Customer Reviews


599 Reviews
5 star:
 (425)
4 star:
 (118)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consider yourself 'Plum Lucky' to read this book!
For all those fans who have followed bounty-hunter Stephanie Plum's haphazard adventures, 'Hot Six' is well worth the wait. Those looking for a funny and exiting read will also be fulfilled. Stephanie runs through the book in a comedy of errors; plagued by a killer zit, Pakistani hitmen and her near senile Grandma Mazur. Ranger, Stephanie's mentor and sometime partner...
Published on June 24, 2000 by Fiona K Barlow

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not her best.
In the past three weeks I have read all the Stephanie Plum books. At the end of each one I eagerly grabbed the next. Not so with the sixth (which is a good thing, I guess, since the seventh won't be out for quite a while). It is funny and the characters and some of the scenes are memorable, but it just doesn't have the fire that the previous books did. One problem is...
Published on July 20, 2000 by V.T. Too


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consider yourself 'Plum Lucky' to read this book!, June 24, 2000
This review is from: Hot Six (Hardcover)
For all those fans who have followed bounty-hunter Stephanie Plum's haphazard adventures, 'Hot Six' is well worth the wait. Those looking for a funny and exiting read will also be fulfilled. Stephanie runs through the book in a comedy of errors; plagued by a killer zit, Pakistani hitmen and her near senile Grandma Mazur. Ranger, Stephanie's mentor and sometime partner (not to mention object of her lust) has Failed To Appear to court. To make matters worse, he was caught on security camera leaving a building that was soon after torched, and contained one very dead gangster's son. Stephanie tries to help him stay on top of the law (and is dangerously near to ending up underneath him) as well as dealing with a new room-mate (her Grandma), a new furry friend, a boyfriend so hot that he's almost melting, and a plethora of dangerous but amusing FTAs. The gang from Vinnie's Bond Agency are all there, Lula, Connie and even the repulsive Joyce Barnhardt. It has been interesting to follow the character growth of (especially) Stephanie and Joe Morelli. We find this here as Stephanie gets a little more hardcore and Joe shows one or two emotions. This book slots in perfectly with the continuing Plum Saga, Evanovich proves that sequels can still be rivoting and quality material. And as for the end...... well all I can tell you is that Evanovich throws in another surprise, and leaves me waiting on the edge of my seat for the next book! Read it for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Six leaves you begging for more, June 24, 2000
This review is from: Hot Six (Hardcover)
I discovered Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series the last week of May 2000. Books one through five were finished by June 10, 2000. Hot Six was released June 20th, and I finished it on June 22d. Look, I have a life, honest. Mystery books come in and go out of my bookshelf. This series is here to stay. In Hot Six Evanovich continues to satisfy the demands of this picky reader. Stephanie Plum, still-learning bounty hunter from the burg of Trenton NJ finds herself in the middle of it again, with favorite characters present and driving poor Stephanie nuts: Grandma Mazur, the gang at Vinne's bond office, the ever elusive Ranger, and of course everyone's favorite handsome rouge cop, Joe Morelli. Not just more of the same though. Evanovich adds new colorful characters to her well-developed cast, folks I hope we'll see again. The book jacket tells you about the story. Let me tell you why you should read it. This book, like the rest in the series, is fast-paced and full of humor, from the tried and true characters, to the new and often nutty characters. So many mystery books have "downtime", where we leap into the next day or skip over how we get some information, and forget the drugery of meals. Hot Six if full of detail, and the belly laughs come from the detail. Hot Six takes you all the way, showing you the day in and out, with all the guffaws. It draws its humor during "down" times in the case - the surveillance, the what-is-going-on-in-the-world-while-the-main-chase-is-on. Evanovich has a true talent for efficiently developing her characters into lively personable and oh so funny people that could, but thank goodness some don't, live next door. All this, while still developing a main plot engine that drives the story ahead at an impossible-to-put-down pace. I laughed out loud throughout this entire book. I've read some good mysteries. This series is the best, and Hot Six has lived up to this reader's expectaions and anticiapations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Funny Winner!, October 30, 2001
By 
"intentaccess" (Boca Raton, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hot Six (Stephanie Plum, No. 6) (Stephanie Plum Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the sixth book in the Stephanie Plum series, New Jersey's hysterical bounty hunter.
In this book, she is asked to pick up Ranger! Her friend and fellow bounty hunter, her mentor Ranger, who is also sought by the police for questioning in the murder of an organized crime figure. Can she do this and go after her friend? Stephanie believes Ranger is innocent and if anything, only kills bad guys.
Joe Morelli, gorgeous cop friend, is here in all his glory and the end was very surprising from Joe. Stephanie's hysterically funny grandmother has moved in with her. This totally ruins Stephanie's sex life!
A cop friend has asked her to dog sit while he goes on vacation, and doesn't return to take the dog back. Move over Rex here comes Bob! A new character emerges, Mooner. Mooner is an always stoned guy and funny. He adds considerably to the laughs in this Plum mystery.
This is a very entertaining series. I have never laughed out loud with any book as I do the Plum series. The pages really turn as they are truly delightful reading. Hot Six is no exception, it is a 5 star book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Six and Counting, September 17, 2000
This review is from: Hot Six (Hardcover)
This is the sixth book in the series about Stephanie Plum, Trenton, New Jersey's hysterically inept bounty hunter. In this latest escapade, she is searching for her friend and fellow bounty hunter, Ranger, who is also sought by the police for questioning in the murder of an organized crime figure. Stephanie believes Ranger is innocent and if anything, only kills bad guys.
Joe Morelli, hunk cop, is here in all his glory and there's a surprise at the end, which I hope will be answered in the 7th book!
Stephanie's hysterically funny grandmother has moved in with her. A cop friend has asked her to dog sit while he goes on vacation, and has no intention of taking the dog back. The dog, Bob, as it turns out has a strange eating problem, he eats everything and anything. There are a couple scenes involving, ah, dog doo that had me LOL and rolling!
A new character emerges, Mooner. Mooner is a chronically stoned guy and very funny. He adds considerably to the chuckles in this new Plum mystery. Other critics have written that Evanovich doesn't write mystery, or that the plot hasn't changed, etc., etc., etc. In this dreary day and age anything that can make me laugh out loud is worth reading, for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephanie Evanovich does it again!, June 26, 2000
This review is from: Hot Six (Hardcover)
Someone has shot Homer Ramos in his father's office building and then set the building on fire. Trouble is, there's a security tape showing the delectable Ranger as the last person out of the building. Jersey bounty hunter Stephanie Plum needs to find Ranger fast, for both professional and personal reasons. While Stephanie is busy looking for Ranger, her Granny Mazur moves in with her. Granny's taking driving lessons and the proud owner of a red 'Vette bought at a 'fire sale.' She's still toting her .45 in her purse and is as big a hoot as ever. Between Granny's snoring, arch-rival Joyce's hounding her, Ranger's midnight break-ins, and Morelli's proximity, Stephanie isn't getting a lot of sleep and a regular job at McDonald's is starting to look pretty good to her. To further complicate matters, Stephanie's being tailed everywhere she goes by two goons who work for a man who thinks Ranger has something that belongs to him and that Stephanie will lead him to Ranger. Lula and Connie are back in 'Hot Six', plus Bob, the dog Stephanie has inadvertently acquired. Bob is a loveable idiot who I hope sticks around. All of these volatile characters combust off the pages in an explosion of lunacy and laughs which is just sheer delight to read. I laughed out loud 'til my stomach hurt. The mystery gets solved and Stephanie escapes immolation by the seat of her pants; alas, another couple of her cars aren't so fortunate. Stephanie proves once again that she can get the job done, but her love life is as schizo as ever. Evanovich just keeps getting better and better. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Plum" Gets Pluckier, August 1, 2000
This review is from: Hot Six (Hardcover)
As I wrote in my review of Evanovich's 1st book in this hilarious mystery series, "One For The Money", this woman can create more comedic havoc than senior citizens bumping & nudging their way into some small restaurant, making sure they get that early bird meat loaf special. And that goes for the authoress as well as our New Jersey heroine, Stephanie Plum.
Sue Graff has the "alphabet"--Ms. Evanovich has the "numbers". These are fast paced, easy to read, fun mysteries with a cast of characters we feel right at home with.
Stephanie is still having car problems. ( AAA's nightmare member) I was laughing so hard when she had to use a "Rollswagon"--yep, half VW, half Rolls Royce. Add a new bounding dog, Bob, who has bad hair days, a whacky maniac Munson who keeps attacking Stephanie with fire, aimed moving vehicles, tire irons--as she tries to bring him in for skipping bail and --whew--let me catch my fingers here-- I think I am TYPERventilating.
Any ole hoo, smoldering Ranger is in trouble this time. Crime family Ramos has set him up and plucky Stephanie Plum is there for him--in any way he wishes!
You know, I'm thinking this series would work on T.V. And I see Fran Drescher (of "The Nanny" fame) as our lovingly manic Stephanie Plum.
The jacket cover is as wild & hot as Evanovich's plots. Great fun reading. Thanks for your interest & comments--CDS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not her best., July 20, 2000
This review is from: Hot Six (Hardcover)
In the past three weeks I have read all the Stephanie Plum books. At the end of each one I eagerly grabbed the next. Not so with the sixth (which is a good thing, I guess, since the seventh won't be out for quite a while). It is funny and the characters and some of the scenes are memorable, but it just doesn't have the fire that the previous books did. One problem is that the three main characters seem so watered down. Morelli and Ranger have lost the element of sexy surprise they had in the previous books. Stephanie's reactions to the crazy and dangerous things that happen through the story are oddly subdued. However, you will probably get a big kick out of the book. I read it in an evening and will certainly read the next when it comes out. It just isn't as good as the others, which I thought were great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephanie Plum...You Gotta Love Her, June 28, 2000
This review is from: Hot Six (Hardcover)
Hot Six picks up right where High Five left off and after clearing up last years cliff-hanger, Stephanie Plum, bounty hunter from hell, is back on the job. Only, she's not really interested in the first case that comes her way. Her mentor, Ranger has missed his court appearance on a minor concealed weapons charge and he's wanted for questioning, by the police, in the death of an international, black market arms dealer. Everybody in Trenton is looking for Ranger, including a couple of goons who have decided to tail Stephanie, day and night, hoping she'll lead them to him. To make matters even worse, Grandma Mazur has moved in with her; she's now the proud owner, by default, of a wacky dog and everytime she and boyfriend, Joe Morelli start to get cozy, something happens to interrupt them. Put it all together and you have the makings of another wonderful romp through Trenton with Stephanie and company. No author puts together a better cast of characters. The writing is smart, witty and irreverent with dialogue, so down to earth, you feel like you're in the room listening to these people. The scenes, so true to life and vivid you'll be laughing out loud. And, it looks like Stephanie has finally gotten her man...maybe. Janet Evanovich never disappoints and she's not starting now. Do yourself a big favor, start with One for the Money and read the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOT SIX - Savor it for SEVEN!, October 16, 2000
By 
Dean Redfern (Indian River Shores, Florida) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Six (Hardcover)
This best yet Stephanie Plum suspense thriller is a hoot from the get-go, with a dysfunctional set of characters that can't shoot straight. Bounty hunter Plum tries to help her friend and mentor Carlos (Ranger) Manoso solve the murder of the son of an international gunrunner. Ranger, a mercenary by training, is wanted for questioning in connection with the murder. Stephanie's not sure whether she should 1) seduce Ranger 2) take him down for the bounty 3) or try and help him solve the whodunit.
Along the way Stephanie, with her occasional side-kick Lula, bumbles a couple of bounty take downs; helps her grandmother get her driver's license (so she can buy a hot car); gets help from her spaced-out friends Mooner and Dougie (who can't get enough of 'I Dream of Jeannie' reruns from the sixties); and takes in an unwanted dog who eats everything and poops like there's no tomorrow. Of course, the bad guys aren't much better, tailing Stephanie all day long (to get to suspect Ranger) until 5 pm when its time to take the kids to soccer practice.
This novel should be cataloged as a comedy rather than a suspense thriller. Like something out of the Three Stooges or an SNL skit, this JANET EVANOVICH novel is outright hilarious! I mean outright, as in constantly howling out loud! The storyline, dialog, and characters are exceptional in this easy-to-read Stephanie Plum series book. Fans, old and new, won't want to miss this read while waiting impatiently for number SEVEN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evanovich does it again!, June 24, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot Six (Hardcover)
I pre-ordered a copy of Hot Six and was certainly not disappointed. In the mystery and thriller genre, Evanovich stands out because she is FUNNY! Her ability for dialogue is extraordinary. From Stephanie Plum, her heroine, to her supporting cast (old and new), each and every one has its own voice and personality. Also, all of us who are Grandma Mazur's fans will shed tears of laughter when she moves in (albeit temporarily) with her grandaughter Stephanie, the bounty hunter from hell. As always, Stephanie's adventures occur when she, with and without bumbling partner Lula, stumbles into these incredibly dangerous situations and for the most part walks away unscathed. In Hot Six, Stephanie tries to deal with the sexual tension that exists when she is caught between the two men in her life: Morelli, her first love, a cop who is investigating the murder of the son of a crime boss, and Ranger, her fellow bounty hunter and mentor who is being hunted down as the prime suspect.
If you have never read a Stephanie Plum novel, you can understand Hot Six without the previous five: Evanovich gives enough background for that without repeating herself, but I am sure you will go back and learn where it all started. If you are a Stephanie Plum fan, Hot Six ends with what a new beginning for our heroine and will leave you waiting for lucky seven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hot Six (Stephanie Plum, No. 6) (Stephanie Plum Novels)
Hot Six (Stephanie Plum, No. 6) (Stephanie Plum Novels) by Janet Evanovich (Mass Market Paperback - June 15, 2001)
$8.99 $8.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.