Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Lisa Loeb AMO Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Price:$19.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 17, 2010
The hinge on the case is very flimsy. The only thing that holds most of the cars in place is having the two halves together. So...

1. Hinge fails
2. Two halves separate
3. Cars fall out
4. Child gets frustrated and cries
5. Parent spouts profanity
99 comments250 of 258 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2015
These cases are terrible. They do not hold the amount of cars they say they do, they have big spaces in the middle (for monster jam trucks) but they will not reasonably holds standard cars. The standard car slots have a space under the middle of the car, so that only the wheels are supported. This leads to the cars falling sideways down through the middle of the rows on top of each other.
I found a "thread organizer" that actually fits 48 cars securely. It is a clear case with double sided lids. I got some hotwheels logo stickers and put on them. They're perfect.
review image
33 comments66 of 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2010
As another reviewer noted, this case is a joke. All the cars fall out if you open it, because their slots tilt downwards. If they tilted just a few degrees upwards, the cars would not fall out. What an egregious lack of common sense. I will be returning mine...
11 comment88 of 90 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2009
The case isn't built to hold the cars in place so they are constantly falling out every time it is opened. Maybe if you were incredibly coordinated, which my three year old is not, you could open it and close it just right so that 100 cars wouldn't all tumble out at once whenever you try to open or close it. I'm returning it.
0Comment85 of 93 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2010
Do not buy this case! The 5 star review was posted by a company person.

This "case" will NOT hold 100 cars, nor will it hold the cars already placed in it when you try to open it - because, the flimsy plastic divider gets blown right off its hinges and all the cars fall out!

YOu should buy two 48 car cases @ 10-13 dollars each - which is still less than the money they are asking for Mattel's worst mistake yet!

The only advantage with this "mistake" is that it has a pull-out hand bar that allows you to roll this thing behind you - that really only makes sense if you go to a lot of shows and do a lot of trading or selling...but, even then, you are better off with two 48 car cases with attached handles.

They look good, are much less expensive, and hold at least 48 cars each.

I REPEAT - THE PERSON WHO WROTE THAT 5 STAR REVIEW HAS TO BE A COMPANY OR AMAZON HACK! IT CANNOT BE A PERSON WHO BOUGHT THIS MISTAKE TO HIS/HER CHAGRIN AND FOUND OUT THAT IT IS MORE TROUBLE AND MONEY THAN IT IS WORTH!

ONE STAR IS WAY TOO MUCH OF A RATING ON THIS PIECE OF GARBAGE!!!!
0Comment54 of 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2010
This case works well as a car carrier. It is also made of decent materials. The exception and problem is that the two compartments are divided by a flimsy piece of plastic. Once the case is opened, the cars from the hinged compartment spill out of the case despite the platic divider. To make matters worse, it is darned near impossible to close the case once both compartments are filled.

Pass on this paltry case and buy two of the Hotwheels Molded 48 car cases instead.
0Comment30 of 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2011
My 3 year old son is crazy for his hotwheels cars and want to take them everywhere, so I thought would be a great idea to get this 100 car case for him. What a joke!!! the cars fall, the wheels on the case don't turn and we have a very unhappy kid that can't use the case... don't buy this.
0Comment15 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2011
Yeah, this case is pretty much useless, hence the reason I am looking for a new one. The problem is I have 2 boys and we have 4 different cases for their Hot Wheels cars and none of them are great. The problem with this is the hinge is more of a hook, so after time when you open the cover, not only do the cars fall out as the other reviewers wrote, but the halves of the case separate.

If you want to spend most of your time with your little one putting the cars back and putting the case back together, buy this one, but if not, look for something else.
0Comment22 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2010
We purchased this to organize my 5 year old son's Hot Wheel cars. At first we thought this was the coolest solution. He could wheel around his collection and it would be kept neat and organized. This worked for a couple of months. One side has a plastic covering that latches to keep the cars from falling out, and the plastic latches would not work from the start. The Cars would always fall out of its compartments. It became too hard and heavy for my son to carry with two compartments separated, because he was not able to wheel his collection anywhere. We ended up buying a simply organized container for his collection which was too bad. He loved his hot wheel car box.
0Comment17 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2011
I baught this for my son expecting it to be good quality. The cases I had as a child still hold up today. The hinges broke, the divider inside falls off all the time, the slots are open on the top and bottom so most of his cars slip through or just don't sit right in it, and they are Hot Wheels brand, too. I wrote a letter to Mattel complaining about it and all they had to say was that they don't make the case, it's up to the company that makes it to fix it. I definitely do not recommend this case to anyone.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 17 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.