Customer Reviews


270 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (92)
3 star:
 (49)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relationship between Peter and Rina continues to grow
"Milk and Honey" the third book in the Decker/lLazarus series continues their relationship between Peter and Rina.. By now followers of Kellerman's previous books know Peter Decker is studying with Rabbi Aaron Schulman to become the Jew he never was. His relationship with Rina has grown. He has proposed to her. While she's back east wrestling with his proposal Decker...
Published on December 10, 1997 by Harold L. Laroff

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars inconsistent
This book was good, however since Rina's Judaism is such a big part of these mysteries, I feel that Rina and Peter having sex before marriage was out of character (especially for Rina).
She is so strict about dietary laws, her clothing and hair covering, keeping the Sabbath....but she sleeps with Peter before marriage? I can't believe it.
It seems that in many...
Published on October 10, 2000 by Ima Reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tragedy in the family, January 25, 2007
By 
One night police sergeant Peter Denker stumbles on a two-year-old girl. She is covered in blood, but isn't hurt. After a lot of hard work Denker finds the home where the girl lived, but inside he discovers a massacre: four dead bodies, all covered with bees and honey. As if that isn't enough, one of Denkers friends is being accused of rape.

Faye Kellermans third Denker-novel is another pageturner. Filled with daunting descriptions of a family argument that turned into disaster. But also a novel about human emotions and friendship, and how friendship can change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Pete and Rina Mystery, May 4, 2009
This is a good mystery and page-turner up to the usual high caliber of Faye Kellerman's other books. Los Angeles Police Detective Peter Decker and his orthodox Jewish girlfriend, Rina, again star in a well-written mystery. I recommend this book for any mystery lover and any fan of Faye Kellerman's writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Multiple story lines held my attention, November 1, 1997
By A Customer
Another good Decker/Lazarus mystery. Kellerman does a good job of offering story lines complete in the one book as well as bits of her ongoing lines, not just for Peter and Rina but Marge as well. My gripe with this book is that while Kellerman accurately portrays the psychological cost of infertility, she gives inaccurate information about infertility treatments. She describes certain practices that certainly occur but are generally considered unethical as "common", and is wildly inaccurate about cost and physical pain associated with inseminations. Shame for scaring people in this way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The land of Milk and Honey, January 19, 2003
By 
karinam78 "Karina" (Darwin, NT Australia) - See all my reviews
Pete Decker is on the case of a missing child, but he finds is much more disturbing then the blood of her PJ's.
There is quite a lot of character development on Pete Decker in this novel and also a lot happening with his girlfriend Rina and it detracts from the mystery and tones down the nail biting thriller it could have been.
But if you are in to the books for the series it is all worth it.
Even though the book wasn't a thrill a minute I still read it in two days as it was relatively fast paced. The characters are deep and the mystery deeper. A very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 3rd Book in the Decker/lazarus Series, May 15, 2003
By 
Joey Quinton (Nancy, Kentucky, USA) - See all my reviews
It is late at night and Decker stumbles upon a small girl wondering the empty streets of suburbia. We know Decker has has found himself in the midst of another mystery when he discovers that young "Sally" is covered in dried blood.
In addition to this mystery we learn that Rina has gone to New York to consider Peter's marriage proposal. When she returns she finds herself in a subplot invloving an old army buddy of Peter's with a death wish.
Through it all Peter continues his serious and devoted study of Orthodox Judaism.
A wonderful read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A solidly good read......., December 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Milk and Honey (Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus Crime Thrillers Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Fast paced, well developed characters and plot. I gave four stars instead of five because I'm not a fan of sexually graphic content. There were some gory depictions that the squamish reader might want to be aware of in advance. Death isn't pretty, especially when some time has passed. I would have liked to have seen the necessary scenes handled more artfully and less graphically, though in defense I would say the crime scene imagery was memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars k, October 31, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Milk and Honey (Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus Crime Thrillers Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Faye Kellerman always produces great writing. The fact that she brought the war heroes from Vietnam Nam back into view makes us remember what the men went through. I like the fact that Decker makes some mistakes, as everyone does. His home life and detective work are shown as real life would be, not solved in an hour! A glimpse into the world of Judaism as an individual goes from Baptist to another religion. A good book, a GREAT author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Milk and Honey, July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Milk and Honey (Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus Crime Thrillers Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I give this book four stars. Compelling storyline, believable characters held the readers interest from beginning to end. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys a good mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Milk and Honey, July 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Milk and Honey (Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus Crime Thrillers Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Another page turner by Faye Kellerman. As in all her books she delves into personal relationships, mental anguish, and the mystery. So if you like a book that takes you in emotionally as well as intellectually read this as well as all of her other books. You'll be in for an enjoyable read no matter which one you pick up. The Decker/Lazarus novels have all been five star novels so far & I look forward to read the remaining novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Milk and Honey (Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus Crime Thrillers Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
An exciting book -- was also shown on tv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.