Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Resource for Homeschoolers
I jut reviewed a copy of this book for my column and was thrilled with it. It is designed for Christian homeschoolers, but you need not be a Christian to benefit from the wisdom found in this book. It is another of the rare books that approaches homeschooling honestly. The author has interviewed large numbers of admissions people at colleges, and their findings are...
Published on September 7, 2000 by Terrie Bittner

versus
60 of 94 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you're not Christian beware
This book must have good things to offer as far as homeschooling through high school in concerned, but if you're not Christian you may have a hard time wading through the lectures (and scripture passages) about how important Christianity is before you find it.

It would have been nice to be told somewhere up front that this book had a Christian slant before I...
Published on April 21, 2008 by SlingMommy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Resource for Homeschoolers, September 7, 2000
I jut reviewed a copy of this book for my column and was thrilled with it. It is designed for Christian homeschoolers, but you need not be a Christian to benefit from the wisdom found in this book. It is another of the rare books that approaches homeschooling honestly. The author has interviewed large numbers of admissions people at colleges, and their findings are given to you without doctoring. You can't fight the misconceptions or concerns of colleges unless you know what they are.
Not only does this book offer reading lists, suggested topics to cover in courses, and lists of materials for science, but the author offers a collection of forms that is invaluable. I simply printed out the forms in her book for easy organization of the work my children are doing this year. She has time sheets, reading logs, and most importantly, a transcript. I've always wondered what a professional transcript was supposed to look like. There are many other forms as well.
This book leaves nothing to chance. I feel certain that any homeschooler using this book will have no difficulty getting a child into college.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Manual For Homeschooling High School, September 28, 2000
By 
Rachelle Bigger (Corvallis, OR United States) - See all my reviews
Jeanne Gowen Dennis has written a complete manual for both the parent considering homeschooling high school and parents in the midst of home educating their teenagers. Dennis did her research surveying hundreds of college admissions staff. She doesn't hesitate to share the negative as well as the overwhelmingly positive feedback she received. Helpful to the parent unfamiliar with the world of transcripts, curriculum, and college admissions, will be the helpful lists, as well as sample forms. Both practical and inspiring, Homeschooling High School is a book sure to pulled off the shelf repeatededly by homeschooling families. As a homeschool graduate and former Admissions Counselor, I would make it a must-read for any family endeavoring to home educate their children at any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A versatile reference for homeschoolers, February 9, 2001
By 
I was asked to review Jeanne Dennis's book by the publisher because of my interest in helping home schoolers. I've seen the range of questions and concerns home schoolers have shared with each other through email lists and web sites. I feel the book provides many practical ways to systematically prepare for admission to college. As a veteran college admissions officer, I'm glad this book is available for the rapidly growing number of home schoolers forging their paths to college with great independence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars informative, November 17, 2007
By 
LHP (west virginia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Homeschooling High School: Planning Ahead for College Admission (New and Updated) (Paperback)
I ordered several books on homeschooling through high school and preparing for college. My oldest is in 8th grade and I knew nothing about how to keep records and preparing for college transcripts. Of all the books I ordered, I think this is the best. Jeanne Gowen Dennis walks you through every phase of preparation. There are blank pages of record keeping and examples of how to fill them out. This is what I needed. I have already started to fill in the pages with her courses/descriptions. I would recommend this book to everyone homeschooling who is getting ready for high school and looking ahead to college.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a Handbook for Composing an Effective Transcript, June 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Homeschooling High School: Planning Ahead for College Admission (New and Updated) (Paperback)
I was looking for practical information, not warm and fuzzy encouragement. This is a nice book. It's sweet, charming and inspiring. This book does not have practical suggestions about putting together a College Prep course of study or how to write a transcript.

I was trying to figure out whether to choose "Physical Sciences" or "Physics", and "Grammar" or "Composition" for our child's HS freshman year. This book was no help whatsoever.

If you're looking for encouragement, buy this book. If you're looking for a practical "how to" manual, continue to search.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book on Preparing you Home Schooled teen for college, January 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Homeschooling High School: Planning Ahead for College Admission (New and Updated) (Paperback)
EXECELLENT BOOK!! A MUST read if you're serious about putting your child in the right college. GREAT tips on how to be preparing now, (years ahead) so that you are transcript ready and know what to look for in a college.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Homeschooling High School: Planning Ahead for College Admission (New and Updated) (Paperback)
Has been very helpful in planning my son's transcript
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, May 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Homeschooling High School: Planning Ahead for College Admission (New and Updated) (Paperback)
I use this, Barb Shelton's book (Senior High: A Home-Designed Form+U+La) and Lee Binz book (Setting the Records Straight: How to Craft Homeschool Transcripts and Course Descriptions for College Admission and Scholarships) and have gleaned excellent info from all of them. This book is encouraging and very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Homeschooling College Planning, October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Homeschooling High School: Planning Ahead for College Admission (New and Updated) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book with lots of useful information. I highly recommend it for high school students and their parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 94 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you're not Christian beware, April 21, 2008
This review is from: Homeschooling High School: Planning Ahead for College Admission (New and Updated) (Paperback)
This book must have good things to offer as far as homeschooling through high school in concerned, but if you're not Christian you may have a hard time wading through the lectures (and scripture passages) about how important Christianity is before you find it.

It would have been nice to be told somewhere up front that this book had a Christian slant before I got it. The title, back cover and chapter headings do not allude to this fact at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Homeschooling High School: Planning Ahead for College Admission (New and Updated)
$24.99 $21.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.