Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars124
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$49.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 28, 2006
For many of us, Hong Kong Phooey was the last great Hanna-Barbera cartoon character when it debuted in the fall of 1974. He was a Kung Fu crime fighting dog who never could quite go off the book. He was helped by a stripped cat named Spot. He was voiced by the immortal Scatman Crothers. The great Joe E Ross played Sgt. Flint.

Now don't get confused with the claim of 31 episodes. There were only 16 half hour long episodes. Each "episode" listed below was half the show except for the final "Cowboy" adventure that was the full 30 minutes. It'll be great to have the complete collection on the shelf in time for the 32 anniversary of Hong Kong Phooey.

The episodes will be presented in Full Frame (1.33:1) video, with an English mono audio track (with subtitles in English, French and Spanish). Here's a look at the episodes:

Disc 1

Car Theives

Zoo Story

Iron, Head, The Robot

Cotton Picki' Pocket Picker

Grandma Goody (Cat Burglar)

Candle Power

The Penthouse Burglaries

Batty Bank Mob

The Voltage Villian

The Giggler

The Gumdrop Kid

Professor Presto (The Malevolent Magician)

TV or Not TV

Stop Horsing Around

Mirror, Mirror on the Wall

Great Movie Mystery

Disc 2

The Claw

Hong Kong Phooey vs. Hong Kong Phooey

The Abominable Snowman

Professor Crosshatch

Goldfisher

Green Thumb

From Bad to Verse (Roten Rhymer)

Kong and the Counterfeiters

The Great Choo Choo Robbery

Patty Cake, Patty Cake, Bakery Man

Mr. Tornando

The Little Crook Who Wasn't There

Dr. Disguiso

The Incredible Mr. Shrink

Comedy Cowboy

Special features include:

Documentary of the show from its development through its legacy. Includes production designs and never before seen original artwork as well as new interviews

"Hong Kong Phooey - The Batty Bank Gang: The Complete Storyboard" (11:56 mins) Motion Screen to storyboard comparison from the cartoon "The Batty Bank Mob"
0Comment|72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2006
The picture quality in these transfers is OUTSTANDING!!!!!! There are some nice extras with interviews from people who worked on the show. Just a very nice set. Only thing I did'nt like was the flipper disc, with a classic show like this I would have preferred 3 discs instead of 1 and a flipper , still this was well worth the money!!!!! A timeless classic to be enjoyed over and over. They did a great job with this DVD release!!!!! Can't say enough!!!!!
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2007
By 1974, even Hanna Barbera themselves admitted that the quality of stheir shows had gone downhill largely due to pressure from politically correct Children's TV watchdogs who wanted to sissify the cartoons into the sickeningly sweet New Zoo revue types, but I digress.

HKP was one of the last of the cartoon duo's classics.

First of all, the show was quite imaginative. A Kung Fu fighting dog janitor named Penrod Pooch in a police station who yearns to be a super hero, and his cat friend and sidekick who willingly puts up with his foolishness and resues him every time. Our man (OOPS! I mean dog) frequently refers to his "Hong Kong Book of Kung Fu" filled with bad advice that never works. If that's not creativity, tell me what is?

Secondly, brilliant voice talent. The great Scatman Crothers (who we kids of the time also knew as Louie the Garbage Man from Chico & the Man) was unbeatable as the title character. Joe E. Ross as the police sergeant and Rosemary the "Cuty whose always on the duty" added lively spark to the series.

Finally, it's just plain FUNNY! The humor is character based as opposed to bad puns. The sissy cowboy in the next to the last episode scolds his wild outlaw brothers for "messing up my crescent rolls."

Oh what a HOOT! Trust me, you and your kids will really enjoy this and this is one of those childhood pleasures that will not disappoint your memories when seeing it as an adult.
22 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2006
Hong Kong Phooey returns to your TV screen in this latest release of classic animation from the renowned Hanna-Barbera studios. Always on top of the day's pop culture, the studio released this series (originally called KUNG FOOEY) as HB's answer to the Seventies craze of martial arts movies, Bruce Lee, and the David Carradine series KUNG FU.

Voiced by the venerable Scatman Crothers (whose enjoyment of this character shines through in every performance), Hong Kong Phooey was the alter-ego of mild-mannered janitor Penrod "Penry" Pooch, who worked at the local police station with the loud-mouthed, stress-riddled Sergeant Flint (Joe E. Ross, another great character voice) and gorgeous, chatty telephone operator Rosemary (Kathy Gori). When evil threatened, Penry sneaked away to a back room where he leaped into a file cabinet (and repeatedly got stuck) to become the champion crimefighter Hong Kong Phooey. Armed with his loyal but long-suffering cat Spot (who was striped, and thought HKP was a dolt), his trusty but ultimately non-useful Hong Kong Book Of Kung Fu, and his transforming Phooeymobile, Phooey waged a courageous if bumbling one-man war on crime.

This was one of HB's strongest mid-Seventies shows, with an unforgettable theme song (that even included a scat part, courtesy of Crothers) and a wonderful, hilarious title character whose obliviousness to his own ineptitude and complete dumb luck made for some great cartoon television. Part of Phooey's likability is due to the talented Crothers' characterization; his warm voice and good-natured delivery create a character who is sympathetic even at his most egotistical or boneheaded. His supporting cast is also well-realized; Ross's Sergeant Flint captures the right foil for Phooey in his continuous attempts to gain a promotion and properly run a police station; Gori's Rosemary, head-over-heels in love with Phooey (but ignorant of his real identity), is a bright spot in the proceedings. And of course, the hardworking Spot, who mutters and curses as he repeatedly saves Phooey from his own klutziness, is essential to the humor.

The packaging is well-done, with colorful slipcase artwork and a disc-container made to resemble Phooey's Hong Kong Book Of Kung Fu. The discs themselves are one single and one double-sided with storyboards for one episode and a documentary on the creation and longevity of Hong Kong Phooey.

Pick this up for your cartoon collection and enjoy the exploits of the Number One Super Guy again, without commercials (or that annoying laugh track). FAN-RIFFIC!!!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2011
Only the first time around I saw Hong Kong Phooey on a 13" black & white tv set with antennas & occasional "snow". So it's really great to see these cartoons in color on a large tv. :) I bought this for memories & also to share with my grandkids. They love it & think it's a brand new cartoon, even though I explained to them that this is from the 1970's when I was their age. They love watching this & having me watch it with them. It's fun & special. If you liked Hong Kong Phooey, you will love this complete series. (btw, some things never change: Spot is still my favorite character).
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2006
Where were you at 9am on Saturday mornings in 1974/1975? If you were a kid in the 70's, you likely were watching ABC and the series Hong Kong Phooey.

Hong Kong's janitor alter-ego name is Penry, though a lot of folks thinks it's Henry.

To clarify, there are 30 10-minute episodes, and one 20-minute episode (Comedy Cowboy) plus a couple of minutes of beginning and ending credits. Normally, two episodes were shown each Saturday. Commercials filled in the remainder of the 1/2 hour.

The video quality is excellent and the documentaries are typical "behind the scenes" material.

The main reason to watch these shows today is for the nostalgia. The animation and the episodes were mediocre at best. But to a kid, they were golden. I'm hoping my kids will enjoy them.

A must-have for 70's collectors!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2007
I've waited for years for this. I remember being a little kid waking up on Saturday mornings eagerly anticipating the exploits of Hong Kong Phooey and his sidekick Spot. As with many things, however, anticipation is often the best part. Looking at this with the eyes of a thirty-something, the plot lines, acting, and animation just can't match my memories. That was not unexepected. The show is what it is. If you want a deep thought-provoking cartoon series with greater depth, humor, and quality, buy Rocky and Bullwinkle. If you just want to relive part of your childhood, the grab a bowl of Fruity Pebbles, put on your flannel pajamas, and drop in this DVD. Seeing my kids enjoy this cartoon as much as I did makes me realize that the magic of Saturday morning cartoons had little to do with the cartoons themselves, and much more to do with the imagination and innocence of being a child--combined with the sugar rush from the Fruity Pebbles...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2015
Hong Kong Phooey ----- According to the Hong Kong book of Kung Fu how can you go wrong!!!!
Excellent DVD video quality is excellent just wish they were more episodes. I used to watch this in the 80's as a kid and it still has me rolling.
Don't pass up the opportunity to hear Rosemary's hilarious phone answers "Hallo, hallo, this is Rosemary the telephone operator, the lovely lassie with the classy chassis"
As a kid never even realized this part of the show.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2015
OK, the reason why this set has three stars is that these episodes are edited! Yes these are NOT complete episodes, they are incomplete.

To try and fit them onto the disc (I assume) Warner Bros. used Syndicated masters and NOT the original Saturday Morning versions. Me and a friend of mine saw the episodes on the UK set and I got this to clarify that they are the same episodes and we both agree that scenes are clearly missing. Perhaps, Warner Bros. at the time only had access to the syndicated masters (which were edited to give more time to commercials and local TV network continuity) and didn't have direct access to the Saturday Morning masters, still it is a pity.

Other then that, the packaging is very nice and it does include some extras on the second (double sided) disc, which is more then what the UK got, though the second disc was not double sided, which explains the lack of extras, that this set has.

The only hope we have of getting the unedited episodes is very likely an MOD (manufacture on demand) release, but Warner Bros. and the public needs to know first that these episodes are incomplete. Hopefully the ball will be set into motion to find the Saturday Morning masters and have them released in an unedited set on DVD.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2014
This is an excellent classic cartoon series. You will enjoy watching this and can share this with your family. It is a very family friendly show. The print quality on the DVD is great and you will not be disappointed. This is a rare series and is very hard to find. It is definately work picking up on Amazon if it is still available.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.