Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Hop on Pop (I Can Read It All By Myself)
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$6.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(1 star). Show all reviews
on December 14, 2003
This is a terrible rewrite of Hop On Pop, one of Dr. Suess' great books. They have taken some of his words, added their own, and mangled it all in an attempt to make a pop up book that sounds a bit like Hop On Pop. It doesn't work, and it doesn't seem like a lot of care was put into the rewrite.
This is neither a real Dr. Suess book, nor is it a great pop-up book. Better to look elsewhere.
11 comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2007
If you expect to find the real Hop On Pop in this book you will be greatly disappointed. The only nice part about this book is that it pops up. Save your money and stick with the real Hop on Pop, which is a geat book especially for beginning readers.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2008
Awful, awful, awful! I would have given it zero stars, but that wasn't an option. The book is read MUCH TOO FAST for a child to follow along and turn the pages. The page turn signal is a tiny bell that is hard to hear and so short it gives no time to separate the pages and turn them. By the time a child gets the page turned, the reader is 4 or 5 pages ahead because they are also reading SO FAST! This could have been a really good book for an audio read along because the print is large and the words are simple and rhyming, but it is read so quickly a child just learning to read doesn't even have the chance to determine which word is being read. My 4 year old loves read along books but became so frustrated with this book he didn't want to ever read it again. Extremely disappointing as a parent and discouraging for a beginning reader. The Curious George read along series is so much better, although it doesn't have the large text or simple words. Curious George is read with interesting inflections and gives children sufficient time to follow along and turn the pages themselves. Save your money and don't buy this Dr. Seuss series.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2012
I just received this book I ordered for my Grandson. It is not bound correctly as the pages are 1/4 of an inch above the book cover. It is also a small book, not the big full sized book I expected. This is the first time I am really disappointed in the Quality of this product.Hop on Pop
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2010
I ordered several of these thinking I was getting a great deal. SO disappointed when they came as TINY, ABRIDGED versions of the real Dr. Seuss stories. These should be labeled better! I shouldn't have to sort through 100 reviews to realized they're not what they appear to be. We bought 4, paying almost $20 plus shipping, but only got $9 back after paying return shipping costs. Biggest rip-off ever! If I had wanted books to put in my diaper bag- these would have been great. But as it is, I just feel swindled. Amazon- PLEASE clearly indicate that these are not the original Dr. Seuss books!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2004
I will have to go get my son the large version of this book before I'll know exactly how many pages have been omitted. There are at least two pages missing, and this is reason enough to AVOID this board book and get the larger version.

The two pages that are missing: "ALL TALL - We all are tall" and "ALL SMALL - We all are small". You will notice (in the full version)that the characters introduced on these two pages continue on to the next two pages playing BALL on a WALL. In this truncated version of the book, the wall is their only appearance.

PASS on this edition, or you will not get the full text and images your child should be enjoying in their entirety.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2014
I purchased it for a three year old. It is too much for this age. Maybe better when she is 5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2008
I won't order these books, because the cover price is $7.99 U.S. and Amazon is asking $8.99. Look at the preview and check out the back cover and see for yourself!! They might have free shipping, but they're charging a dollar more than cover price. The books are great, but what's Amazon's problem? This makes absolutely no sense to me. I generally have nothing but good things to say about Amazon.com, but this is just ridiculous.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2014
Writing within the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2013
It was basically just a bunch of random words that rhymed. There was little to no plot at all, and zero character development. Many characters didn't even have names. Most were both introduced and dismissed within the same sentence.

In addition, they didn't actually hop on pop until about two-thirds of the way through the book, and when they did, the author never explains why it was happening, or even bother with any of the implications of the characters' actions. This event seemed to be no more meaningful to the story than any other line or phrase in the book. The book could have just as easily been called "Pat sat on a bat".

And what's with all the pictures?
Great authors are supposed to draw pictures with their WORDS. The fact that this book relies so heavily on doodles to get it's point across is an indictment of the authors story telling abilities.

In conclusion, this book reads as if it was intended for an infant child.

1 out of 10, would not read again, do not recommend.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse