Customer Reviews


715 Reviews
5 star:
 (369)
4 star:
 (142)
3 star:
 (72)
2 star:
 (44)
1 star:
 (88)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value door bell
I have been using this door bell for a few months now and I have been very happy with the performance. And the flashing light feature is great for anyone who is hearing impaired. I agree with the other reviewer that pre-drilled screw holes would have made the install a little easier.
Published on March 26, 2009 by K. Morey

versus
134 of 139 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars initial problems but replacemts work ok
I bought 2 of these having read the reviews on Amazon for this door bell & other makes & chose this unit as I know the Honeywell brand I thought Honeywell would make a good product. I live in Florida so we spend a lot of time outdoors. We needed 2 units so we could plug one inside & one outside the house by the pool. The distance from the door to outdoor pool area is...
Published on July 6, 2010 by Achenstrasse


‹ Previous | 1 272 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

134 of 139 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars initial problems but replacemts work ok, July 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honeywell RCWL105A1003/N Plug-in Wireless Door Chime and Push Button (Tools & Home Improvement)
I bought 2 of these having read the reviews on Amazon for this door bell & other makes & chose this unit as I know the Honeywell brand I thought Honeywell would make a good product. I live in Florida so we spend a lot of time outdoors. We needed 2 units so we could plug one inside & one outside the house by the pool. The distance from the door to outdoor pool area is less than 25 feet. The unit including the bell pusher is well built but you have to use the 2 sided tape to stick the bell pusher to your door frame or door. If you need to take it off (as I've had to do-see below) it leaves a mess & it takes some time to clean the residue of the tape/glue off. Screws are provided if you wish to make a more permanent fix but there are no pre- drilled holes in the bell pusher- presumably to stop water getting in if you use the tape instead.
The system seemed to work OK but now it only works intermittently which is more annoying than it not working at all. The other days I was waiting for a UPS delivery that had to be sent straight back - ie I needed to refuse delivery. Guess what? UPS did their typical- rang the bell & left the box on the step! Grrrrrrrrr!! The bell didn't work. Not UPS's fault but I was mighty unhappy with the door bell!
My front doors are steel plated hurricane doors but the signal does go through them- when it feels like it! I've tried the bell fixed to the door & to the frame. Sometimes it works but more often than not it doesn't or it may after several tries. People only ring once, wait a while (unless your a courier that is!) & ring again. They don't know your bell systems not working! It usually works on the 3rd or 4th try but no ones going to ring that many times!
I'm returning them to Amazon asking for replacements. I like the units (far better built than others I've seen) & I hope I've just been unlucky with a faulty batch (they're made in China). I hope they accept them back because the (usually impossible to get in to) bubble pack was thrown away before we realised the problem. If you buy this unit I recommend you keep all the packaging in case you need to do a return.
When I get the 2 replacement units I hope they work & I'll post an updated review.
I wish someone would come up with a wireless door bell that has a "sender" unit that you could attach immediately inside the door frame on the inside of the house (connected by wire to the bell on the outside). There must be a Boffin out there that could come up with this- I'd buy one!

UPDATE

Amazon very quickly replaced both units- even without getting toe old ones back first! Another reason from buying from this great customer focussed company. The new units work perfectly. I must has got 2 from a bad batch- which leaves a question mark over quality control. To date we've had no problems with the replacement units.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 111 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars limited range, August 7, 2009
This review is from: Honeywell RCWL105A1003/N Plug-in Wireless Door Chime and Push Button (Tools & Home Improvement)
The unit is loud enough to be heard at least a room away and the flashing light is a nice touch. It set up and worked O.K. It states on the package the 100 foot range will be diminished by walls. It failed to send a signal 35 feet to the rear of our house. Seems to be effective for about 25 feet when transmitting through exterior and interior walls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Screws, but no place to screw it in, November 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honeywell RCWL105A1003/N Plug-in Wireless Door Chime and Push Button (Tools & Home Improvement)
The ringer works great and as advertised. Loud, and wireless! However, this ringer allows two methods to mount it on a wall. It comes with either screws (where you can screw it in a wall) or it comes with this two sided stickie (wehre you can stil it to the wall). The sticker did not work that well for us. It fell off the same day which did not bother us much, in fact we were half expecting it. I then proceeded to get my drill out and was ready to screw the bell to our outside wall. However, looking everywhere I did not see a place to put the screw through. I was shocked. Am I really supposed to make my own hole through the actual unit, not knowing if I am going to damage anything? I found that hard to believe. Like a typical man I was doing this without reading through the instruction manual. I swallowed my pride, fished out the booklet and looked through it for the instructions in how to use the screws. I found the area and saw that there in fact is supposed to be an area to screw it through. Now either our unit does not have this hole or this is a giant overlook by the manufacturer. I think it is misdesign or hopefully it was just the unit I bought. Oh well, I purchased some gorilla glue (reviewed separately), glued it on a piece of wood, and screwed the wood into the wall. Improvisation! Although, the bell it self is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value door bell, March 26, 2009
By 
K. Morey (Northfield, NJ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Honeywell RCWL105A1003/N Plug-in Wireless Door Chime and Push Button (Tools & Home Improvement)
I have been using this door bell for a few months now and I have been very happy with the performance. And the flashing light feature is great for anyone who is hearing impaired. I agree with the other reviewer that pre-drilled screw holes would have made the install a little easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible range, loud bell, November 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honeywell RCWL105A1003/N Plug-in Wireless Door Chime and Push Button (Tools & Home Improvement)
When they say 100 ft range they must mean in an open field on a windless day, with zero sunspot activity, a brand new battery, and no radios, phones, electronics, small children, airplanes, or large insects within your zip code. If you plan on putting the bell on the outside of the door (duh...) and the receiver on the inside of the door (duh... again) good luck on having it reach more than 10 feet.

I am extremely disappointed in the range of this product. Otherwise this would be great. It has a nice loud selectable chime and a bright LED that flashes when the bell rings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 10 Ft Max Range, April 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honeywell RCWL105A1003/N Plug-in Wireless Door Chime and Push Button (Tools & Home Improvement)
The range is very limited (6ft) opposed to the description (100ft). I originally plugged it in my kitchen which is about 15ft from the push button and the chime will only sound if the entrance door was open. Once the door is closed (which is the only reason one needs a door bell) it will not work. I have to plug it within 3 to 6 ft of the push button for the Chime to work correctly. I also tried different channels with no better results. Now is plug-in by the hallway next to the entrance door but I really would like to have it by the kitchen or family room :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I am very disappointed, December 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honeywell RCWL105A1003/N Plug-in Wireless Door Chime and Push Button (Tools & Home Improvement)
I ordered this product and was thrilled it came in only 2 days. I opened up the package read the directions and placed the push button outside and it worked very well. That was the first day. I rang the bell many times to make sure it worked. Well the next day I went ring the bell and it would not work. I have no idea why. It could be because the weather is getting cold. I have no idea. I was thrilled to have ordered this product, happy it worked for only less then a few times that I rang the bell, and very disappointed I have to return it, because it does not work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Limited range and hopefully no walls in between..., April 17, 2012
This review is from: Honeywell RCWL105A1003/N Plug-in Wireless Door Chime and Push Button (Tools & Home Improvement)
Straight out of the box, this unit sounded great and seemed to work great. Unfortunately, I was testing at 3 feet away. When I put it outside our office door, there was too much interference to allow it to work. I emailed Honeywell and they asked whether I had any brick or metal in my walls. I have small amounts of each, but two glass and wood doors were between the receiver and push button ~15 feet and could not get it to work. I told Honeywell and they said, my walls could be causing interference. Well, if you have nothing that needs to be in between the receiver and push button it will work for you. Unfortunately, it didn't for us and we returned it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as they say, June 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honeywell RCWL105A1003/N Plug-in Wireless Door Chime and Push Button (Tools & Home Improvement)
Everything about this doorbell is fine until you move the push button more than 15 feet away.....I set this unit up in the kitchen with the unit pluged in 7 fett away and it was great then I installed the button to the door and it didn't work, took it off the door and brought it in the kitchen and it worked.....I snet it back today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars does not work nearly as far as suggested, October 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honeywell RCWL105A1003/N Plug-in Wireless Door Chime and Push Button (Tools & Home Improvement)
It does not work anywhere near 100 feet, which at not even at 50 feet, if you have doors between, makes this product useless for me.

The other features are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 272 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.