Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works like promised
It's been a totally new experience for my family and me to cook with the sun. First day we tried a vegetable stew and it was fully cooked at 2 h 5 min!! Then we challenged the solar cooker with corn on the cob... worked as well and took 3 hours 20 min. My kids are fascinated that they can cook with only the sun...
Published on September 8, 2008 by Jan van der Reis

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hot Pot is a great solar cooker, but was designed for the Tropics
The Hot Pot Solar Cooker, specifically the original 5-liter model with the folding polished aluminum reflector (as sold here) was primarily designed for the third world and developing countries, to function most effectively in the Tropics, between the Tropic of Cancer at latitude 23.5N and the Tropic of Capricorn at latitude 23.5S (=11.75 average latitude). This...
Published on April 7, 2011 by Fred K. Garvey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works like promised, September 8, 2008
By 
Jan van der Reis (Queretaro, Mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hot Pot Simple Solar Cooker
It's been a totally new experience for my family and me to cook with the sun. First day we tried a vegetable stew and it was fully cooked at 2 h 5 min!! Then we challenged the solar cooker with corn on the cob... worked as well and took 3 hours 20 min. My kids are fascinated that they can cook with only the sun...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works!, January 11, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hot Pot Simple Solar Cooker
Simple and effective. The included insulated pot is thick and heavy. It'll cook/reheat just about anything (even meats) and pasteurize water. Leave the cornbread and cakes to a larger solar OVEN, but this is great to keep around for the smaller jobs. The aluminum reflectors are reasonably durable and fold up flat, letting you store the whole thing in away in a small cupboard space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hot Pot is a good buy., March 13, 2009
By 
Warren (Anthem, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hot Pot Simple Solar Cooker
I have cooked with the Hot Pot for about a year now and it works very well. The large 5 quart system is large enough to cook most anything. I have given the Hot Pot as gifts and friends who have seen me cooking with it and have bought it, all agree, they are very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hot Pot is a great solar cooker, but was designed for the Tropics, April 7, 2011
This review is from: Hot Pot Simple Solar Cooker
The Hot Pot Solar Cooker, specifically the original 5-liter model with the folding polished aluminum reflector (as sold here) was primarily designed for the third world and developing countries, to function most effectively in the Tropics, between the Tropic of Cancer at latitude 23.5N and the Tropic of Capricorn at latitude 23.5S (=11.75 average latitude). This amazing device allows for a 6 hour cooking window, on a typical day, in impoverished areas that often have meager resources for fire and cooking.

But most of those who purchased the solar cookers, specifically the original 5-liter model, partially subsidizing Hot Pot ownership in the third world, live in the Temperate Zone (=45 average latitude). And we are often frustrated with the short 2-4 hour cooking window, and that is usually only during the summer months, as well as difficulty in reaching optimum cooking temperatures.

The issue here is that the optimum solar cooking angle of the Hot Pot folding aluminum reflector is 65 (90 is the sun directly overhead, 0 is the sun on the horizon, shining into the front of the Hot Pot cooker), as measured from the shiny flat aluminum base the Hot Pot rests on. And tilting the Hot Pot and reflector together to focus on that optimum 65 solar angle, to really get things cooking, is a messy and dangerous juggling act. For example, where I live, I have to often tilt the reflector, with a full Hot Pot, about 30, until the hinge of the angled front reflector is parallel the the ground.

But it's not as simple as latitude. But do this simple Google search to find this handy global map:

"world_solar_insolation_data" (but don't key in the "")

The map shows the amount of effective solar energy, in hours, received each day on an optimally tilted photovoltaic panel surface during the worst month of the year (based on accumulated worldwide solar insolation data). But, with the Hot Pot solar cooker, the hours posted on the global map can, likewise, be fairly accurately taken as the effective daily cooking hours, during the best month of the year. This quickly explains why Hot Pot owners in Arizona and New Mexico give glowing reviews of this device, while Hot Pot owners in America's southeast states (same latitude), or Brazil, or Spain or China, quietly repack their Hot Pots and ship them back the their retailer.

But to get to the point, be sure to heed the "world_solar_insolation_data" chart. If you live in a region that has 2.0-2.9 solar cooking hours a day, or less, during the warmest month of the year, taking out and using your Hot Pot will be a rare, and disappointing, culinary event.

The "world_solar_insolation_data" chart indicates, for example, 3.0 - 3.9 solar cooking hours, a day, during the best summer month of the year, for my area. So I should be able to cook, maybe, through May, June (warmest month), July, and halfway through August. But for simply heating up water, the Hot Pot season is from April - mid-September.

When using my Hot Pot, I really want to make the decision, to cook, the day before, so as to be able to plan my meal, and maybe invite dinner guests. And that decision is based on living in a suitable zone on the "world_solar_insolation_data" chart, the time of year, and favorable weather forcasts: Mostly sunny skies, with a minumum temperature, at high noon solar time, of 70F, and a minimum solar elevation, at high noon, of 65. This information is transferable to those in other latitudes.

If the "world_solar_insolation_data" chart indicates that you live in a region that is favorable Hot Pot cooking, you'll then need to find out what months of the year that you can use it: For your seasonal altitude of the sun, the University of Oregon offers their "Online sun path chart program". It's the simplest, and most intuitive, I've found.

But do this simple Google search to find the University of Oregon Solar Radiation Monitoring Laboratory's Sun Path Chart Program:

"Online sun path chart program" (but don't key in the "")

At their site, enter the information for your area:

Step 1:
*Latitude (decimal degrees)
*Longitude (decimal degrees)
*(south latitude and west longitude are given in negative degrees)
or... ZIP code, instead of Latitude and Longitude

Step 2:
Your time zone

Step 3:
*Plot dates 30 or 31 days apart, between solstices, December through June
*Plot dates 30 or 31 days apart, between solstices, June through December
*(only select one at time, for the printout)
Plot hours in local solar time

Step 4:
I simply use default:
Extend azimuth axis from 0 to 360
Extend elevation axis to 90
Show hours in AM/PM style

Step 5:
I generally title it:
"Noon Solar Altitude for"
"(your City, your State)
Default: Place label in upper left corner

Step 6:
PDF (Portable Data Format)

Step 7:
Simply enter the posted verification code

This will generate, after two times through the steps above, two landscape, 11" x 8.5" charts that show the angle of the sun, at high noon (solar time), in your area, for different months and days throughout the year. Don't be distracted by the hours on the chart, as high noon is the only position you should be concerned about.

90 degrees, on the chart, is directly overhead. 0 degrees, on the chart, is on the horizon.

With this information, the optimum solar elevation, as well as optimum cooking window, in the Temperate Zone will usually begin at about 10:00am, solar time, and end at about 2:00pm, solar time, but afternoon temperatures are usually warmer than mornings, so an adjusted cooking window of about 10:30am to 2:30pm may be in order.

Well aware of the performance issues, a new Hot Pot solar cooking kit is now being manufactured, and introduced to those in the Temperate Zones. It includes the original reflector, but now a much smaller, 3-liter black enameled steel pot. The clear glass lid seems to be the same size as the original 5-liter kit, but the 3-liter steel pot and clear glass bowl is much shallower, and with a much lower profile. If you live in the Temperate Zone, just be sure that you're ordering the new 3-liter version. Many Hot Pot enthusiasts, in the Temperate Zone, report success when cooking in a half-full 5-liter Hot Pot. But, still, many online vendors have temporarily suspended, or dropped the product because of 5-liter Hot Pot's inability to perform well in the temperate latitudes. In fact, when I received my 5-liter Hot Pot shipment, I noticed that the protective plastic film had been removed from the polished aluminum reflectors, indicating that it had been a returned item. But I didn't complain, since it was a discount purchase.

So, to cook with the 5-liter Hot Pot at my house, in the Temperate Zone (latitude: 37.5 north), I had to resort to drilling out a 1/2" diameter hole, in the center of the flat reflector base, 1-3/8" forward of the very center. I then drilled out a 3/8" hole in the center of a sturdy four legged wooden foundation, from an old chair, and inserted a 6-1/2" long, 3/8" threaded lamp pipe, vertical (perpendicular to the ground), with the Hot Pot resting on very top of the pipe, on an inverted round black steel lamp base, bolted to the top, that conforms to the glass bottom of the Hot Pot. The jet-black makeshift lamp base actually is the hottest spot in the cooking process, as the water begins to boil there, as well as intense heat rises up from the metal base and into the 1/2" double-wall area of the bowl. Capitalizing on this effect, I spray painted the upper 1-1/2" of the threaded lamp pipe, as well as the supporting nut and washer, jet-black. The folding aluminum reflector can now safely be periodically tilted and turned to focus the sun's rays, while the boiling Hot Pot firmly and safely remains stationary. This provides a potential for a 3-5 hour cooking window, depending on the time of year and latitude. I would upload photos of my rig, but it would only create confusion and misunderstandings with Amazon.com customer service.

But do this simple Google search to find my webspace with the photos and the details:

"hot pot solar cooker instructables" (but don't key in the "")

With this setup, I am able achieve the best results possible, for the latitude. For example, on a sunny day, no clouds, light breeze, April 5th, northern hemisphere, 37.5 latitude, I poured a gallon of 60F water into the Hot Pot, the ambient temperature was also 60F. I chose to test one gallon of water, as I see no sense in solar cooking, for hours, to cook a half-gallon meal:

_solar____ambient________HotPot__________solar
_time:____temperature:____temperature:____altitude:
_9:00am____60F___________60F__________39
_9:30am____60F___________81F__________44
10:00am____65F___________104F_________49
10:30am____66F___________128F_________53
11:00am____66F___________143F_________56
11:30am____66F___________154F_________58
12:00pm____68F___________157F_________58
12:30pm____69F___________161F_________58
_1:00pm____71F___________161F_________55

Above times are solar time. And, with these results, it's obvious that, where I live, I'll only be able to solar cook, maybe, 4 months out of the year (May - August). The solar altitudes were included on the chart so anyone can apply these results to wherever they live on the planet. And while one can always tilt and rotate the Hot Pot to track the sun at the optimum 65 solar angle, the solar cooker becomes less and less effective as one moves away from the equator, since the sun's rays are filtered out and weakened by more and more of the atmosphere as the altitude (angle) of the sun decreases. Ambient temperatures were also noted, as that will prove to have a major effect on cooking times.

I suspect that the maximum heating capacity of the Hot Pot, filled with a gallon of water is, mavbe, 105F above ambient temperature, since the Hot Pot is not an insulated type of solar cooker. Many Temperate Zone Hot Pot users report that their solar cookers can maintain temperatures of 250-300F, and even a maximum of 350-400F, but I've found that those temperatures are only possible in an empty Hot Pot, and pointless information to post and circulate. Wind conditions also reduce the heating capacity of the Hot Pot.

The hot water, from the solar cooker test, was poured into a one gallon glass-lined vacuum airpot. A stainless steel-lined vacuum airpot, while far more tough and rugged, simply does not hold their heat for more than a couple of hours. But a glass-lined vacuum airpot will keep my hard-earned hot water, hot: Scalding hot 24 hours later, hot 48 hours later, and warm 72 hours later. A 3/4 gallon airpot of warm water may not sound like much of a resource, but someone in a developing country would be able to completely bathe, shave, and rinse off, and also hand wash and rinse their clothes from the day before. 3-day old warm water can also be much more quickly brought back up to boiling temperature by pouring it back into the Hot Pot and reheating it. A real convenient feature of airpots is that they have a convenient push-button, or lever-pump, top that allows it to function as a portable hot water faucet, to be placed throughout a summer cabin in the kitchen, dining room, bathroom, or generously loaned to a neighbor.

Some Hot Pot owners, in temperate latitudes, report success by fashioning a clear plastic oven roasting bag and stretching it over a lightweight frame, forming a reusable, snug-fitting cover over the reflector. I may try that method, but am not wild about adding clutter to the process, although it could provide strength and rigidity against wind gusts. Other Hot Pot owners suggest preheating the black metal cooking pot and its contents to a full boil, on the kitchen stove, and then taking it outside and placing it inside the clear glass bowl and lid, inside the reflector. Oh puhleeze! What's the purpose of solar cooking, if one has to burn fossil fuels to prepare their meals. Really.

But one still has to respect the heat output of the Hot Pot reflector. Always wear sunglasses when using the device, and it's sometimes necessary to turn the reflector 180 away from the sun when stirring the pot and making certain adjustments. The raw sunlight radiating out from the reflector sometimes feels like a blast furnace, not to mention the insanely bright sunlight in the face. And never leave the Hot Pot solar cooker unattended, as children are naturally attracted to it. The Hot Pot solar oven is an excellent first solar cooker project for the beginner, allowing one to practice the basics of solar cooking safety and precautions, before moving up to larger, and potentially more dangerous solar cookers.

Stay posted for late spring, summer, and early fall boiling tests, as I'm eager to plan delicious dishes on the optimum cooking days, once I find out which days, and weather, is most promising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sun Cooking, May 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hot Pot Simple Solar Cooker
Great product. We've had it two weeks and have done potatoes, carrots, eggs, stew, bean and sausage soup, bread, and chicken. All perfectly cooked. Very tasty and a real joy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Unit, May 10, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hot Pot Simple Solar Cooker
I am extremely pleased with the hot pot solar cooker. It performs quite well under variable sun conditions. It does beef stew in around 2 hours and chili in 2 1/2 hours. It is great for the one pot meals. This was my first experiment with solar cooking and it has not disappointed me or my wife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy with the purchase, May 31, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hot Pot Simple Solar Cooker
I have gotten this about 2 weeks ago and so far I have been very happy with the purchase. Since it is quite sunny here, I have been using it twice every day. I have used it to cook rice, boil potatoes, lentils, bake pizza, and other Indian recipes. I have found that everything comes out nice.
It is particularly useful for the recipes which need cooking for a long
time on low flame. Instead of monitoring every now and then, you could just keep it and let the sun do the magic. With so much of cooking being
'outsourced' to sun, I definitely expect our utility bills to go down this summer.
The cooker itself is very lightweight and easy to setup and very compact
when not in use.
I have given it 4 stars just because I feel they could have created space
for 2 bowls instead of one. Having the entree and side dish ready together would have been a definite plus.
I would have considered buying another one of these if we didn't have to move in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where to get replacement bowls, August 7, 2013
By 
frugal shopper (Sunnyvale, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hot Pot Simple Solar Cooker
I have the old 5L version of the Hot Pot and have used it so much my bowl has rusted and flakes little chips of black enamel. I have learned that you can buy a replacement black enameled bowl for the 5L version by sending a check for $15.00 to Oscar Guajardo, OG Walsh Enterprises, Inc. 2610 Rogers Fork, San Antonio, TX You might check with She-inc. for updated information on this.

It is too bad that the bowls don't last longer. Be sure to treat yours gently, season it well and only use the kind of sponges safe for non-stick surfaces to preserve the enamel. They told me that the bowls only last two years if you don't treat them well. The outer glass pot however is build like a tank and while I chipped the edge of the lid I expect it to be serviceable for decades.

I have also gotten the collector to work and cook a small quantity of rice by putting a stainless steel bowl into a clear pyrex bowl and glass lid to approximate the original setup. But that doesn't work as well as using a black bowl and lid that fits properly and so forth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HotPot -simple, effective solar cooker, January 7, 2014
This review is from: Hot Pot Simple Solar Cooker
Use it regularly in San Francisco, CA from April-Oct. when it's sunny. Have cooked red velvet cake, meatballs, cornbread, rice, bread (applesauce, apple pie (yes you read correctly!) A pie tin or cake pan can fit inside the glass bowl for baking. The fact that it folds up easily is a definite plus! The polished metal reflector really reflects well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.