Customer Reviews


880 Reviews
5 star:
 (368)
4 star:
 (242)
3 star:
 (109)
2 star:
 (78)
1 star:
 (83)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,214 of 1,266 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT UNIT, Don't know what all the Negative stuff is about.
Is it PERFECT? of course not, but is IS Darned Good. I gave a 4 ONLY because there were some minor things that could have made it better (Most of which you find on the more expensive units) which seems fair enough, you want more "Gizmo's" you pay for them. really I should change it to a 5. My experience has been just great.

NEGATIVE THINGS I HAVE READ HERE FROM...
Published on February 16, 2011 by Jeff B

versus
92 of 103 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why reviews posted before 2012 don't matter
Honeywell (actually Kaz) has seen its quality control go downhill. After using an HCM-3060 flawlessly for well over 11 years that I cracked, I bought an HCM-300T. The bearings in the motor failed after 15 months, consistent with reviews posted on Amazon and throughout the internet.

In doing my research, the HCM6009 had a 5 year warranty and was a Proudly Made...
Published 19 months ago by Geoff Miller


‹ Previous | 1 288 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,214 of 1,266 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT UNIT, Don't know what all the Negative stuff is about., February 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honeywell QuietCare 9-Gallon Output Console Humidifier with Air Washing Technology, HCM-6009 (Kitchen)
Is it PERFECT? of course not, but is IS Darned Good. I gave a 4 ONLY because there were some minor things that could have made it better (Most of which you find on the more expensive units) which seems fair enough, you want more "Gizmo's" you pay for them. really I should change it to a 5. My experience has been just great.

NEGATIVE THINGS I HAVE READ HERE FROM OTHERS, That Just Don't Bear Out in First Hand Experience: (I almost didn't buy this unit because of all the nasty things people wrote)

Maybe the Biggest Gripe is "Oh My, It's Sooo LOUD"
I frankly have NO IDEA what these people are complaining about. It is Not Totally Silent (Was that expected?) but even just 4-5 feet away from the unit running Full Tilt, Max Everything I have ZERO PROBLEMS holding a normal conversation or watching TV. (Mine sits right Next to my TV and I have not adjusted the volume from what it was before I started using this unit) The "Noise" is NOT Linear in nature. The unit has 3 fan speeds; LOW lets make sound level =1; MED lets call sound level =2-2.5; and Yeah, HIGH/MAX is sound level =5 (as an example) There is a Significant difference between Med and High, BUT As I Said, NO Problems talking or hearing TV even on MAX. (for the record, I just moved here and had not had a humidifier previously, it wasn't necessary. So This winter season I was WAY LATE buying one and getting started. My house was down to just 15% and I had this unit running MAX Output for a Week as is slowly dragged the humidity levels up. So I am WELL Acquainted with the sound of this device (at it's worst). Just yesterday i got the house up to 47% and set the humidity dial on the unit to cycle on & off (more on this later). It has been described as Airplane taking off, Hurricane, etc.... Either the fan unit was not set back on the unit properly and it's vibrating (see "user error") or These people just got a Lemon ? (return it and get a new one) or they are just gripey people who needed SOMETHING Nasty to say, because this thing just IS NOT LOUD.

Next "Water spills all over the floor"
BUNK (period). I suppose if you are some sort of nut job who throws things around and slams things, etc. you MIGHT be able to make a wave or two in there, but the ONLY water I have seen has been the OCCASIONAL (not every time) drop or two, Never a "Puddle" (And I have ALL Hard Wood Floors, so this is a real issue for me) and the "Drops" came from the OUTside of the tanks as a by-product of filling them in my sink. I now keep a kitchen towel next to the area I fill the tanks and give them a quick wipe before walking back to the unit and NO MORE DROPS. *NOW* With All That Said Given that I DO have hard wood floors and a leak of any kind could be a "not good" thing for me I have taken the precaution of buying a plastic bin I am setting the device inside of. It is big enough that IF somehow the whole thing drained the full max water volume out, the bin can hold that and more. Just Good (and cheap) insurance. If you were wondering? I bought ((Underbed Plastic Storage Container - Set of Two (Clear) (6.25"H x 18"W x 28"D))

One of My FAVORITE Complaints ?? "You have to Refill the water too much" or "It uses too much water"
REALLY ?? Just THINK about this one. You BUY a Humidifier to .... Put Water In Your Air --- And You Complain about it Doing EXACTLY what you paid for ?? I mean, was the idea you buy a Big Unit to put LOTS of humidity in the air of a large house --- and it runs off a thimble of water for 3 months ??? NO, You would only get a Thimble full of Humidity. I just find this complaint SILLY. It's Doing it's Job. On a more practical note, one I have personally been going thru. As discussed above, My house was down to about 15% humidity when I started this unit up. What is More Important was it is NOT JUST THE AIR that is dry. The Walls are dry, the floor, ceiling, furniture, EVERYTHING was Dry, so putting some moisture in the AIR, doesn't solve your problem, the house just sucks it up and your air is dry again, It Takes Quite a While to raise the humidity level of EVERYTHING in the house up before you can have the unit cycle on & off as it NOW just keeps the Air moist. (As I said About, Mine ran for about a full week 24/7 Full Max to bring the house up to a good level. NOW it is cycling on & off (as of last night) where a refill on those tanks will last longer and I wont be filling them twice a day every day (Yes, I know the math suggests I would have been filling 3 times a day, but it just didn't turn out that way. It was 2 or just slightly over 2, but I Never filled 3 times in 24 hours, Not from EMPTY TANKS each time at least. There were plenty of 1 Empty tank and the other 1/2, or 2/3rds empty refills. Now that rate has slowed WAY DOWN and I would expect to maybe fill just Once a day. Later on when the Weather gets less dry I can see this unit lasting Several Days on a single fill.

One lady said the tanks were too heavy. said that "A Gallon is too heavy", Well, 1- they are 1.5 Gallons each; 2-a Gallon of water weighs 8 pounds and that is the weight of a new born baby -- and babies don't have handles. OK, 1.5 gallons -- so thats 12 pounds and we are talking about a 3-4 month old baby now, same thing. Women pick up 3-4 month old babies all the time and they don't come with handles, Plus they Wiggle. So, REALLY ?? Grocery sacks average more than 8-12 pounds unless you are buying nothing but rice cakes and bread. Again, the ENTIRE IDEA is to put water in the air, stop complaining that it's bad, because it does its job.

One "Semi-Ledgit" issue was the lack of Digital controls to dial in an exact humidity level.
TRUE, that is part of what I was talking about at the beginning about "Gizmo's" that were not on this unit, BUT ARE on the more expensive units. Do you Buy a Chevy and say the Chevy is JUNK, because it is Not a Rolls Royce ?? If you want a Rolls, go BUY one. This unit is a Chevy.

However; another complaint was that the lack of the digital controls didn't allow for setting a reliable humidity level. Again, BUNK. as I said yesterday my house got up to where it was comfortable and (as in the instructions) I turned the humidity dial down until the unit shut off. Then leave it and see what you have. (YES, you need to have a reliable temp/humidity gauge. They sell nice ones on here for like 7 or 8 bucks. This unit didn't claim to show you the humidity. You can do it by FEEL if you want, or buy the gauge and know. I was shooting for something between 45-50%. I saw 47 on my gauge and set the dial on the unit. In the last 24 hours EVERY TIME I have checked the gauge it is at either 47% or 48%, and I would call that VERY ACCURATE. I'm going to leave it where it is another week or so till we get another cold snap and see if it holds the level. Once I'm convinced it's right, its time for the Sharpie Pen and put a little Dot or Line on the dial so I can hit the same spot next year. (I't Not Rocket Science)

You can say you don't like the color, the wheels are funny, you don't like the shape, or just say it's Momma Wears Army Boots, if you feel like saying SOMETHING Nasty, but the Bottom Line is the unit is well priced given its market and features and it does its job very well.

IDEA'S?

I found one Great One; that was every time you fill the tanks and replace them, Pop the Top of this unit and flip the filter over. The top edge of the filter dries out as it works and if left that way will, in time, get crusty with stuff and no longer soak up water as effectively. (like if you tried to flip it over only ONCE in its life span, that second half isn't going to work as well) I have found that by doing this the filter stays moist and functional and just works better. (It takes an extra 20 seconds, and it's worth it)

I'm using the bacteriostatic stuff they show as a companion product. Since i have not run it without this stuff I really cant say if it does anything, but it is cheap ($4-$5) and you only use like 1/2 cap full in each tank when you fill the tanks, so it Lasts a long time. What I CAN SAY is I have not had ANY buildup of Funky Stuff in the tanks or reservoir of the unit, and as I said, with the flipping of the filter and this bacteriostatic stuff the filters are still soft and absorbent.

Hope this Helps, I had Concerns when i bought and ended up wishing someone had "Cleared the Air" for me, so I did it for you.

BTW, I have purchased a SECOND Unit and plan to put it in my Upstairs bedroom. (I have no "Noise" Fears) I have a small ultrasonic unit up there now that just isn't doing the job. by itself it could only raise the air from 15% to 20%. Once I got this big guy put to work downstairs I have seen the humidity slowly rise to between 30% - 35% which isn't bad given it is only the moisture that manages to make it past the heater as it gets circulated upstairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


131 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Takes More Than Just Water, But It Works Really Well, March 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honeywell QuietCare 9-Gallon Output Console Humidifier with Air Washing Technology, HCM-6009 (Kitchen)
Proper humidification is a must for me. Having spent the prior 18 months in a home with a centrally installed Honeywell Humidifier only reminded me of that. When we moved back we quickly realized (stuffed noses, dry skin, etc...) that we needed humidification badly. After purchasing a Acu-Rite 00325 Home Comfort Monitor, Black I had confirmed our need. Our bedroom was averaging 25% relative humidity. Sometimes lower. I'll let you do your own research about the impacts of humidity levels that low, but I was pretty shocked.

After reading about the various models available, I settled on the Honeywell HCM-6009 for a variety of reasons. Known brand (I had experience with Honeywell humidification as noted above), fair price, and overall reputation of the unit on Amazon. I also gathered that just adding water and letting it run was a recipe for disaster (mold, clogged filters, diminished performance). So I purchased Holmes S1708 Bacteriostat for Cool Mist Humidifiers and use one cap-full in each water tank refill. I also placed one ProTec PC-1 Humidifier Tank Cleaning Cartridge (Pack of 2) in each of the tanks. These should last for about a month each. You'll also be replacing filters on a somewhat regular basis (at least once per season). I stocked up on RPS Products HW14 Water Wick when I ordered the humidifier. I figured that having all of the necessary supplies on-hand would only encourage my Wife and I to keep up with proper cleaning.

The unit raised the humidity level of our fairly large master bedroom to 42% fairly quickly using the high fan setting. Once established (measured using the digital humidistat mentioned above) I set the fan to low and lowered the humidity control on the Honeywell until the light came on, indicating that it was in 'Auto' mode. Since then, it has held the correct humidity level (+/- 2%) with ease. The sound of the unit running on low is actually quite plesant, though we choose to sleep with white noise, so if you prefer total silence it could bother you a bit.

Our low humidity symptoms have basically disappeared, and the unit's maintenance has proved to be easy and entirely manageable. I typically refill both tanks every-other day, though the refill frequency will vary greatly (based on variables like your normal relative humidity, room size).

Cool-mist and steam units are gimmicky at best, and can potentially damage your walls/belongings with condensation by over-saturating the air. Not-to mention the increased chances of mold in those situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


121 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works as intended with great output, November 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honeywell QuietCare 9-Gallon Output Console Humidifier with Air Washing Technology, HCM-6009 (Kitchen)
I have used many different humidifiers over the years ranging from warm mist (higher electric bills, more difficult to clean and maintain), ultrasonic (I had a lot of white dust with these units), and cool mist (medium size units, which all broke over time). Most of them stated large or medium rooms, and would never really get the humidity level up quickly or maintain that level easily throughout the day. This one definitly has the output to do so and has been comparatively quiet compared to the ones i have used prior. The fan blower is actually not a regular fan with blades out (which was on my old model, and was very very loud on the highest output setting), this one is bearable and the fan is more of a wheel fan (i guess that is what they call it) with the blades internal (which makes it quieter and preferred for me). Anyway, the output is great on this if that is what you are looking for and this one actually shuts off when it hits the humidity you set (something my older ones never did, since it never output this much humidity they would always stay on).

The cons to this is the fill tanks, I believe someone else mentioned this as well. They are NOT shaped very well for ease of filling and transportation (and have sharp edges), so becareful when you do fill them cause they get slippery as well and can crack easily if dropped. Another one is the overall size (it is fairly large with wheels to help move around the house if needed), but the size helps this humidifier have one of the highest outputs as well for the price.

Also note, the air blows out cool (since the water is cool) and blow out the sides in almost a full 360 degress through the sides (more like 270 degrees around). so don't expect the air to blow through the top on this model (like my other units used to do).

Stock up on some wicks as well, not sure how long they will hold up (maybe 1 month each at constant use before needing replacement - they say 2-3 months but i dont' believe them, since mold can grow on them if used too long), I bought 4 for this winter season.

Hope this helps someone.

I couldn't be happier with this compared to the previous ones i have used in the past, now let's hope it lasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


180 of 198 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It works, February 23, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honeywell QuietCare 9-Gallon Output Console Humidifier with Air Washing Technology, HCM-6009 (Kitchen)
First I went cheap and bought a small evaporative unit. The large filter was "permanent", but required occasional decaling and the small pump filter kept getting gummed up. I then purchased a warm mist unit, it worked at first and when required continuous use to barely maintain the proper humidity level. After got my electric bill, I stopped using it. Finally I purchased this unit. Works perfectly, keeps the house at the level I want (45%) and only automatically turn on when needed. The dual water tanks are also nice. I suggest you get a unit rated to at least double your home's square footage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 103 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why reviews posted before 2012 don't matter, February 8, 2013
By 
Geoff Miller (Kanata, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Honeywell QuietCare 9-Gallon Output Console Humidifier with Air Washing Technology, HCM-6009 (Kitchen)
Honeywell (actually Kaz) has seen its quality control go downhill. After using an HCM-3060 flawlessly for well over 11 years that I cracked, I bought an HCM-300T. The bearings in the motor failed after 15 months, consistent with reviews posted on Amazon and throughout the internet.

In doing my research, the HCM6009 had a 5 year warranty and was a Proudly Made in USA product. The owners manuals found online from a few years back confirm this.

Not any more.

The new HCM6009 -- just like my kaputz HCM300T -- has been quietly outsourced to China. Even worse, Kaz quietly reduced the warranty from 5 years to 3 years. And Kaz now charges US$10 or CAD$15.50 (in Canada) for warranty service, not to mention the shipping costs you incur for sending it back to their return center.

Again, the Kaz/Honeywell products of recent times have gone downhill in the quality and warranty department. Regrettably, this no longer is your grandfather's humidifier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


202 of 235 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Form and function pros and cons, March 18, 2007
By 
Jay L. Knyal (Arlington Heights, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Honeywell QuietCare 9-Gallon Output Console Humidifier with Air Washing Technology, HCM-6009 (Kitchen)
I really debated about giving this item three or four start. I decided on four because bottom line it does a good job getting moisture in the air and some design items work well. For instance, it is on wheels so it is easy to move and the water fill containers are manageable. They had the forsight to make two instead of one and the handles are comfortable.

Now for some negatives. At the highest setting, it is still pretty loud. I live in a condo so, if I'm watching TV I usually keep it on the second highest setting or wear headphones and keep it at the highest setting. Here is another noise issue- when it starts getting empty, a loud humm starts up. Another thing I don't like is that you can't control or see what the humidity level is- it just kicks out. I think this feature is available on a higher model but it seems like it should be available on this one for the price they are asking.

Probably the biggest issue I have with this unit is that it has a side discharge for air rather than through the top like most units. This is an issue for me because when I watch TV I usually sit on the floor (TV over a fireplace would never work for me) and this unit blows COLD AIR out and it is quite uncomfortable. You could make the argument to move it somewhere else, but for maximum benefit you should keep it where you spend most of your time.

So ther you have it. I probably should give it three stars but it does what its supposed to do well- with some design issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works Terrific, June 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honeywell QuietCare 9-Gallon Output Console Humidifier with Air Washing Technology, HCM-6009 (Kitchen)
I have been using this humidifier for about 4 weeks now & it does a great job. I live out in the desert and it is hot & dry resulting in dry sinuses for us & snarfing for our dogs. It has improved both conditions very well. I did buy a humidy indicator so I could keep an accurate reading of the levels in our house and adjust the output as I needed. I have noticed way less desert dust in the house with the "air washing" & I see it on the filter. I am not having to oil all of our rustic mexican wood furniture as often either. With the Pro Tech Cartridges I just rinse out the trough, no hard cleaning yet. With two tanks it is easy to fill and the just set nicely in my sink. If you turn the curved side towards your faucet they stand right up on the carry handles, no big deal. In a normal setting a 24 hour run time may be accurate. In the desert however, at 105+ degrees I fill both tanks 3 times for a 24 run. Once I got the humidity up in our home I now run 24 hrs on the lowest setting with a medium fan and it maintains us at a good humidity level. I find it quiet and much less obnoxious then a fan running. I really like this unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


536 of 649 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Product, December 3, 2009
This review is from: Honeywell QuietCare 9-Gallon Output Console Humidifier with Air Washing Technology, HCM-6009 (Kitchen)
One might think from the product literature that you are buying a humidifier that has a 9 gallon water tank capacity. Not true. You are buying a humidifer that has the capacity to output 9 gallons of water per 24 hours. Since each water tank is only 1.5 gallons, this means you have to fill the tanks six times (three times each tank) to get the maximum output. Not very practical for a home humidifier.

To refill the water tanks you must turn them upside down. Unfortunately the bottom (i.e. the top turned upside down), is not flat. This requires a fair amount of juggling when you refill the tanks as they will not stand up by themselves. The engineer who designed this product must have missed the class on ergronomics.

Since you can not see in the water tanks when they are in use, and there is no low water indicator on the machine, you can not judge how much water is left by looking. You have to pick up the tanks. Again ergronomically challenging.

This product is very noisy on the high setting, similar to a window fan on high. Because the water tanks do not fit well, they vibrate when they are near empty.

If you place this product on a wooden floor, it will warp the floor from the humidity. The product also leaks when you refill it.

Best to pass this product by.

Update August 11, 2014

I see Amazon has updated the product description to make clear that you have to refill the tanks several times to get a 9 gallon output. Did my review contribute to that?

I also see that the price has been reduced. However its a razor versus razor blade issue. Honeywell makes its money on the replacement filters. Before you buy, check out the cost of the filters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Water tank design poor!, May 11, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honeywell QuietCare 9-Gallon Output Console Humidifier with Air Washing Technology, HCM-6009 (Kitchen)
The humidifier works well. However, the water tanks design is frustrating. The tanks will not set on a flat surface when turned upside down for refilling. You have to hold them steady as the water runs in, getting heavier and heavier. One of my tanks flopped over and sprang a leak at the seam between the clear and opaque halves. I fixed it with epoxy and glue, but it flopped again and broke the seal a couple of weeks later. I think this will happen to most tanks eventually. Honeywell should have provided a jig or stand to set the tanks in while filling, or better yet, have tanks that will set flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best whole house humidifier I have owned., December 18, 2008
This review is from: Honeywell QuietCare 9-Gallon Output Console Humidifier with Air Washing Technology, HCM-6009 (Kitchen)
I have had this unit in one of my houses since this past winter, and it is by far the best humidifier I own. It is quiet enough to keep in the bedroom at night, but powerful enough to easily humidify the 1000 square feet comfortably. With adjustable humidity settings, and 2 large tanks that you can fill separately without shutting the unit off make this very easy to use. The only thing that keeps me from 5 stars is it is difficult at time for me to get the filters due to my rural location, and the price is between 12-20 dollars depending on where I get them. Molding can be minimized with the treatment tablets (protec tank tabs) that are available, or the tiny amount of ammonia another person mentioned (if you don't mind the mild ammonia odor). I have owned 5 different brands from lasko, holmes, honeywell, hunter, and Essick, and this is the best of them all. Overall, a very good value for the extra price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 288 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.