Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Beauty Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals TheGoodDinosaur Outdoor Deals on HTL

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars14
Price:$13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on November 14, 2008
This is Ronnie Earl's first DVD. He is a fantastic example of post-modern Blues Guitar. His playing is understated and soulful but his phrasing is really exemplary. I have been playing this DVD for about two weeks to write a review of it and I must say that is really grows on you. Ronnie decided that, in the early 1990s, he would stop playing with a singer and play the blues in the true Earl Hooker style-where he got his name "Earl" from. As a guitar player I feel that this was a bold move. The instrumental selection on this DVD is mostly slow blues with some pop, jazz and gospel overtones, but if you are a player it is fantastic. You can clearly see Ronnie's technique and easily even see what key it's in (D,G,B A mostly)

If you are a Blues fan you may be put off a bit by Ronnie's laid back style and the interview at the end. I would assume that anyone who buys this DVD knows about Earl, his history, medical problems and background. However, most people should not be disappointed. Ronnie plays straight ahead blues and it sounds great in 5.1 sound! Material on him is so scarce, this is a treat to have in one's collection. This DVD will also supplement the "Hot Licks" DVD of a few years ago and you can even easily play along with this DVD.

This set list is interesting and mostly slow blues. If you are a player you know that slow blues is the hardest to play and the best indication of a player's ability. Earl does a few different slow tunes in this set and lives up to his image as a great blues guitarist. The two best tunes to me are "Bobby's Bop" with its great 13th and 9th Jazz chords, solos and groove. "Blues For Otis Rush" is really good and we can see Earl injecting Rush's licks with his own interpretations. Well done! This is the top tune in the set.

The bonus features include Earl doing two acoustic numbers and discussing his life and problems with the head of his record company. Very brave and honest. This DVD is a must have for blues fans and those who play electric blues guitar. If you don't know Ronnie Earl keep in mind that this is an instrumental set with no vocals, but the music is superb. It is good that we have a document of a modern blues legend that has not been on the scene for a number years. This set is very well produced and the sound is excellent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on November 8, 2008
I just received this one in the mail a few days ago, I was not surprised by Mr. Earl's quality and song selection. I was blown away by this show, it is just what I would have expected his playing is second to none. If I could rate this show above 5 stars I would, he is so polished just amazing. It is great to finally see him in person, there is a lot of close up shots of him. And also a lot of close ups of his fingers on the fret board, a nice plus to see how he does it. I have been a fan of his for quite a few years, so this is really a treat to me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on December 18, 2008
Ronnie Earl's 1990s albums Language of the Soul, Blues Guitar Virtuoso Live in Europe, Grateful Heart: Blues and Ballads and The Colour of Love are essential purchases for any blues fan. Since that phenomenal creative streak, Ronnie has been slowed down by medical and mental health problems and is no longer able to tour, but this DVD proves that Ronnie still has chops, taste and tone in spades. Even if he never really catches fire here like he did on the amazing Blues Guitar Virtuoso live document, it's still great to see this blues master playing his gospel-inflected slow-burn style. His band is top-notch and the audio is excellent. As an added bonus, guitar players will appreciate the "up close and personal" camera work that lets you see exactly what chords he's playing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on December 12, 2008
The next best thing to seeing Ronnie Earl live is to watch the Hope Radio DVD. Filmed in the studio with a live audience, Hope Radio, captures the passion and soul of Ronnie Earl upclose and personal. If you have listened to the Hope Radio CD, this DVD is a must for your collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 7, 2009
If this musical journey leaves you unmoved, you'd better check your pulse! Ronnie and the Broadcasters tap into purely divine communion with each other and their own muses. The two evenings that are captured on this recording were transcendental for me, as I was lucky enough to be one of Ronnie's invited guests. I cherish my friendship with Ronnie, and I hope you will get to know and love him through this recording. Thank you to Stony Plain for continuing to give the gift of Ronnie to the world!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on July 3, 2009
Watching Ronnie Earl play guitar is a real treat. His clean blues guitar style is very refreshing. He is one of those guitar players that is never appreciated for the true talent that they have. Recorded in what appears to be two sessions, the 1st set has Ronnie wearing some sort of African hat and what looks like a kabuki shirt... Not your typical Texas blues guitar gun slinger look... The second set has him looking more like your classic bluesman - wearing a suit and cool blues hat. This gig is recorded in a room which looks like it is a small studio. There is only about 40 people sitting in the audience. And they are sitting right up on the band - just a few feet away. During "Eddies Gospel Groove", Ronnie asks the audience to stand up and clap - which was a mistake. They stand, and they are so close (inside of the front monitors) you cannot see the band from the straight on camera. If Ronnie turns, the head stock of his guitar might hit someone... no kidding, they are that close. EGG is a intstrumental tour de force that all guitar players should study - a great song played by a great guitar player and the main reason I bought the dvd. The camera does get some great close ups of Ronnie playing guitar. For all the guitar players out there, this a real plus. This is a performance dvd. Not a mtv style quick-cut flashy concert that we are so used to being annoyed by... The camera focuses on Ronnie and his guitar in a intimate way. When Ronnie plays quietly, there is no audience talk or glass clinking that you hear in the usual bar show. The recording and sound quality is fantastic. This is a big advantage of the small audience in a small studio setting. Playing all instrumental blues, Ronnie has a great tone, and demonstrates fine technique on his strat. There is also one song of Ronnie playing solo acoustic, and an interview included as a bonus.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on October 9, 2009
While not "Smokin" it is still hot. I'm Enjoying both the DVD and the CD. Fine work by a master.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 22, 2009
A true master up close , giveing up lick after lick thank You... Mr Earl
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on June 25, 2009
Ronnie up close and personal. You can hear and see the passion of this master. Buy it without reservation!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2014
For anyone who loves the blues, you can't go wrong with this album. I've listened to Ronnie Earl since his days with Roomful of Blues. He only gets better with time. Had the opportunity to see him recently (in Maine) and it was a fantastic concert. He played this album. Brought it with me and had him sign the cover. Love him!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Just for Today
Just for Today by Ronnie Earl (Audio CD - 2013)

Hope Radio
Hope Radio by Ronnie Earl (Audio CD - 2007)

Ronnie Earl: Blues Guitar With Soul
Ronnie Earl: Blues Guitar With Soul by Ronnie Earl (DVD - 2005)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.