Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Horror Double Feature (Hellraiser / Hellbound: Hellraiser 2)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 17, 2014
Just a quick 'buyer beware': this two-film set has the worst image quality I've ever personally seen on a blu-ray transfer. I've tossed this in the trash and reclaimed my DVD set, which has much better image quality. Shame on you, Image, these transfers are simply awful. And unfortunately the worst transfer of the two is the original film, one of the best horror films ever made.
Time for someone (Scream Factory are you listening?) to step up and give us a high quality blu-ray transfer of at least the original film, which in my book is a classic. The one-star review is thus for this specific release (Image Entertainment, Sept. 2013), not for the amazing 'Hellraiser.'
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2013
These are truly genuine horror films that have raised the horrific bar in the genre. The second is a continuation of the first with some closure to it that doesn't obviously lead to a third in the franchise. Makes the double feature containing both appropriate. Blu-ray transfers are very good, both picture and audio, but the disks are bare-bones with English audio (no other dubbed languages), no subtitles, and very little for extras beyond trailers. Got the 4th and 5th Hellraiser movies as part of a bundle and they're nowhere near the first two in suspense or horror. Don't know at this point if I'm going to pursue the 3rd one or not and may just stop with the first two as apparently a number of others have done.
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2015
This is a great value for fans who just want an inexpensive way to have both the first two Hellraiser movies in one package. I thought the transfers looked fine (depending on how fine your examination is... but it's better than DVD quality I think)... sound was crisp as well.

The one thing that sucks about this package though, is NO CLOSED CAPTIONING!! We like having the subtitles on just to make sure we catch every word of the dialog (particularly in sections where it gets quiet or something), but neither of these discs has any subtitles at all. BOO!!!

As for my opinion of these movies - really I can be happy only watching the second one since it includes much of the good parts of the first movie as an intro anyway. The second movie has all the cool stuff with the psych ward and much more of the otherworldly stuff with Pinhead and the gang (room of chains in particular), all the Escher-inspired labyrinth scenes, the fun part of seeing Frank in Hell, and all the gruesome "GET 'EM OFF MEEEEE" stuff with the bloody mattress.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2014
Great condition. Both movies on one disc. Unfortunately no extra features, not even subtitles for either film.

Hellraiser: Great movie....a classic.
Hellbound Hellraiser 2: It was ok....not as good as the first, but certainly could have been worse. All in all, a very good deal if you simply want to own the movies.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2015
Clive Barker's Hellraiser is landmark horror. It stands up well 28 years later. Where some directors shy away from the lust of their characters, Barker rides the razor's edge of eroticism & pain. Some of the scenes make you wince, yet they turn you on. Add to this mix, a grand music score by Christopher Young -- his breakthrough film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 10, 2014
As a child of the 80's I grew up in the golden age of horror. My parents had Dracula, The Blob, and Frankenstein. I had Jason, Freddy and Michael. I love horror films, but even as a kid, the first two "Hellraiser" movies felt different from the other horror films. Maybe it's the tone, maybe it's the Hell imagery, or the excessive, realistic gore? But when you watch these two films, they aren't tapping into the same place as when you watch Jason hacking through campers or Freddy stalking the hapless teens of Springwood.

"Hellraiser" is a tightly written horror movie based on Clive Barker's "Hellbound Heart". Seeking the ultimate pleasure, a man named Frank buys a small puzzle box, and upon solving it, he opens a gateway to Hell. Tortured by demonic monsters known as cinabites. Frank's brother moves into Frank's old house, and when the brother cuts his hand spilling blood on the floor, he unwittingly begins Frank's resurrection.

"Hellbound: Hellraiser II" picks up right where the first film left off. Kirsty is the sole survivor of the attack by Frank and the cenobites. Of course no one believes her story and she's committed to a mental hospital. Unfortunately, Kirsty's doctor knows she is telling the truth, and he hopes to re-open the. Passage to Hell by having a young girl solve the puzzle box.

Both films are brutally bloody, and after they are over you'll feel the need to shower. "Hellraiser" is a much better film than it's sequel, better pacing and a tighter story keep the action moving. "Hellbound" features long scenes of people running down hallways and it feels like so much filler.

If you are a fan of 80's horror, then these films are must own. If nothing else you'll be shocked at the level of gore presented in these mainstream films, and Pinhead has become a horror icon.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2015
Good ol gore fest brings me back to high school. First one seems a little crappy now (effects anyways) but hell raiser 2 was a great movie then and still stands now. Back before horror movies turned into teeny bopper soap operas.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2014
Cliver Barker brings terror with sexual overtones and pre "Saw" scenes that make
you flinch in a horror classic. Cinematography & early horror techniques similar
to Nightmare of Elm Street.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2013
With me, the first one truly ranks as one of the creepiest films ever produced. This is a movie in the genre of "The Exorcist" in that it stands alone in the way it being a different way to present terror.This isn't to say the two are anything alike, only they presented horror in new ways. The whole movie seems hell-bent on making you as uncomfortable as it can and with me, at least, succeeds. The character of Frank is as evil a person as has ever been depicted in a film, but his "reward" at the end is so horrific that it says with me to this day. The second movie is a bit of a let-down but still far more effective than any of the slapped together, poor attempts to stretch the franchise basing it on the Cenobite commonly referred to as "Pin Head". But this package is a good buy as you get enough of the story to be satisfied with without having to get involved with any of the other movies of the franchise.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2015
This set is probably the best of the best when it comes to the Hellraiser franchise. The introduction to the cenobites is rather startling and fascinating, when I saw this as a teenager. Now I finally own them. DVD quality is okay for the price. The stories are way better than the rest though, I did enjoy the story to Hellraiser Bloodlines.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse