Customer Reviews


1,977 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,391)
4 star:
 (377)
3 star:
 (129)
2 star:
 (42)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


122 of 141 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monster comedy, mostly for the kids, but fast-paced & funny enough to keep everyone entertained
Hotel Transylvania, directed by Genndy Tartakovsky from a screenplay by Peter Baynham and Robert Smigel, is an animated comedy/horror-spoof, mostly for the kids but fast-paced enough and with enough humor to keep everyone entertained for an hour and a half. It's not as smartly written as 2010's Megamind or as sophisticated and dazzling as 2011's Rango, but it is fun to...
Published on October 2, 2012 by Whitt Patrick Pond

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not intresting enough for me to finish it yet
I have not made it through the end of this movie yet, so I guess that speaks volumes about whether I really like it or not. I didn't find it funny or endearing and I get the general message about an overprotective but loving father trying to look out for his daughter but this one ranks low in the animated films category in my humble opinion.

**Addendum -...
Published 20 months ago by UBizz


‹ Previous | 1 2198 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

122 of 141 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monster comedy, mostly for the kids, but fast-paced & funny enough to keep everyone entertained, October 2, 2012
By 
Hotel Transylvania, directed by Genndy Tartakovsky from a screenplay by Peter Baynham and Robert Smigel, is an animated comedy/horror-spoof, mostly for the kids but fast-paced enough and with enough humor to keep everyone entertained for an hour and a half. It's not as smartly written as 2010's Megamind or as sophisticated and dazzling as 2011's Rango, but it is fun to watch and satisfying in a popcorn-movie kind of way. Adult fans of old horror films will like spotting some of the more obscure monsters (Brain From Planet Arous anyone?) and picking up on some references that will sail over the head of younger viewers.

The plot begins in 1895 where we find a very paternal Count Dracula (Adam Sandler) looking after his infant daughter not long after the death of his wife. Determined to keep her safe from "the humans", Dracula comes up with an idea - to create a sanctuary, a place where monsters of all kinds can come to relax and be themselves without having to constantly worry about humanity coming after them with torches and pitchforks. He directs his servants to convert an old medieval castle hidden deep in the remotest part of Transylvania into a resort/retreat for monsters from all over the world, and voila! - the Hotel Transylvania is born. The hotel is staffed, appropriately, by zombie bellhops, haunted suits of armor, housekeeping witches and talking shrunken heads, with a kitchen overseen by an obsessed lunatic chef Quasimodo (Jon Lovitz) and his pet rat Esmeralda.

Of course the years seem to fly by for a parent, even an immortal one, and before Dracula knows it suddenly it's 2012 and the day of Mavis's 118th birthday (that's 18 in human-growth years). The castle is filled with guests, many of them old friends of the family who've come especially for the occasion, including a very domestic Frankenstein (Kevin James) and his high-bouffant wife Eunice (Fran Drescher), a life-of-the-party mummy named Murray (CeeLo Green), a very frazzled werewolf named Wayne (Steve Buscemi in superb form), his highly-pregnant wife Wanda (Molly Shannon) and their pack of snarling hyper-active wolf kids, and Griffin, the Invisible Man (David Spade) who can't understand why he sucks at playing charades.

But this is also a day Dracula has dreaded as he promised Mavis (Selena Gomez) that on the day she turned 118, she had his permission to go out into the world. Compelled to keep his word but unable to face the prospect of Mavis going off into what he feels is a world too dangerous for her, he concocts a scheme to scare her into wanting to stay at the castle. Which works, somewhat to his surprise. But his scheme turns out to have unintended consequences and before Dracula has time to feel relieved, the unthinkable happens - a _human_ suddenly appears at the hotel, a young backpacker named Jonathan (Andy Samberg) who "heard about this cool old castle" and wanted to check it out. Panicking, and fearing for the reputation of his hotel if it were found out that a human was on the premises, Dracula quickly disguises Jonathan as "Johnny-stein", a supposed cousin of Frankenstein (actually just a cousin of Frankenstein's right hand, as it were). But before Dracula can get Jonathan out of the castle and out of his hair, Mavis and Jonathan meet and "zing!" it's love at first sight. The rest of the plot is rather predictable - over-protective father wants to keep boy away from his daughter, but daughter and boy keep seeing each other - but the pacing is kept fast enough and the humor abundant enough that it keeps things fresh and funny all the way through. Particularly in scenes where Johnny's fun-loving nature livens things up by inadvertently starting a horses-and-riders pool fight, introducing some new music over the grumbling protests of zombie-Beethoven, zombie-Mozart & zombie-Bach, and engages Dracula in a floating-table race, causing the stiff and stuffy Count to unexpectedly rediscover what fun is.

The animation, while not ground-breaking, is well done, with a lot of attention to detail which gives the film a level of texture you wouldn't ordinarily expect in a light comedy. For example, at one point Mavis leads Johnny into a cave, the entrance to which some horror aficionados will recognize is shaped like the face of the Phantom of the Opera. While Genndy Tartakovsky is well known for his work producing several successful TV animated series (Dexter's Laboratory, Samurai Jack, The Grimm Adventures of Billy & Mandy, The Powerpuff Girls and Star Wars: The Clone Wars), Hotel Transylvania is his first feature film. Fans of Tartakovsky 's TV work might be expecting something more in the distinctive style he used in those shows, but I don't think they'll be disappointed with his choice to be more traditional here. The production design was done by Marcelo Vignali, who worked on several Disney films including Mulan and Lilo & Stich as well as Cloudy With Chance Of Meatballs, and the art direction was done by Ron Lukas and Noelle Triaureau, both of whom also worked with Vignali on 2007's Surf's Up.

The voice cast is excellent. Adam Sandler, whom I don't usually care for as a rule, is actually quite good as the over-protective fatherly Dracula. Andy Samberg brings out Johnny's guileless but ever-upbeat goofiness in a very winning way, while Selena Gomez brings the perfect touch as Mavis, the teenage vampire cutie who loves her dad and all his old weird friends but just wants to get out there and see the world she's only heard stories about. Kevin James does an affable Frankenstein, and Fran Drescher is perfect as his loud and brassy Franken-wife, Eunice. CeeLo Green's Murray is the liveliest and hippest mummy you've ever heard. As always though, it's Steve Buscemi who gets the best lines (or who makes his lines the best ones by his inimitably wry delivery) as the much put-upon buttoned-down-shirt-and-tie-wearing werewolf Wayne. One of my favorite scenes is where Dracula, Frank and Wayne are trying to track down Johnny. Dracula wants Wayne to follow his scent, and Wayne can only sigh wearily and ask "Do you have _any_ idea what years of changing poopy diapers have done to this nose?"

Recommended as a fun enjoyable film for everyone and in particular for classic horror-film fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hotel Transylvania - Excellent film for the whole family!, February 13, 2013
Bought this animated film for the kids but my wife and I liked it so much we remained engaged throughout the movie. Animation is excellent. Acting by everyone is fantasic. Adam Sandler does an impressive job as do the rest of the cast of voices! The story combines classic horror tale (note: nothing terrifying in the movie) with modern theme, i.e., daughter wants to explore the outside world.
Great plot and good finish.

Ultraviolet is NOT so good. Not compatible with Apple iOS devices unless you install another "App."
"Digital Copy" should just support downloading into your iTunes account like other Digital Copy films do. I realize this is due to "Sony" not wanting to compete with Apple, but I will NOT purchase any more Blu-Rays that don't support Digital Copy on iOS devices. Will just purchase the film through iTunes store and will be able to watch on Apple TV and iOS devices.

I took back the Blu-Ray (yes some retailers can be convinced to take returns) and purchased this film from iTunes for much less than the Blu-Ray + Digital Copy.

I would like to remove a star for Sony's handling of digital content, but decided not to because the film is excellent.

Happy viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie!!!, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Hotel Transylvania was a really great movie I enjoyed the different point of views that it had and also the way it showed not to be scared of someone because they're different I would not hesitate to buy this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hotel Transylvania, October 1, 2012
Hotel Transylvania was a really good cartoon movie. The movie is about a young vampire girl Mavis (Selena Gomez) who wants to go out and explore the world. Her over protective father Dracula (Adam Sandler) does not want his young daughter to go out and mingle with humans. He beleives that humans do not like vampires and will try to hurt her but he did tell her that when she turned 118, she could go. The movie centers around Mavis's 118th birthday and her party. All of her monster friends and relatives come to celebrate and they have an unexpected guest.....a human. Mavis falls for the human and the rest as they say, is history. The movie was cute and age appropriate. I took my 5 year old to see this and did not cringe once. She laughed her little head off. I would see it again anytime. I hope you find your Zing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for the whole family!, March 6, 2013
By 
randee (Long Beach, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It has a wonderful mix of clean, family-friendly humour as well as some adult references which will go right over your kids' heads. Also, anything monster-related is a plus in my book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty funny, February 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Surprisingly funny with a lot going on throughout the movie. Should be a Halloween classic for all ages. Adam Sandler's best movie in quite sometime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars Plus one!!! LOVE this movie!!, December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
You know how you see previews for a movie and sometimes you just know you're going to love it. This was def the case. My whole family LOVES this movie. It's so cute. My son calls it the "Bat Movie" and he's watched it so many times he knows all the words. The storyline is really good and all the characters are just great. It's the best!!! Highly Recommended. I can't wait for the 2nd one to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not intresting enough for me to finish it yet, May 13, 2013
I have not made it through the end of this movie yet, so I guess that speaks volumes about whether I really like it or not. I didn't find it funny or endearing and I get the general message about an overprotective but loving father trying to look out for his daughter but this one ranks low in the animated films category in my humble opinion.

**Addendum - February 1, 2014 - Finally watched this movie from start to finish and I decided that I like the movie. It is not the typical Disney or Pixar fare (translation: geared toward kids with lots of catchy songs) and probably better understood by adults (like Shrek) than kids. The ending scene is definitely enjoyable because it has a catchy song (one of few in the movie) and my 2 year old loves dancing to it. All in all, the movie has a sweet message/premise and is family friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It!, January 28, 2014
By 
Marilyn Lee "The BookRook" (Creston, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This DVD is awesome. Love the plot, detail to characters, and the humor just made it a keeper. #1 in my book of fun!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING OF EXPLICIT CONTENT!, October 20, 2014
WARNING OF EXPLICIT CONTENT! While I cannot say this is true of the DVD release, I can tell you that the Instant Video version of this movie has a borderline pornographic scene toward the end of it. Basically, everyone at Hotel Transylvania is getting ready for the girl's 118th birthday party and The Invisible Man, who is in the shower, powders the upper parts of his erect p_n_s. It is a short clip but the image remains on screen long enough for an adult to be stunned that it's in there. Amazon was great about refunding our purchase, but it was very disappointing to us that Adam Sandler (who both produces and stars in the movie) would approve the inclusion of that content in a movie that is obviously going to be watched by a lot of small children. Language, mild violence and innuendo in a PG rated movie are one thing; explicit content is something entirely different. Very sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2198 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hotel Transylvania (Blu-ray 3D / Blu-ray / DVD + UltraViolet Digital Copy)
$55.99 $17.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.