Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Luxury Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer TL256 TL256 TL256  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 26, 2013
Worked below desired expectations due to the issues below. I sent the unit back due to poor design of the function I needed most, slide digitizing.

Likes:
1) Does not scan, but rather takes a digital picture of the film picture, which is near instantaneous. I have read scanning is better, but it is also much slower. I have a lot of slides.

2) Small and compact compared to large flat bed scanner.

Dislikes:
1) 35mm Slides do not sit flat in the tray. Instead they are pinched at the center from both sides which allow them to be at an angle relative to the camera inside the unit. Very poor design which results in some pics being out of focus. Don't know why they don't have it spring loaded on one side and flat on the other. Although I didn't use the negative tray, it looks like it would work well and had magnets to keep closed.

2) Can't view the image on your computer in real time, instead relying on tiny and low res LCD. The problem is that you can't easily see dust or in my case, part of image being out of focus due to problem above. Dust proves to be a problem that must be identified prior to moving on to the next slide, or at least the next set of slides. The dust has to be cleared and then rescanned.

I am contemplating just sending slides off for professional scanning if I can't find another (most likely more expensive unit) here on Amazon. Good luck!
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2013
I have an Epson Perfection V330 flat bed scanner with a negative tray attachment. The flat bed works but I wanted to get something more specialized for my wife to use to scan all of our film negatives. Well the after scanning several negatives the results were not near as good as the flat bed, so I returned it.

While this device may be less cumbersome, it did not give me better or equal results to cheaper flat bed scanner. When scanning negative, I know I want the best results because I do NOT want to scan again. I would rather do them once then store them.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2012
I bought the machine as a test to look into scanning the thousands of film negatives my parents and I built up over decades. I've scanned about 500 images. The scanner was wonderfully simple to set up for negative scanning, and I got to work right away. Everything worked incredibly quickly until I got to image #150 or so -- the scanning process slowed down, taking about twice the time to scan, and then stayed that way for all the other images. I'm not sure if it effected the color or not - I haven't yet looked at each scan.

The main problem I had with it is that in order to get clean scans I had to painstakingly brush off each negative for dust particles -- and even then, dust still managed to get scanned. I'm slowly going through each picture using Adobe Photoshop to correct the blemishes, which is incredibly time consuming. I would imagine that scanning the pictures themselves would result in better quality.

So, I pretty much got what I expected, though I was disappointed by the dust issues. Perhaps if it was built with a dust-blower inside the machine.... but oh well. If you don't mind going through each picture pixel by pixel, this is a great little thing that does as advertised.

Basically, know what you're getting into - unfortunately, home scanners can't compete with professional jobs.
1212 comments|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2013
Like many of you, my Dad took all our family photos on 35mm slides. Slides are vulnerable to damage, deteriorate over time, and subject to tug-of-wars between siblings over who gets to keep the slides. The solution was to scan them. I've got approx. 3000 slides to scan. Lucky for me, my Dad was meticulous in keeping the slides clean + in good shape. I started with Innovative Technologies Film & Slide Scanner but had trouble with the drivers and it just stopped communicating with my computer. It appears IT doesn't have any tech support and I just didn't have the time to mess with it. It was a gift so fortunately I didn't waste money on it. I found this Honestech, read everyones' reviews + went ahead and bought one. Here's my experience/review:

1. If the slides are in good shape (clean, undamaged), this device works fine. If the slides are dirty/dusty, you'll get dirty/dusty scanned images. If the cardboard frames are damaged, you'll need to flatten them out so they'll slide into the slideholder. If your slides have metal frame protectors (2x2 "ready mounts"), they WILL fit in the slideholder. It's snug but they will fit. You don't have to remove the ready-mount frames.

2. I'm not creating works of art and don't expect professional quality from a $100+ scanner. I'm archiving family photos and the image quality appears very good. Perfect? no. Professional looking? no. My Dad was not a professional photographer and I'm not a professional photo handler. The images are just fine for family photos + memories. There are controls for brightness, resolution, and rotation to turn sideways photos upright. You'd probably need something like photoshop to touchup the photos, remove redeye, etc. IF you are so inclined. I will NOT be doing photo touchups for 3000 images. If your slides are of artwork or you are intending to use the scanned images for wall art (blowing up the size) or business or you need scientific precision, you're probably not going to be satisfied and need to look for a scanner way up the price scale. If you're just archiving family photos, as I am, this will do the job just fine. It appears the only file type for the images is .jpg .

3. This device is easy. There's virtually no setup. Plug it into your computer or use the AC adapter, touch the M (menu) button just to check the settings. (The only setting I changed was resolution. I chose 10m instead of the preset 5m). Put the slides in the holder. Insert the holder into the device + start scanning. It scans very fast. You manually push the slideholder to the 1st pic (it clicks into the correct position), touch the scan button, push the slideholder to the next pic, touch the scan button, and so on. There are no drivers or software to install.

4. The internal memory will hold only 18 pics at 10m. You will need a camera-type memory card (not included).

5. Plugging the device into the computer does not cause the scanned images to write to the computer. It's merely a power source and gives you the ability to move the scanned images from the scanner's internal memory onto your computer's hard drive. My Dad kept a log with each slide carousel giving the who/what/when of each slide. As I scan, I need to keep track of each image's file name so I can match the file names with the logs. With the IT device, I could view the images in Windows Photo Viewer as I scan and log the file names. With this scanner, I can either scan, or I can view the filenames on Windows Explorer, but I can't do both at the same time. I'm dealing with this by scanning a whole carousel then moving all 140 images to my computer and scrolling though to be sure I've got good images. The scanner will number the images sequentially (i.e. Pict0001, Pict0002, etc.) If any rescans are necessary, I can match the Pictxxx to the number on the carousel. I use a new file folder in Windows Explorer for each carousel. My log of filenames + who/what/when descriptions is on an Excel spreadsheet. Slideshows will be made later.

I've given this 4 stars because it does what it's designed to do simply, easily, and with very good quality. If it had the ability to show filenames on Windows Explorer while I'm scanning, I would have given a 5th star.

I have not tried scanning filmstips yet. Gotta get through the slides first.

Happy scanning!

(p.s. I don't know why the header to this review shows "Honestech Film Scan and Save (CD-ROM)". There is no CD that comes with this scanner. Just to confirm, my model number is HFS100)
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2012
This little autonomous scanner does a great job at scanning w/o requiring you to use your computer to do so. I've used several other film scanners and this one if by far the easiest to use, Especially if you place a 32GB memory card into to store all of your scans, then later download the scans from the memory card to your PC. I see people complaining about dirt specs on the negatives, but that is just a fact of life. If you are careful, and know how to handle film properly, they can easily be removed by soaking the film in like warm water (filtered if you have it), and then hanging the negatives to dry in a dust free environment.

The only reason that I didn't give it 5 stars is due to the fact that if dust gets on the scanner itself, it is very difficult to remove. If the base easily removed for cleaning, I would have given it 5 stars. The price is great. It does a great job at scanning old negatives, and the DPI is higher than most of the more expensive units. BTW, it scans up to 3600 DPI, which isn't stated here.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
Like several other people here, I snagged this at a great price in a Lightning Deal before Christmas. I have never used another product like this so I don't have anything to compare it to, but I'm having a lot of fun with it. I'm not trying to archive every negative I've ever had, just looking to capture some of the best moments from the past. After making the digital image, many of these old pictures show imperfections from scratches on the negative, etc. Photoshop fixes all that and then some (had to fix a family member's smile from 20 years ago that has since been corrected with braces). I put my pics on Facebook & everyone got a charge out of the hair & the clothes. I can't wait to do more!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2012
Unit does scan slides but the output quality is vastly different from the original slide. If you want a quality capture of the original, go higher end.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2013
I picked this up at a far lower price through the Amazon Daily Deals. This was worth it for a quick scan of the negatives that I have. What is most convenient is the fact that it need no be connected to a computer to do the scanning. Just make sure you have the SD card in the slot provided, power on, align your negative in the tray, stick it into the scanner, view the image on the built in screen and hit the scan button for the scan to me completed. It is as easy as that. Unfortunately I managed to add a scratch on the scan panel when I stuck the provided brush into the device. Now I have a scar on each scanned image that I need to clean up in Photoshop. For a quick fire scan with minimum fuss I think this device is worth it. Just make sure you clean your negatives before you put them through the scanner.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2012
This scanner is marginal. The photo quality is not very good even on the higher pixel count and it is a slow process if you have a very many photos to copy. I'm not saying don't buy it...........just remember you get what you pay for.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2013
I am very happy with the Film Scan and Save unit I recently purchased. Since I purchased it I have converted 600 slides to Digital Pictures and 1800 pictures from colored and black and white negatives. Our slide projector gave out years ago. This wonderful device has opened up a pathway to the past and wonderful memories of days gone by are now available to my children and grandchildren. I am so pleased with the easy way this works and the quality of the pictures it creates. Now my children will each have a picture record of their lives and our family's history. Many people have slides and negatives just hidden away and forgotten. This unit opens a door to their use before they deteriorate as they do have a limited shelf life. Thank you Honestech for creating this very useful device. I am a 72 year old man.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.