Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a soundtrack! It's a live set! It's both!
This is certainly one of the more unusual items in Nelson's storied album catalog. Nominally a soundtrack to the 1980 film in which Nelson starred, this is actually a live set of Nelson and several friends. Recorded in front of an enthusiastic (but polite) audience, it provides Nelson a chance to revisit many of his chestnuts ("On the Road Again" "Pick Up the Tempo"...
Published on September 6, 2003 by hyperbolium

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Willie fir President
Was a little less in the condition I was lead to believe. Did arrive with no problems though.
Published 1 month ago by David K. Marseillan


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a soundtrack! It's a live set! It's both!, September 6, 2003
By 
This review is from: Honeysuckle Rose (Audio CD)
This is certainly one of the more unusual items in Nelson's storied album catalog. Nominally a soundtrack to the 1980 film in which Nelson starred, this is actually a live set of Nelson and several friends. Recorded in front of an enthusiastic (but polite) audience, it provides Nelson a chance to revisit many of his chestnuts ("On the Road Again" "Pick Up the Tempo" "Bloody Mary Morning" "Angel Flying Too Close to the Ground") and several songs closely associated with him ("Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain" "Whiskey River"). Nelson and his band are loose and energized by each other and the crowd, taking well-known songs in new directions. The mood is that of a bunch of talented musicians passing around the guitar, rather than a formal, orchestrated concert.

In addition to Nelson's fine performances, the disc features excellent work from one time Texas Playboy fiddler Johnny Gimble (his "Fiddlin' Around" swings effortlessly), as well as Nelson's guitarist Jody Payne singing a harmonica-fueled version of Merle Haggard's "Working Man Blues." Also in attendance (and lured out of the audience) is famed Nashville songwriter Hank Cochran who sings his own "I Don't Do Windows" and "Make the World Go Away." Emmylou Harris performs a magnificent star-turn on Nelson and Cochran's "So You Think You're a Cowboy" and duets beautifully with Nelson on Rodney Crowell's "Angel Eyes."

Actress Dyan Cannon duets with Nelson on both "Loving You Was Easier (Than Anything I'll Ever Do Again)" and "Uncloudy Day," and flies solo for Nelson's "Two Sides of Every Story." No one would mistake her for a top-notch country singer (at times she over-emotes like Nancy Sinatra, at other times she sounds like Mary Kay Place), but she acquits herself reasonably well. Amy Irving also gets into the act, duetting with Nelson on Kris Kristofferson's "You Show Me Yours (And I'll Show You Mine)," and soloing on Nelson's "If You Want Me to Love You I Will." The latter, omitted from the original CD release, isn't a showstopper, but its rarity makes it an interesting addition to Nelson's catalog.

In contrast to traditional live albums such as "Willie and Family Live," this disc provides a sense of what it's like to ride the bus with Willie Nelson. Great songs, great singers, and a great time. Columbia/Legacy's remastering is balanced and sharp, with the audience blended so as not to be distracting. The bonus unreleased tracks (Nelson's "Yesterday's Wine" and a speedy take of "Good Hearted Woman") are nice additions, but nearly overwhelming as they extend the disc to 78:26. Jonny Whiteside's liner notes are long on admiration for Nelson, but short on details about the recording or film from which it sprang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Willie in a Great Collection, March 9, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This selection of just-perfect Willie Nelson songs comes from a largely forgettable but very enjoyable (to me, anyway) film from the 80s that starred Willie Nelson playing a country music superstar (hmmmmm, I wonder who thought of that casting?). We see him in concert singing some of his quintessential classics along with some newer material as he begins a clandestine affair with his last-minute backup singer (played by a young and glowing Amy Irving, but that's another review altogether).
The songs loosely follow the plot of the movie, which is why I mentioned the movie at all--and they are just absolutely perfect. What can one say about Willie Nelson in a review that hasn't already been said, except to say that this very fine collection is, in my opinion, a must-have, soundtrack or not.
I don't know where "Honeysuckle Rose" ranks on the Willie Nelson best-seller list, but I can say that it ranks in my own top 5. If I want Willie in all his glory, I turn to this CD. I urge others to give it a try as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Willie at his best!, March 8, 1999
By 
nwesternrr@yahoo.com (Where abouts unknown) - See all my reviews
If you have ever lived the country music life style you'll love this. It is good ol' gut wrenching tear jerking music,sung from deep with in side of Willie and Cast ,A must for anyone serious about REAL country 5 stars for Willie's singing and a 10 for Diane Cannon (if you know what I mean!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For 20 years he's been singing to the country.But he never figured he'd be living his own love songs., February 18, 2011
This review is from: Honeysuckle Rose (Audio CD)
It's hard to believe that the movie "Honeysuckle Rose" came out in 1980--man! that's over 30 years ago.This 2-album set is music from the original soundtrack.It of course stars Willie;but it also includes some of his friends and musicians who were at the height of their careers;and some of them are still "on the road" today.
This is a great selection of Willie's music and unlike most of his recordings,it has the feel of having been recorded on the bus,or just hanging around the movie set or motel,or a smll bar.There are a lot of rough edges,all kinds of cheering,shouting,etc.,which makes it seem like you are right there with them all;engoying them making their music.Most of the songs are popular Willie tunes;but there are some others that are quite different.
Willie sings 10 of the songs alone;but there are also several where he is accompained with other great artists such as Dyan Cannon,Amy Irving,Emmylou Harris.Others such as Johnny Gimble,Jody Payne,Hank Cochran,Kenneth Treadgill,Amy Irving Emmylou Harris and Dyan Cannon sing songs alone.Then ,there's even a duet with other legend country singers,Hank Cochran and Jeannie Seely.
Even if you have several Willie Nelson collections,but you don't have this one;you will find it a great addition to your collection.
Another thing that makes this vinyl ,2-album set a real treasure is the album cover.It has 46 wonderful colored photographs of the actors and stars from the movie .Then, to complete the "package", there is a great painting on the cover of Dyan Carrol,Willie and Amy Irving,that should be called "On The Road Again".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Example of Willie Live, December 24, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honeysuckle Rose (Audio CD)
The late 80's brought a change to country music. In my opinion, country music was turned into wimpy rock, with cutesy funny clever lyrics, like the one about where the guy's wife took the keys to his truck but she forgot about his John Deere. Or "Welcome to Earth, Third Rock from the Sun." And who can ever forget, "What Part of No Don't You Understand."

When I was a kid, my dad played Willie Nelson a lot. One album I vaguely remembered was the soundtrack to "Honeysuckle Rose." While it isn't the greatest movie, I remember thinking that it was a great vehicle to show Willie playing live.

I just recently bought this CD and after several listens believe that this is what great country music sounds like live. Very much like a rock show, the energy level is greater than what one would expect from country like "The Grand Ole Opery" or "Hee Haw."

It's not only Willie Nelson, either. There's a great version of "I Don't Do Windows" on here, and the fiddle playing on "Fiddlin' Around" is great. The lyrics are simple, like any simple rock song, but they serve as a nice compliment to the fiddle solos.

Totally recommended for the fans of "Outlaw" country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honeysuckle Rose CD, August 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honeysuckle Rose (Audio CD)
This is a great CD by Willie Nelson and family. After watching the movie I had to have the CD. Willie always sounds great on anything he does and would recommend it to anyone who loves Willie Nelson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honeysuckle Rose (Audio CD)
always good,,, movie or soundtrack!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I absolutely love everything I've ever heard Willie do, July 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I absolutely love everything I've ever heard Willie do, so it's difficult for me to be completely objective. However, I can honestly say that this is easily one of the best country music soundtracks I'VE ever heard. I enjoyed the movie & this soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say..., June 21, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honeysuckle Rose (Audio CD)
What can I say...I just love Willie Nelson...The movie itself is pretty good but for me I just love watching Willie play and sing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Long Live Willie!, June 1, 2014
By 
Robert D. Rosen (Sarasota, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honeysuckle Rose (Audio CD)
I love this movie and have seen it at least 5 times since it came out about 30 years ago. I bought it because there is no place to rent it anymore. Netflix doesn't have it anymore, although they did at one time. I am totally engrossed each time I watch it. The combination of Willie playing a character pretty much like himself and all the great music make for a totally great experience, especially if you are a Willie fan. (However, if you are not a Willie fan you probably will not like this movie). Slim Pickens is great in it too as are Dyan Cannon and Amy Irving. If you love Willie, you must have this!
Correction: I recently bought both the audio soundtrack from Honeysuckle Rose and also the movie DVD. Just realized I wrote this review for the movie. The audio soundtrack is great, but the DVD combining the songs with Willie on screen is even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Honeysuckle Rose
Honeysuckle Rose by Willie Nelson (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.