Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete and error-proof
When I decided to read all or most of the Human Comedy in both English and French I thought that I would download each volume separately via the Gutenberg Project or other sites that deal with classics which are no longer subject to copyright laws and therefore do not charge for downloading. By chance I saw that both the French and the English versions of the complete...
Published 19 months ago by linguist

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough
I threw this Kindle fish back into the Kindle sea. It has no italics, which means you can't tell when Balzac is giving you quotes within quotes, when he is marking a word as slang, or when he is indicating (for example) that Baron de Nucingen is speaking in his usual heavy German accent.

There's a fair share of typos, too, but the lack of italics is decisive;...
Published 8 months ago by James M. Rawley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete and error-proof, May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honoré de Balzac : Oeuvres complètes - 101 titres La Comédie humaine (Nouvelle édition enrichie) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
When I decided to read all or most of the Human Comedy in both English and French I thought that I would download each volume separately via the Gutenberg Project or other sites that deal with classics which are no longer subject to copyright laws and therefore do not charge for downloading. By chance I saw that both the French and the English versions of the complete works were available at Amazon for a minimal price. I was willing to pay a small price for something that I could have got for free in the hope that the typos and poor page layout that plague the free downloads would not be found in the Amazon version. To my great pleasure I found that my hopes were not disappointed. The typeface is clear and the typos, that abound in the free version, are absent. Amazon even made some corrections and notified me to reload the new version. I have been very pleased with both the English and French versions. It was certainly worth the money. I am reading the books using my Kindle Paperwhite. I toggle between the two languages, use the French dictionary and the automatic link to word translation and to Wikipedia. My only complaint is that for a vocabulary such as Balzac uses the translation options are very poor - a link to a site such as WordReference or Google translate would offer more suggestions for the translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A French Classic, a must in one's library, worth much more than $3.99, September 26, 2012
By 
Armando Brons (MIAMI, FLORIDA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honoré de Balzac : Oeuvres complètes - 101 titres La Comédie humaine (Nouvelle édition enrichie) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
If from time to time you like to read in French, to pay $3,99 to have the pleasure to possess in your library the complete works of Balzac is a real bargain!. This edition is beautifully edited --as important books were printed in France in the early 1800's. The only UNFORTUNATE flaw in this beautiful Kindle edition is that there are no page numbers, only Kindle's location numbering system...
The problem with this numbering system is that depending on the size of the font you choose for your screen, the number of the location will change accordingly, and if, for instance, you would like to communicate to another reader of this book the location of a passage you particularly liked, unless He/she has on his/her screen the same font size, it will be cumbersome for him/her to find it quickly in his/her book.
That is the reason why I gave it only 4 stars.
BUT, BY ALL MEANS, DO NOT LET THIS DETER YOU TO ACQUIRE (at this bargain price) THIS BEAUTIFULLY EDITED FRENCH CLASSIC!!!

Armando Brons,
Caracas, Venezuela
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Balzac, Oeuvres complètes, October 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honoré de Balzac : Oeuvres complètes - 101 titres La Comédie humaine (Nouvelle édition enrichie) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
This is extraordinary to have the complete works of Balzac in French on my Kindle. I enjoyed the diversity and legibility of these volumes. I paid for them $1.99, and, needless to say the price is right :))!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Balzac to go!, November 6, 2012
By 
NdL (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Honoré de Balzac : Oeuvres complètes - 101 titres La Comédie humaine (Nouvelle édition enrichie) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Remarkable achievement to have the literary works of a monumental writer available wherever I travel. Highly recommend this French edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge Compendium of French Master Writer of C19, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honoré de Balzac : Oeuvres complètes - 101 titres La Comédie humaine (Nouvelle édition enrichie) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Way too early to review whole works of H.deB., his output was staggering. But what I have read so far is truly great. One of my favourites is "The Wild Ass's Skin" (La Peau de Chagrin).
One of the early leaders of the Romantic Movement in French Literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough, April 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honoré de Balzac : Oeuvres complètes - 101 titres La Comédie humaine (Nouvelle édition enrichie) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I threw this Kindle fish back into the Kindle sea. It has no italics, which means you can't tell when Balzac is giving you quotes within quotes, when he is marking a word as slang, or when he is indicating (for example) that Baron de Nucingen is speaking in his usual heavy German accent.

There's a fair share of typos, too, but the lack of italics is decisive; it's as bad as if three percent of the text were missing.

The COMÉDIE HUMAINE in the Kindle Neuchateloises edition has italics and looks much better in general. The text I checked with was COUSINE BETTE, and it's ten times better with italics and lots fewer typos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Balzac for next to free, November 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honoré de Balzac : Oeuvres complètes - 101 titres La Comédie humaine (Nouvelle édition enrichie) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I once knew a woman who read the complete "Comćdie humaine" every year. However she did it it would have been easier if she had had a Kindle and this wonderful work, but it was 1966. This great classic is a bit overwhelming, but it is possible to get great pleasure by just wending one's way through it -- wandering through a fascinating world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Une grande ouvre, December 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honoré de Balzac : Oeuvres complètes - 101 titres La Comédie humaine (Nouvelle édition enrichie) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
C'est magnifique d'avoir l'opportunité de lire une ouvre téllement importante a un price téllement reduite. Mercy a nouveau Amazon !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Time Flies When We're Having Fun, November 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honoré de Balzac : Oeuvres complètes - 101 titres La Comédie humaine (Nouvelle édition enrichie) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
How is anyone going to find the time to sit down and enjoy each of the stories in this imposing edition of Balzac's work? One by one, they elbow their way into our life by grabbing spare minutes and rearranging our day in such a way that gradually reading becomes more relevant. We learn to discard other forms of visual entertainment and opt for our own internal vision of this phenomenal genius' work to pass the time in awe, for his style, his composition, his craft as a novelist are all enthralling. From fifteen to twenty minutes of reading every other day, it's easy to make time if only to remain with the author's creation two to three hours at a time, longing for more each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure luxury!, March 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Honoré de Balzac : Oeuvres complètes - 101 titres La Comédie humaine (Nouvelle édition enrichie) (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
It's pure luxury to have all these Balzac titles at my disposal, in their original language, French. I'm so glad to have this opportunity to fill in the gaps of my knowledge of him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.