Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked- review
As a retired psychiatrist and internist, I found the book informative and challenging for today's adolescents and young adults especially. The chemical changes that occur in the brain as a reaction to exciting events (values neutral) in one's life are verifiable and the behavioral conditioning that occurs is scientifically true. That is why behavior that has been...
Published on July 18, 2009 by Anthony Markello

versus
31 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed, undeclared intentions detract from an otherwise valuable work
This book combines two priorities, on the one hand it is an interesting summary of psychological, neurochemical and imaging medicine for lay readers. It is well referenced and easy to read.

On the other hand it seeks to justify and defend traditional family values, the judicious choice of a life partner and particularly focusses on the emotional havoc done by...
Published on December 26, 2009 by Charles Soper


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked- review, July 18, 2009
By 
This review is from: Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children (Hardcover)
As a retired psychiatrist and internist, I found the book informative and challenging for today's adolescents and young adults especially. The chemical changes that occur in the brain as a reaction to exciting events (values neutral) in one's life are verifiable and the behavioral conditioning that occurs is scientifically true. That is why behavior that has been conditioned over a period of time and becomes habitual is very difficult, but not impossible, to change. Harvard research psychiatrist George Vaillant reported that long term follow up studies has shown that the ability to delay gratification and tolerate frustration are key ingredients to a happy and successful adjustment in life.
Other studies have shown that the refusal of people to delay gratification and engage in irresponsible behavior partly explains the marked increase in marital and family fragmentation, sociopathic behavior, sexually transmitted diseases, criminality, suicidal ideation, selfishness and self centeredness, hostile intolerance to differing viewpoints, and a lack of concern, compassion and sensitivity towards others. The challenge is to weigh the long term consequences of immediate gratification behavior, return to greater civility and become more respectful of other's feelings, attitudes and values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked, November 1, 2008
This review is from: Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children (Hardcover)
This book is a must read for every healthcare professional, educator, pastor, parent, teen, and abstinence organizer. It is Phenomenal. It is informative on every level. Just as another commentator wrote: "It exposes the dark side to teen sexual behaviors." I agree totally. We need to really sit down and start evaluating why these young people are in such trouble. As a Registered Nurse who sees young people daily, I am comfounded as to why they are so angry. This may be one of the root causes. I see them hurt and confused, and frankly they are so young and "Boy and Girl Crazy:, for lack of a better word. This book will give us a professionals, parents, and as adults an insight on something that these kids are do closed mouthed on. Please take the time to read it. You will be amazed as to what you will learn, and how true this book actually is. I am recommending it to everyone that I know.
Tracy Tucker, R.N., Indiana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Argument for Abstinence/Monogamy outside of "FAITH", September 2, 2008
By 
grneyelady (Houston TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children (Hardcover)
This is one of the most important books any parent will ever read. Why? In scientific terms (that non-scientists can understand) it lays out the convincing evidence that sexual activity before adulthood/marriage not only can be psychologically and emotionally damaging to men and women, but can create a chemically patterned response in the pre-frontal cortex of the brain, affecting even future relationships. Know a man who goes from woman to woman to woman, unable to commit to any lasting relationship? Have a female friend that consistently chooses bad/abusive men to 'love'? There is no mention of "GOD", or religion, other than in a generalized way, which means that you can feel comfortable in sharing this book both with people of faith and non-religious folk. After reading it the first time, I ordered 5 more copies for friends and family.

A must have for anyone with children, anyone who works with children, or who once upon a time........was a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot On, November 21, 2010
By 
Carrissima "Caro" (Manhattan, New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children (Hardcover)
Being a woman who supports no sex until marriage this book has validated everything I have seen and experienced amongst my friends.

I haven't met or known one of my girlfriends in NYC, that engage in casual sex, who have found any sort of fullfillment from this lifestyle. In fact I have only seen extreme heartache, humiliation and anger from every one of them.Regardless if they are 19 or 40.

Men have argued with me up and down how wrong I am. However, I have watched these men them go from girl to girl, cohabitating etc, never being able to love or have a mature relationship because all they base it on is sex from the very beginning.

In ten years take a guess as to who will have a happy marriage,meaningful life and divorce free future. I'll make a sure bet it won't be them .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hooked, November 7, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children (Hardcover)
The book should be required reading for young people who are just starting to think about their sexuality as well as on college campuses. I particularly liked the way the information is presented. It is based on scientific evidence and can't be condemned by anyone who is ready to negate anything that encourages abstinece as coming from the "religious right".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT AND NEEDED, October 20, 2008
This review is from: Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children (Hardcover)
Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children by Joe S. Mcilhaney, Jr., MD and Freda McKissic Bush, MD ...WOW! What a POWERFUL TOOL to help guide your children through the minefield of teen years when new hormones are raging and threatening to make your teen out of control and have the potential of ruining his or her life. Now, with this excellent book, you have the necessary FACTS of the risks posed by promiscuous and premature sexual activity, instead of just speaking in terms of morals or family values. In the last thirty years studies of the brain have revealed how damaging immature sex and sexual activity with multiple partners can be, not only in terms of the 25 new sexually transmitted diseases, (most of which are viral and hav not cures), but also in terms of promoting low self-esteem and suicide. The statistics of casual sex in high school and college are astounding, with over 50 - 75 percent of children 15 - 19 being participants in some form and over 70 percent of college students having frequent sex. The book gives the new facts, which give parents non-embarrassing tools for talking to children about uncommitted and casual sex. It also outlines dangerous situations which parents can help their young people avoid so that they can make wise decisions regarding sex. THIS BOOK IS AN ABSOLUTE MUST FOR ANY PARENT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understandable Science for Non-Scientists, February 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children (Hardcover)
This is a very understandable book for non-scientists. Authors McIlhaney and Bush explain what neuroscience has discovered occurs in the brain during sexual activity, and how sexual activity affects brain development. They recommend what a person should do for the best sex. You will have to read it to find out what that is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lifechanging, October 1, 2008
This review is from: Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children (Hardcover)
This book is cutting edge. If you are raising,care anything about, or work with children from infants through college age and you don't get this book-shame on you! Science now helps us see through MRI studies of brain development the physical results of emotionally immature decisions and how it can change the lives of our young people forever. Culture tells us otherwise, but our kids want and need people who care enough about what happens to them now and in the future to encourage them to make healthy and wise choices instead of taking the path of least resistance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOOKED New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children, September 21, 2008
This review is from: Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children (Hardcover)
Excellent book. Professionally supported by credible "Notes".
I recommend this book to all parents and professional. For the first time a scientifically based book on the impact sexual activity has on the brain is made clear and convincing. The material (the book) is a powerful tool to help not only young people and children but also adults.
Anyone teaching behavioral science and human sexuality must read this book in order to be fully credible in their instruction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recently discovered realities, September 28, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In our present media and popular culture, much is being said and believed about human sexuality (especially for and by those under 25) that psychologically and emotionally is not real and not true. Amid all of the popular agendas and hype, HOOKED can give you some objective facts about our human body and psychology concerning sex without marriage. Most people know little about the roles of oxytocin and vasopressin. Scientists are now beginning to see and understand the effects of sexual involvement that can last a lifetime. Sex can and should be a positive experience. It should be the intimate interaction between two persons who care for each other. (p.18)

The messenger chemical Dopamine makes a person feel good when he or she does something exciting or rewarding.
But the beneficial effect of dopamine for the married couple is that it "addicts" them to sex with each other.
Another neurochemical that is critically important to healthy sex and bonding is Oxytocin. While it is present in both genders, it is primarily active in females. (p. 35)

When a couple is involved in even a short-term relationship and breaks up and then each moves on to a new sexual partner, they are breaking an oxytocin bond that has formed. This severing of the bond explains the incredibly painful emotions people often feel when they break up. Vasopressin seems to have two primary functions related to relationships--bonding of the man to his mate and attachment toy his offspring. Due to the remarkable structural similarity between oxytocin and vasopressin, it should come as no surprise that these two neurochemicals share similar activity. Often referred to as the "monogamy molecule," vasopressin seems to I be the primary cause of men attaching to women with whom they have close and intimate physical contact. The longer people are together, the stronger their bond can become. When that bond is broken, more damage is done than simply the loss of the relationship. The neurochemical imprint of that sexual experience remains, often for many years, impeding the very bonding process that leads to future healthy relationships. (p. 77)

HOOKED is well worth purchasing and reading, especially for the price that I received at Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children
Hooked: New Science on How Casual Sex is Affecting Our Children by Joe S. Mcllhaney (Hardcover - August 1, 2008)
$17.99 $14.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.