Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Horton Hears a Who Pop-up!
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
25
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$20.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 20, 2008
This is a brief video that walks you through this lovely pop-up book. I had previously done a written review, and below is what I said in that version.

This book combines the classic Dr. Suess tale Horton Hears a Who with pop-up engineering. This is an extremely well done pop-up book. It has the complete original story supported by numerous (15) pop-ups. Several pages (5) are two full-page spread pop-ups. Three pages then have story cards, where there is an element of the tale on the outside of the card, and when you pull it down to read more, there is an additional pop-up.

The story itself is the beautiful tale of an elephant that hears a voice from a tiny spec of dust sitting on top of a flower. No one else can hear the voice and they torment him as a result. Horton eventually realizes there is a whole town in his little speck of dust. A mean bird flies away with his flower, speck of dust, and his friends, and drops them in a field of similar flowers. Horton perseveres, and eventually finds the correct flower.

Again the tormenting of Horton begins. So the town makes as much noise as they can so that others can hear. Finally, with the addition of a "Yopp" their voices break through. Now big kangaroo, and baby kangaroo vow to help protect everyone on the dust speck.

In traditional Suess manner the rhyming is almost melodic, and simply rolls off the tongue.
55 comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2015
Love the Horton story/ was hoping to give this as a toddler birthday gift. While it's clear a lot of work went into building this book (literally every page has pullies and strings and all sorts of contraptions to make the page 'pop' and interactive - seriously like nothing i've ever seen before), the story suffers. There's SO much going on on each page, that the font telling the story is SO small (and the description doesn't lie - the whole story is here, albeit squooshed into tiny little sections of the page due to the huge pop-up that takes over the pages). I don't know what age this book would be appropriate for. I have a 2.5yr old and 1) the font is too small & spread across too many pages to read in one sitting, 2) the contraptions are so intricate and delicate for the pop-up scenes that i'd be afraid to even open it in front of him. Honestly just closing the book was difficult because of the crazy pop-ups everywhere. I guess an older kid - 5 maybe? - might be interested in this, but at that age i feel like they'd be over pop-ups. I hate giving this 2 stars because this is definitely NOT your average kid's pop-up book/ the amount of time it took to make this book is certainly worth the price tag, but it's just not practical at the end of the day.
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2016
This is a very well made pop up book. I never read the story so the book was much longer than I was expecting. Lots of fun flaps and pop ups my daughters love, though I get nervous about them ripping it as some of them are pretty intricate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 17, 2008
This book delights me! The best pop-up I've seen, it combines a story I love with these wonderful little pop-up worlds.

This version of Dr. Seuss's story is much more than a simple pop-up book. Many pages have multiple pop-up images. Scenes that include chains or ropes -- such as the one where the Wickersham gang of monkeys try to put Horton in a cage, or when Who bricklayers are hanging off the side of a building -- are created with actual strings that connect the various pieces of paper. Some pages have flaps with more pop-ups inside. There are also pieces you can manipulate -- you can turn the hands on the Whoville clock and rotate a wheel so that a Who repairman hammers a nail. Every element is printed on sturdy paper that's about the thickness of a business card. The result is a feast for the eyes and fingers that will hold up to lots of use.

The Dr. Seuss tale is a touching classic, about an elephant named Horton that is determined to help tiny creatures because "a person's a person, no matter how small."

David Carter is a master paper engineer, designing 75 pop-up books before this one. For more Carter pop-up gems, here are some great choices:
600 Black Spots: A Pop-up Book for Children of All Ages
Blue 2 (Limited Edition): A Pop-up Book for Children of All Ages
One Red Dot: A Pop-Up Book for Children of All Ages (Classic Collectible Pop-Up)
Birthday Bugs: A Pop-up Party by David A. Carter
Tibetan Buddhist Altars: A Pop-Up Gallery of Traditional Art and Wisdom
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2015
This book is full of fun for little ones while amusing the adults who read it as well. It kept my little guy interested the entire time and he looks forward to seeing all of the intricate pop ups the book has to offer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2013
Such a great book! I use it to entertain kids I baby sit. Has all of the original text, plus fabulous, adorable pop-ups that illustrate the story. Would recommend to any fan of Dr. Seuss who is 5 years old or older!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2015
Great pop-up book. My 3 year old nephew loved it, but he can be rough with it, so it his book to read with an adult for a while longer. He couldn't wait to turn the next page for the pop-up and the ones under the folds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2008
Setting a classic tale to pop up is one thing, but using only original illustrations from a two-dimensional book to create a three-dimension one seems like a challenge. David Carter adapts this Dr. Seuss's classic into a pop-up book without it feeling forced or lacking.

THE STORY -- Seuss's tale is about an elephant who hears something and believes it is tiny people on a speck of dust. He decides he will protect them because "A person's a person. No matter how small." It turns out they are Whos. No one else in the jungle can hear them, and they decide Horton is crazy. They steal the speck. Horton rescues the Whos again, and tells them they must make a lot of noise so others know they exist. Only when the smallest Who yells does everyone hear them, too.

THE POP UPS -- The book has 10 two-page layouts, but it also has numerous booklets, little fold-out pages on the larger pages, that have pop ups, tab pulls, or slides. (Note: the first and last layouts do not have any pop up or interactive pieces.) A couple of the large pop ups incorporate interactive elements like a pull tab or a spin wheel. Numerous pop ups have media other than paper, including ribbon, string, clear plastic, and mesh. One such use in several pop ups is some red string/rope. Seuss had depicted the monkeys tying Horton with red rope, and Carter transfers this into the third dimension by using actual red string.

I enjoyed this adaptation. The pages open and close with ease, making this book okay for young readers who would be reading the regular version.

My only complaint about the book is in the first pop up, there are several clear plastic bits supporting a blue string connected to the speck. In the storyline the speck is supposed to be floating by, and, with the clear plastic supports and string, I keep expecting the speck to move somehow. I think my book is functioning correctly, but I can't help but feel something is amiss in design here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2013
My son really enjoys the pop out images and gets very excited about the book. Keep in mind it is paper so you have to monitor how they interact with the back.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2010
This is already one of my favorite Dr. Seuss stories of all time but in this particular edition/rendering it is simply magnificent!! Each page has something to delight the eye and mind even further than the beloved storyline. Children and adults can thoroughly enjoy the sliding scenes, the lift tabs, the beautiful pop-ups.

Are you looking for a very special gift book for a very special child (or adult who embraces his or her inner child quite happily)? Then here is the perfect choice for you...worth every penny you will spend. Great story; great attention to detail; great graphics; great FUN!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.