Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In space, noone can hear you
Homeworld rocks, but the single player campaign can be pretty difficult, what with the reactive fleet and all. I read some strategy guides online, but this book had a rocking walkthrough for the campaign, as well as a ton of additional tips from the designers (who'd have thought of using scouts' EMP against the keepers?).
I don't know what axe our reviewer from...
Published on January 29, 2004

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for newbies, not so hot for elites
The Homeworld 2 Strategy Guide has lots of info; LOTS. It starts out with a listing of some changes from Homeworld to its sequal. This was very helpful to me, being a Homeworld fan for a long time. It then goes on with the ship listing.
Yes, they stole some quotes from the ship listing in the manual... but they also included a comprehensive Pro-Con listing for each...
Published on June 15, 2004 by ma-hiigaran


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for newbies, not so hot for elites, June 15, 2004
By 
"ma-hiigaran" (Battlegroup Gamma 6) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Homeworld 2 (Prima's Official Strategy Guide) (Paperback)
The Homeworld 2 Strategy Guide has lots of info; LOTS. It starts out with a listing of some changes from Homeworld to its sequal. This was very helpful to me, being a Homeworld fan for a long time. It then goes on with the ship listing.
Yes, they stole some quotes from the ship listing in the manual... but they also included a comprehensive Pro-Con listing for each ship. They then went through with you some basic fleet control and strategy, which is very important considering Homeworld 2 is a very unique game, even from Homeworld. It discussed how ships relate with each other, work against each other, and what balance is required and how it can vary. The guide then went into specific strategies, not all military. While I don't use any of these directly in a game, I used the basis of one and evolved it so far that it eventually became an entirely different strategy... a very good one.
Then the singleplayer walkthrough. Boy was this GOOD! I recall while playing the game reports of bugs in the single player campaign, making it impossible to proceed and win until the patch. Well, not even knowing it, the guide bypassed the error and let me proceed to win! The guide not only reveals surprises, but hidden elements on the map that can give you am edge against your enemy.
however, once you read through the guide about 5 times, you memorize it all and it becomes useless, and you should sell it. Nevertheless it's a good thing to buy for a newbie, as they can learn important skills before they head into the real world of Homeworld 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In space, noone can hear you, January 29, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Homeworld 2 (Prima's Official Strategy Guide) (Paperback)
Homeworld rocks, but the single player campaign can be pretty difficult, what with the reactive fleet and all. I read some strategy guides online, but this book had a rocking walkthrough for the campaign, as well as a ton of additional tips from the designers (who'd have thought of using scouts' EMP against the keepers?).
I don't know what axe our reviewer from Chicago has to grind, but Dan Irish was the producer of this title, so he would have had
extensive access to the game, and I think the content of this book shows. There are three chapters dedicated to the single player campaign walkthough - what more could you want?
This book gave me 2 positives: I enjoyed reading it - it's written in a very militaristic style, and the information it gave me helped me to improve my game in ways I would have never thought of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some more info, January 11, 2007
This review is from: Homeworld 2 (Prima's Official Strategy Guide) (Paperback)
I am in broad agreement with the other reviewers, but i would like to add that this is the only place you can get the full backstory of the conflict, and that is a really good real and really helpful to get into the why of this conflict. Highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An inacurate guide, October 5, 2003
This review is from: Homeworld 2 (Prima's Official Strategy Guide) (Paperback)
Simply put, this book is a horrible excuse for a game guide. After reading the original Homeworld guide, one would expect better for a game much tougher than the original. The guide contains many exeprts straight from the game manual. The game guide does not give specific directions for the single player campaign (the main reason one buys a game guide), only broad strategies that any decent gamer could have come up with on their own. Some major game events listed in the guide do not even happen in the game! I am not sure if that is due to bugs or misleading writing but is obvious that the writers played very little (if any) of the game themselves and only wrote what they were told to by the project management. To be blunt, the guide is impersonal and flat out inacurate in its strategies for Homeworld 2. Very dissapointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Strategy Guide and a work of Art!, November 6, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Homeworld 2 (Prima's Official Strategy Guide) (Paperback)
The Homeworld2 strategy guide contains the critical hints and tips that are necessary to beat the game without loosing the element of surprise in exploring the rich single-player campaign.
Written by Dan Irish, the Executive Producer of Homeworld2, he lends a lot of in-depth strategies and a ton of backstory to an already rich universe.
Contrary to other reviews, many others on the relicnews.com forums and [...] have raved about the complexity of the game that is revealed in this book. No Homeworld fan should be without one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Homeworld 2 (Prima's Official Strategy Guide)
Homeworld 2 (Prima's Official Strategy Guide) by Dan Irish (Paperback - September 16, 2003)
Used & New from: $3.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.