Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon King easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 5, 2013
The idea for the story and the plot itself were good ones. I enjoyed the trash to treasure aspect of the book. But poor editing ruined the story. Several times the author mixed up different character's names, she repeated phrases verbatim and she had characters behave one way and then do an about face and behave out of character for no reason. As an editor myself, I think it's an embarrassment the editor didn't pick up and correct these discrepancies before the book was published. If you can overlook that, it's a nice little read.
11 comment25 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2012
I'm a huge fan of Rose Pressey and was really excited when this came out. I read it in less than 12 hours (I had to sleep some...) This is one of the best amateur sleuth mysteries I have read in a while. The plot was good, the writing fun, and I felt like all my questions were answered by the end. Can't wait for the next one!
0Comment27 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2012
Raelyn is just your typical small town outsider. No one seems to like her because she has divorced one of their "shining" boys. Now she is stuck in this small town with no one but her best friend Claire Ann. Until she discovers that she has become the new heiress to a large Victorian home, left to her by a virtual stranger. Now, she knows no one really likes her. From her crazy neighbor lady to the town's own Mayor's wife. Her first night in her new home finds her cowering in her bedroom with strange noises, only to come down the next morning to find a dead body in her yard. What more can happen, you might ask, a whole lot more and then some! A new must read from Rose Pressey! Can't wait for the sequel! Love her books!
0Comment19 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2012
this is an awesome book... just love Rose Pressey she does an awesome job with all her books... I love all the neat things she does with thrift store and junk stuff. Just love Rae and Claire Ann..
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2012
Murder at Honeysuckle Hotel is a true treasure! Raelynn Pendleton is a newly divorced outsider in the small town of Honeysuckle, Kentucky, She dreams of turning her newly inherited victorian home into a hotel and aiding in the rebirth of the town's historic main street. Before she can breathe new life into thrift store finds her dreams are interrupted by the discovery of a dead body in her backyard. As the town turns against her, Rae takes crime solving into her own hands. After all, she has read enough murder mysteries to prepare herself for this. The story is a fun, fast paced read with multiple storylines and a great cast of characters. Honeysuckle is home to a town drunk who constantly loses his glass eye, the mayor's evil wife who is out for world domination, a fiercely loyal best friend who loves to gossip and a smoking hot sheriff that wants to serve and protect Raelynn. In addition to a great story, we are provided with awesome trash to treasures decorating tips and techniques. As a firm believer in "one man's trash is another man's treasure" I love this aspect of the story. Decorating without a budget is never easy and Raelynn has an entire home to re-do. Her repurposing of objects and decorating tips are spot on. This book is perfect for anyone and I highly recommend it. Rose Pressey does not disappoint and I hope there are more adventures for Raelynn in the future!!
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2012
I bought the book based on the reviews, and yes, the book is easy to read and some characters are interesting, But I found the book to be elementary. Situations seemed to contrived, interactions were open-ended or left unfinished with question marks as to the purpose or relevance to the story. At times, the verbosity or analysis of the situation didn't fit the time frame that the action was happening so it seemed skewed or unnatural.
Perhaps this book was meant for a younger audience?
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2012
Murder at Honeysuckle Hotel is the latest Rose Pressey novel and it does NOT disappoint. I will start by saying this is not a paranormal romance. There aren't any vampires, weres, angels or fairies running amok. That being said, things in the town of Honeysuckle are anything 'but' normal when our heroine finds a dead body in the backyard of her new home. What ensues is a wonderfully cozy and quirky mystery to figure out the real killer is. While not paranormal, the author does maintain a "ghosty" vibe throughout the story.

This is a great read. I started it and didn't want to stop...I read it in two sittings. The author does a nice job of bringing life to all of her characters, even the supporting cast are well-rounded folks you can imagine running into around town. The mystery is well done and the plot moves along at a nice clip with a sweet romance that doesn't overwhelm the mystery. What I really love is this author's writing style. It's clear, vivid and easy to read. Wonderfully well-edited and like all of this author's works, it was simply a pleasure to read.

I hope this is the first book of many that follow Raelynn and her hunky Sheriff. Great book by a fabulous author.
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2012
I tried to like this book but just couldn't. When I look for a cozy mystery I expect a strong heroine, a likable cast of characters and a setting that I want to return to over and over again.

Honeysuckle was not a town I wanted to spend any time in. The townspeople were mostly judgmental and unwelcoming to strangers. The only thing I liked about the town was the house.

Also, the potential romance between the sheriff and the heroine seemed forced. He is investigating a murder (with only periodic appearances) and she is busy getting distracted by romantic fantasies every time he talks to her. At one point it was suggested that she initially met him when he pulled her ex husband Ross over when they first came to town, then later the sheriff said that he "let her go once and Ross got you" (which made no sense based on the prior scenario).

I am sorry - this book just didn't work for me at all.

P.S.

Please check the editing on future editions. One example: In the about author section was the comment "She can't help myself."
0Comment16 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2012
Raelynn has just moved into town. She works at the local grocery and is nice to everyone. One elderly lady who she had been kind to dies and leaves her a home. Before she even moves in there is a murder in her new backyard. When she meets the local, very hot, Sheriff Kent Klein, things really take a turn for the better. Or has it.

Raelynn enjoys shopping at thrift shops and repurposing furniture and household items. She decides to open up her new home as a bed and breakfast. Her first customer seems to have some secrets and the mystery of who murdered the lady in her back yard begins.

I enjoyed this book. I laughed out loud several times and found the repurposing of the furniture very interesting. It is a good ideal in this time of uncertainty. You will enjoy the story and it is a very fun book to read.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2013
Formula writing. Dialogue was simplistic. Easy read if you aren't too particular about literature. Didn't find any particular ideas, good or otherwise, for crafting if that was indeed part of the "plot".
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse