Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better
This DVD has some of the most extreme brutal crowd violence I've ever seen which is a blast to watch. You won't see this footage on a court tv special. I've been interested in football hooligans for quite some time now. I've read Bill Bufford's book Among the Thugs and it was something else to see events described in the book taking place before my eyes. Being a yank...
Published on July 14, 2006 by Derek Treborne

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not top quality
The content is good, but the quality of the production is not the best. Every soccer fan needs to see this DVD though. I hope they release more footage and they make the next one of better quality.
Published on May 17, 2005 by Liviu Badragan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better, July 14, 2006
This review is from: Hooligans & Thugs - Soccer's Most Violent Fan Fights (DVD)
This DVD has some of the most extreme brutal crowd violence I've ever seen which is a blast to watch. You won't see this footage on a court tv special. I've been interested in football hooligans for quite some time now. I've read Bill Bufford's book Among the Thugs and it was something else to see events described in the book taking place before my eyes. Being a yank who doesn't see this sort of sports violence very often, watching thousands of people swarm a football pitch gave me quite a rush.

I do wish they wouldn't have included the techno soundtrack. It rarely lets up and I found it annoying and distracting. It would have been so much better if they had included the audio from the riots and fights.

Also I would have appreciated a little more narration from Steve Jones. While it's funny to watch him commentate from a toilet, he remains silent for the majority of the DVD. Many times I was confused as to where the riots were taking place and who was involved.

Overrall though, this is a great DVD. I've been in a riot myself once (San Bernardino, March '06) and while it's impossible to convey on the television the sheer adrenaline high you get while being part of a mob, this DVD comes very close. I hope they release a second one, hopefully with footage from the 2006 World Cup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars General Information, February 25, 2005
This review is from: Hooligans & Thugs - Soccer's Most Violent Fan Fights (DVD)
A startling documentary looking at the darker side of soccer, narrated by Steve Jones of the Sex Pistols.

Spanning the globe from the 1960s through to the present day, Hooligans & Thugs documents the gratuitous violence that occurs in the stands and around the stadiums of the world's most popular sport.

You will be amazed at the level of violence orchestrated by these fans as they battle each other and the police forces that attempt to control them and see first hand how these fans organize their violent clashes for maximum effect.

Hooligans & Thugs features action from games at the World and European Cups and games from all across Europe including England, Germany, France, Holland, Italy, Belgium, Sweden, Russia, Turkey, Poland, Romania and the Czech Republic as well as a special South American segment focusing on Mexico, Argentina and Brazil.

The DVD also features a special Spanish language track and pounding electronic music from Pete Lorimer / 29 Palms (Perfecto Records). You can watch the trailer at [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not top quality, May 17, 2005
This review is from: Hooligans & Thugs - Soccer's Most Violent Fan Fights (DVD)
The content is good, but the quality of the production is not the best. Every soccer fan needs to see this DVD though. I hope they release more footage and they make the next one of better quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hooligans!!!, October 7, 2003
By 
R.Nikken (rotterdam, zuid-holland Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hooligans & Thugs - Soccer's Most Violent Fan Fights (DVD)
After seeing this dvd.I can only say it's time to release more of this stuff. And believe me there is a lot of footage around.
For starters this dvd rocks!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, December 7, 2005
This review is from: Hooligans & Thugs - Soccer's Most Violent Fan Fights (DVD)
This is possibly the greatest DVD i have ever purchased. Highly entertaining i watched it 3 times in one evening when it arrived. Everyone loves it. The only negative is that it is too short (60minutes)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ouch!, September 30, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hooligans & Thugs - Soccer's Most Violent Fan Fights (DVD)
no messing about this is the real deal...hard to watch at times but the title says it all - nothing but hooligans ---- oh and i nearly fell of the chair when I saw Steve Jones of the Sex Pistols narrating it while sitting on a toilet. Are you man enough to watch this ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hooligans & Thugs - Soccer's Most Violent Fan Fights
Used & New from: $10.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.