gives a great foundation. This book is an enjoyable learning experience!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2000
This is a well thought-out book with some good information from homeschoolers to back it up. I liked it better than Linda Dobson's books, "Homeschooling: the Early Years" and "Homeschooling Success Stories" in that it is slightly more objective and scientific (the other books are worth looking at, however). Despite being more objective than the Dobson books, it is still clear that this author leans heavily toward the "unschooling" side. Keeping that in mind, there are a lot personal accounts and good information that make this book interesting and useful.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2008
There isn't much content in here that someone who has been homeschooling for a year or more doesn't already know, but it could be useful for a parent just starting out. One thing to keep in mind if you are currently considering a purchase is that much of what the author advises is *really* out of date for the contemporary homeschooler. For example, she strongly encourages that you attend a homeschool conference and join a group like HSLDA, advice that was more helpful ten years ago when the book was written. If you are new to homeschooling, this book isn't worthless, but make sure you read more up-to-date stuff as well, like homeschooling magazine & internet content.
33 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2000
I borrowed a copy of "The Homeschooling Handbook" from the library and signed it out several times. This book is the best book I have read, so far, on the basics of homeschooling. It was very informative and helped me to get through my second year as a homeschooling parent with less stress. I would recommend it to anyone who is open to, or looking for new ideas or new ways to home school. This book is very un-schooling oriented but it helped me to find a balance between both the "normal" homeshooling methods and un-schooling. I would highly recommend it for first time home schoolers and those with gifted or special needs children.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2000
A great reference manual to address questions and concerns. If homeschooling is just a question or even a fear, this book is sure to address your concerns and issues.
Long shelf life as it covers pre-school to high school. Lay out is easy on the beginner and filled with all kinds of questions and answered in an advantage/disadvantage style. The book allows you to look at both sides of many issues and in doing so calculate the personal needs of the reader.
This manual will take you from, what will other people think? to the history behind homeschooling and forward to present day. Very well done and sure to address all your concerns and questions about homeschooling. The appendix lists so much more information and even includes a list of colleges that have accepted homeschooled students.
An excellent tool in answering all your fears and concerns about homeschooling!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2000
I borrowed a copy of this book from the library and signed it out several times. This book is the best book I have read, so far, on the basics of homeschooling. It was very informative and helped me to get through my second year as a homeschooling parent with less stress. I would recommend it to anyone who is open to, or looking for new ideas or new ways to home school. This book is very un-schooling oriented but it helped me to find a balance between both the "normal" homeshooling methods and un-schooling. I would highly recommend it for first time home schoolers and those with gifted or special needs children.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse